And What You Will Have Less Of When You Embrace A Minimalist Lifestyle

There’s a skewed perception in the media today that downsizing is a painful necessity of those in hard financial straits and that smaller living and minimalism are about austerity and deprivation, not joy.

Minimalist living is not about deprivation.

“Oh does that mean you sleep on a mattress on the floor and just have milk crates and boxes for furniture?”

I was asked that recently by someone when mentioned that I was a minimalist. Wow.

Hey for some people living in a very simple minimalist apartment or space is the way they choose to express their minimalist lifestyle.

For others it may not be not this way.

I am not poor. I am not broke.

Minimalist living has become a core personal value to me. Much the same as some people value friendship and honesty and family.

Minimalist living isn’t just about getting rid of stuff, decluttering, getting organized and living in a trendy loft. These may be just extensions of minimalist living for some people.

A minimalist lifestyle isn’t about a certain design theme or style. Although a lot of people do enjoy the clean, simple openness that comes with minimalist interior design.

Minimalist living is a way of life.

It isn’t about the useless acquisition of stuff that does not add value to your life.

It is about understanding priorities and realizing what is truly important.

So what might you have less of when you come to embrace minimalist living?

I will list a few things but then I really want comments to help build the list.

  • Less stress
  • Less arguing about money
  • Less clutter
  • Less forgetfulness
  • Less fatigue

Okay that’s is just a start. What else do people living a minimalist lifestyle have less of?

Please comment and help build the list. Thanks.

The only way this message reaches other people is if you share it. Facebook and Twitter are a good place to start, but there are a million and one ways.

“Live Simply”

7 thoughts on “What Minimalist Living ISN’T

  1. I want less, but I also want more.

    More joy.

    More time for me.

    More time to play.

    More time for friends.

    More time for family.

    More time for service.

    More happiness from experiences than possessions.

    More time spent doing things that are innately important to me.

  2. I often get the same reaction. Its completely personal; there are no rules, and I think if you’re not enjoying it, you’re not doing it correctly. Its not a pure white room with a table and a chair, or cold, unfeeling spartanism.

    For example, I try to leave my house each day with as few things as possible. I didn’t make any radical decisions to sell everything I own, I just want to carry *less* because a.) I lose things frequently, b.) its more weight to manipulate, and c.) I can apportion more of my attention on the events of the day. Once I get that down, I can apply this concept to other things.

    Great post by the way, keep this up!

Share your thoughts!

