The only way this message reaches other people is if you share it. Facebook and Twitter are a good place to start, but there are a million and one ways.

So in response to the feedback from the Minimalist Interior Design Challenge that I posted a couple of days ago I have gone ahead and started making some changes.

It is certainly a work in progress, as is living a minimalist lifestyle, but it had to be done.

Why procrastinate? One of my tenets of minimalist living is to do more. To be more productive.

So yesterday I hauled damn near every item out of my minimalist apartment and piled it up in the front yard.
Here are the photos.

My stuff

What a load of crap! Missing is my television, couch and love seat and kitchen table. One person just couldn’t wrestle that stuff out. I then started sorting. Keep, sell, trash. I sold a couple of items; made $35.00, so not bad. May have a yard sale tomorrow to get rid of some more.

So some things I am finding out.

  • I have a lot of stuff. You just don’t realize it until it is all in a pile. And it is all the little things that really add up.
  • There is not much I would be heartbroken over if it all went up in flames. That may sound ridiculous but it is true
  • The 100 Thing Challenge is just that. A challenge! To get down to 100 things is going to take a lot of effort.
  • I still need insight as to what to do with photos that I had upon the walls. Yes or no? You tell me.
  • I feel pretty damn good about taking this step along the minimalist path. I have a long way to go. I still really want comments from readers as to what they might do to create a minimalist apartment. So please comment with any tips and advice you may have.

    I will post some more photos when I get stuff situated.

    “Live Simply”

    P.S.-The only way this message reaches other people is if you share it. Facebook and Twitter are a good place to start, but there are a million and one ways.

7 thoughts on “Minimalist Interior Design Challenge Update

  1. I think this is a great ‘clean sweep’ opportunity. Good job! keep at it. I am starting this weekend; baby steps. If a person thinks about the big picture or how many steps are involved they won’t do it. This weekend: I will be sorting through my clothes. I do this Spring and Fall and always feel so good when it is done. getting rid of stuff I don’t wear; stuff that is too big; etc. Each week I am going to set a small goal like that; next weekend, tackle sunroom. Loving this minimalist blog!

    1. Yup, baby steps. Any form of decluttering, organizing or minimalist living does not happen over night. And true in other areas as well. Losing weight, being more social, changing careers. They all start with a single step. And those steps do add up over time. Thanks for commenting.

  2. No offense, but I could tell that you had a lot of stuff from your before pictures 🙂 It’s hard for all of us to see what’s right in front of our nose. Maybe I should take more pictures of my apartment and see what they tell me…

    1. No offense taken at all! Thanks so much for the comment. Yes you are right, we just don’t see it when it is right there. I’m almost embarrassed by the stuff and the money wasted. Yes take some pics and post them on your blog. I’d love to see them! A picture is worth 1000 words…
      I’ll be sure to check out your blog. Thanks.
      Mark

  3. Oh my…you’ve taken more than baby steps…congrats! I understand your comment about if it all went up in flames you wouldn’t be that upset. I’ve made that same comment in the last few years and realizing that it’s the stuff that is just so overwhelming, I’m doing something about it! Spent yesterday in my office and it just feels so good. I’m getting rid of stuff in containers and then getting rid of the containers! I used to think it was just a matter of getting it all organized, now I realize it can be about just getting rid of it!

    Good luck with the garage sale and I’ll look forward to more pictures!

    1. Yes I so agree Diane. I live in such a small space really and just have no need for …90% of my stuff. It just has to go. The stuff seems to weigh me down somehow. I also want to get to a point where if I want to travel the world for a year(or more), I can just sell what little I have left and go!
      My mother has SO MANY CONTAINERS! You can barely move. She is getting marginally better though.
      More minimalist apartment photos will be forthcoming.

Share your thoughts!

