Benefits of Tiny House Living

Tiny house pictures

Sigh

Why in the hell would you want to live in such a small house??!!

This is a common response when you show someone pictures of the tiny houses that you absolutely love.

I will admit that it is hard for most people to get their head around. Most folks are wanting more space, not less. And certainly not less than 500 square feet.

But as I see it the world is on the verge of going to hell in a hand basket. Is there anything I can do to Reduce my environmental impact?

Go small or go home. Tiny home that is. So what are the benefits of living in a tiny house?

Here are ten advantages to tiny house living.

If you want to simplify your life, lower your monthly expenses, reduce your dependency on your paycheck and lower your environmental footprint then tiny houses may be the answer for you and your family.

  • Less initial cost
  • A tiny house is certainly much smaller than a traditional house. There are less materials and the labor required to build it because of it’s size. The overall size of the house is so much smaller, the overall price is only a fraction of traditional homes.

  • Less energy consumption
  • Tiny houses require much less energy to heat and cool simply because they have much less interior air space. Since many tiny houses are on wheels, a tiny house owner could move their house under a large tree in the summer, and out into the sun during the winter. The appliances are usually smaller in a tiny house and consume far less energy. Another use of energy is your own energy. You may even choose to try off grid living. Solar panels, wood stoves, wind turbines, compost toilets, the list goes on and on.

  • Less water consumption and trash
  • Now you have a small shower and small hot water heater. This means your showers will be lot shorter. The people interested in tiny house living are also interested in generating less waste. Using less water and producing less trash is both good for environment and your wallet.

  • Less cost for maintenance
  • Repair costs for your tiny house are simply a matter of mathematics. The cost to replace the roof of a 300 square foot home will be alot less than the cost of a 2,000 square foot home. This is of course because of the reduction in materials and labor. This is true for any tiny house repairs that may need to be made.

  • Less land to purchase and upkeep
  • A tiny house will require less land. You may be required to have land outside the city with no restrictions. Land outside the city is cheaper to purchase and the taxes are less. If you have a tiny house on a trailer you may be exempt from cumbersome building permits and restrictions that regular homes require.

  • Less shopping, less clutter.
  • You just cannot be out spending money on useless stuff. You simply will not have the space for it in a tiny house. Only the items that you really need will be present don’t think that tiny homes cannot be beautiful. Just look at the pictures.

    Protohaus

    Protohaus

  • Less taxes
  • Your tax bill is tied to the assessed value of your dwelling and land. Both will be less with a tiny house, so your tax bill will be less. The savings can go towards investments, retirement, college for your children, vacations, or anything else you want.

  • Less insurance
  • Insurance for a traditional home can add up quickly, especially when it comes time to use it. Tiny houses cost much less to insure because they are considered less valuable.

  • Less interest paid
  • Most people borrow money from a lender to buy a traditional house. This means you are paying interest to that lender. Over a 25 or 30 your mortgage you will pay more for interest than you will the house itself. Ha ha. Sorry but this seems crazy to me. Most tiny house owners elect to pay cash for their tiny house, or to pay it off quickly. The amount you save by avoiding interest will a large amount of money.

  • Less stress
  • So now you have a tiny house that is easier to maintain and manage. You have more money in your bank account. You are living out of the city so it is quiet. You may have more time for personal interests. You can spend more time in nature and found what you want and love. Life is just more simple. This equals less stress. Life should be about enjoying ourselves and actually living.

    So there you have it. 10 benefits of tiny houses. What else do you think would be a benefit of tiny house living?

    Please share this post with others and please share your thoughts in the comments.

