The Paleo Diet

I have know for some time that I have a gluten intolerance. And what is interesting is that the foods that cause problems for me are the foods I have always craved the most.

Baked goods, cookies, chips, etc. Junk food.

Luckily perhaps I have always been interested in health and fitness so I have managed to keep myself from ballooning to a massive weight. But I certainly do have some excess pounds to shed. I have a larger frame so I can “hide” my excess weight. My body composition(the best measure of “weight”)
is way out of whack. In other words I have a high body fat percentage.

After reading various things I am adopting a gluten free minimalist diet. My daily healthy eating plan will have no grains of any kind. I just can’t eat that stuff. My minimalist gluten free diet will have lots of lean proteins, vegetables, fruits, nuts and healthy fats.

The paleolithic diet is a gluten free diet. And I feel it is a minimalist diet. I need to keep things simple.

The logic behind the diet is simple. Anthropological evidence suggests that pre-historic man was bigger, stronger, leaner, and a lot less diseased, despite being forced to survive without prescription meds, Obamacare, or high speed internet. So diet-wise, they must have been doing something right.

We have been brainwashed into believing that we need certain foods in our diet. So many people complain of not feeling well, having headaches, sore joints, not having energy, and not being able to lose any weight.

Well I firmly believe that it is all diet related.

I have always believed this. The problem is I have always been “weak of mind”. Knowing what to do and doing it are two different things.

So it is now time to walk the walk.

Sometimes taking the first step is the hardest. So if you are wondering how to start the paleolithic diet , taking your food to a food bank if you can. Sit down and make a list of paleo diet food. And away you go.

Remember, you cannot get different results in any area of your life if you keep doing the same things over and over. Changes need to take place. Step outside of your comfort zone and see what you can achieve.

“Live Simply”

7 thoughts on “A Gluten Free Daily Healthy Eating Plan

  1. Here’s a great recipe for your new gluten free life that is a wonderful little treat and nutritious! My friend shared this recipe and has 2 kids with celiac and a gluten free life.

    Power Balls

    2 Cups of Oatmeal (almost grounded to flour, leave a little texture)–We order the gluten-free oats online

    1 1/2 Cups of Golden Flax Seed (I get this big bag at Costco by the vitamins and protein bars)

    1 Cup of Protein Powder ( I like the chocolate EAS brand…also found at Costco)

    1 small 15 oz jar of natural peanut butter (I can’t stand the peanut butter with the oil floating on the top-so I use Jif )

    1/2 cup of agave or honey

    Sprinkle mini chocolate chips (Carol used dark chocolate) Some of my family likes it with very little chocolate…so do it to preference.

    I start with the peanut butter and agave (or honey) in a glass bowl. I warm it up in the microwave for about 20 seconds to make it nice and soft. I then add oatmeal, protein powder, and flax seed. This will require a little muscle to stir in. I add a few chocolate chips at the end when the mix isn’t warm. Roll into balls and keep stored in the fridge.

    I was under the impression that you can eat some grains on this diet, but maybe not on the paleolithic one. Good luck…sounds terrific!

    1. Wow. Thanks so much for the recipe. A lot of what I have been reading in regards to the Paleo Diet suggests that ALL grains will cause problems. Even sprouted grains such as Ezekiel bread. Oatmeal may not be trusted either. I LOVE natural peanut butter, but peanuts are a legume (not a nut) and something in its structure will cause problems for those with gluten intolerance.

      Here are some references if you are interested.

      Paleo Diet Solution

      1. The gluten free diet that I’m very familiar with allows all the ingredients in this recipe, including oats. You just have to make sure you use oats that don’t have any trace of wheat in them. You can order those online. I may consider reading other findings beyond Paleo. Either way…good luck and keep up up on your new eating regime!

  2. How perfect that I open my blog to have a read through the ones that I follow. I open yours first today and there you are writing all about what I am starting as of today. Maybe not exactly but the whole idea of CHANGE.

    I have given up smoking – again – I expect success this time.
    I have made changes to my diet – as much raw and whole foods – fruit and vegetables – mostly vegetables. Very limited flour/bread – once in while and not three meals a day – Gluten Free whereever possible – variety, variety – fresh, fresh.

    Anyway good luck and thanks for a message that just seemed like an echo to me of all the thoughts in my head.

    I will take a look at the link and learn a bit more about what you are doing with your diet.

    Cheers,

    Wendy

    1. Hi Wendy,

      Glad it may have helped. The same thing has happened to me on occasion. I’ll get an email from a newsletter that will echo my exact thoughts of the day. A bit strange sometimes. Good luck with the positive changes you are making in your life.

  3. Good post.

    I am in the kindergarden phase of minimalism and so far its blessing me richly.
    Food is one thing that must be brought to a level of minimalism as well. Its harder than most other things but I feel certain God will lend me His strength.
    Keep seeking Truth in all you do : )
    Vee

Share your thoughts!

