My life has no purpose, no direction, no aim, no meaning, and yet I’m happy. I can’t figure it out. What am I doing right? – Snoopy


I could not be happier. And I can’t really put my finger on why that is. It must be tied to my ongoing journey towards a minimalist lifestyle.

A life free of clutter, chaos and useless possessions. Of  not living beyond ones means.

I feel calm, free, and content.

I have always been a bit of a free spirit. Not really believing in all the hype of needing to have the latest new gadget.

But this is different. It is like I have had an awakening. Been reborn.

The thing I find so interesting is that when I attempt to tell others about this minimalist lifestyle they get a weird look on their faces, crinkle their noses and say, “so you want to get rid of some clutter?”

Well yes, but it is so much more than that.

“So you are going to become a monk and live with nothing?”

No, I have nice artwork and photos and a plasma tv(paid for) and a minimalist interior design theme with nice furniture .

Is minimalism a disease?

Should I be walking around with a Scarlet M on my clothing?

I don’t think so.

I am choosing to live simply. I only want to have or do things that truly interest or excite me. Things that matter.

It is a work in progress. Becoming minimalist is a process.

And it is in this process that I am happy.

Live Simply



5 thoughts on “Is Minimalism A Disease?

  1. I swear you read my mind in every post. I have been overwhelmed the past 6 or so years and wanting to reinvent my life. When I thought I just needed more and that would take care of it…I realize now that less will be what helps me achive that reinvention.

  2. Hi Diane,

    It certainly is easy to become overwhelmed. What do you feel contributed to this?
    I have never been happier than I am right now. I feel reborn and it is definitely related to adopting a minimalist lifestyle. It is a “journey in progress.”
    “Reinvent my life”. I love that phrase. And the amazing thing is that you do have the power within you to do just that.

    Mark

    “Live Simply”

Share your thoughts!

