Clean Sweep Times Two

One of the things I have done before to help get rid of some clutter and unwanted or no longer needed items is to do a “clean sweep”.

This is where absolutely everything was taken out of my apartment. Everything. Some items were tossed, some were donated and other items were sold.

The motivation for doing a clean sweep comes from the TLC show of the same name.

From Wikipedia:

Clean Sweep is an American television series that involved a team consisting of a host, an organizer, designer, and carpenter who help homeowners clear one or two rooms of clutter in a two-day process. Original episodes of Clean Sweep aired on TLC in 2003 through 2005.

In each episode of Clean Sweep, the host meets with the homeowners in the rooms to be cleaned. The production crew then moves the entire contents of the room outdoors. The host then assists the homeowners with an initial half-hour sort of all the items into three areas: “keep”, “sell” and “toss”. The process is then repeated by the organizer, in a much more thorough manner. Meanwhile, the designer and carpenter renovate the rooms, usually painting the rooms and constructing storage units such as closets, entertainment units, or cabinets. On the second day, a yard sale is held to dispose of the items in the “sell” category. The homeowners (usually a husband and wife) compete to sell the most, with the loser having to give up a sentimental item from the “keep” category. Once the rooms are renovated and the remaining items from the “keep” category moved back into the house, the homeowners are brought in to be surprised by the final results.

Unfortunately I do not have access to a handyman, designer or professional organizer. Oh well.

So my intention is to once again follow this idea when the weather warms up in the next month or two. I want to start fresh with a clean slate.

So let me ask you, how much stuff do you feel you could get rid of? Twenty five percent? Fifty percent? More?

Why not try a clean sweep of your own and see what happens.

Clean Sweep Part Two

The second part of this is rather interesting. When I looked up the TV show Clean Sweep on the internet one of the search results that came back was for this.

BetterME.org

Hmmm. Better Me? What’s this?

Turns out it is an executive coaching program. However the link above takes you to a page that has a checklist for 4 main areas of your life that perhaps could use some improvement.

The Clean Sweep Program is a checklist of 100 items which, when completed, give one complete personal freedom. These 100 items are grouped in 4 areas of life with 25 in each group: Physical Environment, Well-being, Money and Relationships. These 4 areas are the cornerstone for a strong and healthy life and the program helps a person to clean up, restore and polish virtually every aspect of his/her life. The program takes between 6 – 24 months to complete.

Objective
The participant’s goal is to get a score of 100 out of 100. The objective of the program is for the participant to get complete about 100 possible incompletions in their life. Incompletions are those physical, emotional or mental items, which are in some way not resolved in the current moment. Incompletions of any kind drain energy. That is, they require energy to live with, given it takes work to keep us whole when there is something in the space. To have full integrity (like a complete circle) is normal; the program gives one a way to get there in a natural way.

Look at those checklists!! I stumbled onto this page by accident and I am all over it!

The checklist has been printed. Some areas I am doing well in already, others not so much. I like that the items are right there as reminders.

So what do you think of the checklist?

Anyone else feel like they need a clean sweep in their lives as well as in their physical surroundings?

BetterME.org

Please share this page and share your thoughts in the comments.

“Live Simply”

5 responses to “Clean Sweep Times Two

  1. This site was an eye opener. We thought we were doing really well and got a score of 73. It is great to be able to quantify and have a checklist for improvement. We are definitely taking the challenge and starting it today. Thanks for showing us this site. Our journey may be a topic for a future blog. Good luck with your journey through this process.

  2. Hi,

    First let me say that I am glad you didn’t stop blogging! :}

    The title of this post caught my eye because I just hired a life coach who uses the CleanSweep program on BetterMe.org. I had not heard of the TV show, Clean Sweep. For me personally, I think that using the CleanSweep program (my score was 23) will help me in my goal of reducing the physical clutter in my life. In a different context, my coach said to me, if you don’t know what you need, then you need everything. I started thinking about that in relation to my physical clutter. Sometimes (often?) I have a hard time defining what really matters to me, what I really want, and I think that maybe part of that has caused to hang on to so much stuff. Anyhow, I’m looking forward to raising my score on the CleanSweep program and feeling like I am more on top of my life instead of under it!

    Keep blogging! I enjoy your posts!

  3. Thanks for sharing! I scored a 64 to start…but it’s a good checklist and shows me where I can make some changes!

  4. Thank you so much for sharing, this looks like fun I will test myself right away!

Leave a Reply

