It is preoccupation with possessions, more than anything else, that prevents men from living freely and nobly.’ ~Bertrand Russell

I noticed this past week on Facebook that a number of my friends were overjoyed that they had received the latest installment of the Sears Wishbook.

In August.

In Summer.

When they could be at the beach.

I’m sorry but I don’t get it. You are happy to look at “stuff” that you probably do not need and quite possibly cannot afford.

Now I don’t know this for sure.

But as you look around your place is there any clutter?

If yes, what does all this clutter consist of? Stuff you purchased and that now takes up space.

Add up the money in your head that you have spent on all the stuff you see . That you thought you just had to have. Stuff that was going to make your life so much better. Just ballpark a dollar  figure.

I bet you are reluctant to do this because that means you will have to admit to yourself that you wasted money.

You do not need to spend money on material possessions to achieve happiness or fulfillment.

I went to the beach today. It was free. Didn’t spend a dime.(Except a few cents in gas driving there)

And it was an incredible day.

Are you going to declutter and get organized before Christmas arrives? You have about 4 months.

Maybe decluttering the mind is a good idea.

Stop believing that you need to spend money to be happy.

Free your mind.

Your life is good right now without some new item that you really do not need.

Live Simply.



5 thoughts on “The Sears Wishbook and Decluttering

  1. Thanks for posting your blog on Beth’s site. I couldn’t agree with you more in just reading this one post! I look forward to reading more. I have actually started decluttering my mind as well. No more subscriptions to magazines, streamlined my FB friends today, for example. I realized that along with house clutter, other things are sucking up my brain power!

  2. I did think of that myself today. There’s just too much chatter going on and conversations I don’t really care about. I just don’t want them to notice that I de-friended them!

  3. I think I may have been living a minimalist lifestyle in some ways already without even realizing it. My refrigerator is 21 years old, my stove 16, washer and dryer 18 years old (it paid to buy a Maytag and Kenmore). I drive a 2001 truck with only 75,000 miles. In 2010 I gave my niece the old Ford Ranger – it was 22 years old. My old fashioned tv started to go this winter, so I finally bought a flat-screen tv. I’ve always been against buying an expensive item simply because it’s new, and I want one. If the old one still works,why get rid of it? My weakness has been the small stuff that adds up – such as for hobbies, and books. My worst clutter comes from paper, and I have a real difficult time convincing myself that I don’t need all the articles I clip, etc. And you’re so right – clutter around you also clutters your mind. I’m working on both.

Share your thoughts!