    Thanks

    Live simply

About minimalistlifestyle

My name is Mark Lowe and I live in Nova Scotia, Canada with my teenage son. This website is mostly about living a minimalist lifestyle. From time to time there will be other topics such as healthy living, dealing with clutter, how to save more money, happiness, contentment, simple living, frugality, and maybe even minimalist decorating and design ideas. It's about clearing the clutter, both physical and mental, so we can focus on what is truly important. I am not an extreme minimalist, but I certainly have a lot less stuff than most folks and I love my own minimalist lifestyle. I want to live consciously. This means I want to be present in every moment. So what's in this for you? I think you will read something here that helps you or maybe even inspires you to take action. Remember that you are amazing. Don't miss out on all the action. Subscribe to this blog and don't miss a minute of fun. "Live simply."
This entry was posted in Minimalist Lifestyle and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Benefits of Tiny House Living

  1. I too dreamed of a tiny house, but couldn’t manage to work out the restrictions, so I did the next best thing and downsized to 300 sq feet. I can’t make major changes due to renting, but heating costs are very low as I only have one small outside wall. Even on the coldest days we’ve had here in PA at below zero, my apartment doesn’t dip below 58 degrees inside without heat.

  2. I have been intrigued by small houses since I first heard of them.
    I enjoyed reading this post.
    Another advantage I noticed when I lived in a small apartment. Easier to clean. How much time do we spend a week cleaning the space that we own?

  3. amaya73 says:

    I LOVE tiny houses and little travel trailers! It’s my dream to have one when my kids are grown and gone. I daydream and look at them all the time:)

  4. smcwrites says:

    I looked at the links from your other post on this and now I reeeeally want one ;) thanks for planting more seeds!

  5. Yay! I love love love tiny homes. I would love to live in one someday.

  6. very, very well said and so easy to clean too!

  7. misfratz says:

    There’s a lot that is attractive about your intention to live in a tiny house out of the city. The one thing that I wonder about is whether it could be socially isolating – is it partly about being away from other people?

    So when I saw this website, about a large country house collectively owned by six families, I wondered what you would think about it.

    Each individual share of the house is not particularly large, but there’s the benefit of it being on 14 acres of grounds.

    One of the things that is often said about minimalism is that it is about spending less time thinking about, and striving after, stuff, so that one has more time to spend with people.

    Yet it seems to end up involving the minimalist simplifying their life by cutting people out of their life, and devoting their time to maintaining an idealised minimalist existance.

    I think that, for myself, I’d much rather end up in a very big house, sharing with a community of other people, than in splendid isolation in my own tiny house.

    What do you think?

    • Adam says:

      I agree with your comment on sharing the living experience rather than spending it in self imposed isolation! I loved living in shared houses after leaving University and the sesne of community that it brouhgt – some of my best friendships have come from that experience and although we don’t live together as one now we ae all still in contact and continue to help each other through life. We did have our own private space but enjoyed the fact that there was always someone around to share experiences and time with.

      I read a newspaper interview with a UK Member of Parliament that discussed their experience of buying a large house in London with a number of other families and all raising their childern in it at the same time. They had enough room to go about their lives as individual families whilst the children always had other children to play with and a number of “Aunties” and “Uncles” to look after them when their respective parents were at work or out and about. A very interesting article and their experience was nothing but positive.

  8. Adam says:

    Living in the UK – the subject of land and housing availability on this group of small Islands is quite often centre stage in political party manifesto’s. Having lived in shared houses and having lived in a flat I love the benefits they bring – shared or smaller bills, less clutter, more ordered living and instead of higher rent or a larger mortgage, I have more money for actually living and can invest the spare cash in other financail products rather than folloiwng the British herd mentality and sticking all my eggs into one large house shaped basket.

  9. Jennifer G says:

    I love the point you made about tiny houses being aesthetically pleasing. I run across a lot of blogs where people are so consumed with having few things that they forget one of the benefits of not wasting money on crap is that they can invest in beautiful, quality things. We are not there in our journey, we still have too much debt, but eventually we will be debt free and our things will be few and gorgeous.

  10. Pingback: The Most Important Decision You Will Ever Make « Minimalist Living

  11. I’m keen what you may guys are up too. Such smart work and reporting! Keep up the excellent works guys I’ve incorporated you to my blogroll. I believe it’ll decrease the price of my site :
    )

Leave a Reply

