A Minimalist Lifestyle Guide

Are you happy with the results you are getting in different areas of your life?

Or is there room for improvement?

We certainly hear and read a lot about setting goals and to help get results. And we hear about developing positive habits that will helps achieve the results we want in life.

There may be some truth in these ideas.

But the more I think about it, the more I feel that getting the results you want is tied to your own self respect.

So, do you respect yourself? Do you like who you are? Are you proud of the life you are living?

What are your personal core values and are you living a life that is line with these values?

As someone who is living a minimalist lifestyle I want to keep things as simple as possible for myself. Less is more.

One of the best techniques I use to always get the results I want is to picture the end result. What is it that I want to achieve? I then work backwards and come up with the daily steps and tasks that it will take to get me there.

If you want to be more productive you cannot be checking your email 5000 times per day. Check it 3 or 4 times and that’s it. Same with Facebook. Either delete it, like I have done, or only check it 2 or 3 times per day. Don’t tell me you don’t have time to do the things that need to be done. That is a lie basically. Respect yourself a bit more and be truthful to yourself.

Turn off your cell phone, especially at work.

You want to save money. Track every penny you spend. Stop spending on wants and only spend on needs. Live on cash only. No more debit or credit cards. Want to really save? Get rid of your cable television. And you will be a lot more productive! You can also sell a lot of your stuff. This will cut down on clutter and provide some funds to help pay down debt.

Single-task. Don’t buy into the myth of multi-tasking. Pick one thing to do and focus on that task until it is finished. Then pick another one. Rinse and repeat.

Need to improve your interpersonal relationships? Picture what you want and do the things that will get you the results you want. Talk to your partner. Ask how their day was. Go for a walk together. Go to a movie. Join a club. Accept invites to functions.

Now a lot of these ideas will take you outside of your comfort zone. That is the point. You sometimes have to do the opposite of what you have normally done to help you get the results you want.

Getting the results you want is not rocket science. Picture where you want to be and take the steps you know will get you there.

The results you achieve will be worth it.

“Live Simply”

If you enjoyed this post please share it on Twitter, Facebook, Digg or any other social network. Thanks.

4 thoughts on “How To Always Get The Results You Want

  1. Hi Mark–just discovered your blog after just discovering your comments on my blog. Somehow my blog put your comments in a kind of purgatory that I didn’t know about and I had to go in and okay them so they’d post. Sorry about that. Anyway, I followed your link back here and want to say this is a great blog and I’d like to see the latest pics of your interior re-design project, too.

  2. Great thoughts Mark…I couldn’t agree more with you in visualizing the end result and then going to work to make it happen. Your thoughts have really helped me wrap my mind around getting off the dime and effectively making great strides in my minimalist thinking. Thank you!

  3. Great thoughts, Mark! This is something that I definitely needed to be reminded of!

    I guess if we keep doing the same things, we will keep getting the same results. Which is fine, if we are happy where we are – if not, it’s time for a change.

Share your thoughts!

