Start Small

‘What saves a man is to take a step. Then another step.’

~C. S. Lewis

Have you ever tried to make some changes in your life?

Maybe you wanted to eat a more healthy diet, or start exercising more regularly.

Maybe you wanted to get rid of some clutter and live a more minimalist lifestyle and be more organized.

Or you want to get your personal finances in order, pay off your debt and start actually saving some of your hard earned money.

So off we go, all gung ho and we implement a bunch of changes all at once.

“This is it!”, we proclaim with great enthusiasm.

A week later we are on the sofa with the remains of what was a full can of Pringles on ourselves. And this is after the cookies.

How did that happen? We were so sure that we could make the changes. We had read a bunch of stuff on how to make it happen and we had a plan to see it through.

I’ve been there. Jeez I have started more fitness plans than Madonna has had boy toys. Now THAT’S a lot of plans!

We have a tendency to bite off more than we can chew. We just do too damn much all at once. This causes us to get overwhelmed and when do not see immediate results we just say screw it. We quickly revert back to our old ways.

It may be easier to start small. Visualize what you want the end result to be. What realistic steps will it take to get you to that end result?

Just implement one or two small changes at a time. Keep repeating them every day and every week. These small changes will produces results.

It is a process and we have to learn to enjoy the process and not just get caught up in the results.

Congratulate yourself for every step you take.

It is just a series of steps you take. And then you just keep repeating the steps.

Gradual change leads to huge change, but slowly, and in a way that sticks.

Don’t over think it.

“Live Simply”

About minimalistlifestyle

My name is Mark Lowe and I live in Nova Scotia, Canada with my teenage son. This website is mostly about living a minimalist lifestyle. From time to time there will be other topics such as healthy living, dealing with clutter, how to save more money, happiness, contentment, simple living, frugality, and maybe even minimalist decorating and design ideas. It's about clearing the clutter, both physical and mental, so we can focus on what is truly important. I am not an extreme minimalist, but I certainly have a lot less stuff than most folks and I love my own minimalist lifestyle. I want to live consciously. This means I want to be present in every moment. So what's in this for you? I think you will read something here that helps you or maybe even inspires you to take action. Remember that you are amazing. Don't miss out on all the action. Subscribe to this blog and don't miss a minute of fun. "Live simply."
This entry was posted in Minimalist Lifestyle, minimalist living, Self Help, self improvement and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Start Small

  1. Cici says:

    Thanks for the post! It’s just the reinforcement I needed to hear as I try to make a lasting change to my eating “style”. I might add that we need to love ourselves through this process and not be too hard on ourselves. I know I still am going to crave certain foods so I am allowing myself one meal a week to eat whatever I want. And I am fine with that. Always look forward to your blog.

    • Wow. Such great advice from you as well on this. For me with eating, the key is moderation. If I say “NO COOKIES AT ALL!” the next thing you know I have a bag of them in front of me:)

      One or two is okay.

      Stay the course.

      Thanks so much for commenting!

  2. We need to break our goals into smaller manageable bites and reward ourselves often. Positive reinforcement is a great motivator. The risk is that we start to reward ourselves for no progress, but we can always restart our goals. The only time that we fail is the time that we don’t start over again and accept the situation as it is. Great motivation. Thanks.

  3. Pingback: How To Start With Minimalist Living | Minimalist Living

Leave a Reply

