How to Find Your Purpose In Life

Why are some of us drawn to certain things? To certain ideas, values, or beliefs?

Is it our upbringing? Our friends? The media?

Some of us are activists. Outspoken. They walk a path that takes them at times into uncertainty.

Others are more status quo. This is the way things are and there really is nothing we can do to change it.

So what is my purpose in life? Well when I was younger I got a degree in education and thought I wanted to be a teacher. I ended up owning a driving school franchise and was very good at it. I hope I helped people.

At that time, that was my purpose.

When I left that a couple of years ago I taught for a year and it was …eye opening. I loved my students(junior high). But it is a challenging group. Dealing with administration was worse. But at that time, that was my purpose.

Now I am working at a local factory. Shift work. Dirty. Hot. Challenging. Right now this is my purpose. And I kind of like it.

When I was at the grocery store the other day there was a child in a cart. She looked at me and smiled. I smiled back. I stuck my tongue out. She did the same. That was my purpose at that moment.

Living a simple minimalist lifestyle makes understanding my life purpose easier for me to understand.

I can be be still. Breathe. Look out the window at the day.

Enjoy the small birds that frequent my doorstep.

My purpose in life is to be a good father, a good person, a good friend.

To make a difference, however small.

To enjoy each moment.

Realize that living a purpose driven life may not have to be a huge endeavor.

Play with your kids. Hug your partner. Pick up a piece of trash. Walk instead of drive. Donate to charity.

What’s your purpose on this day?

“Live Simply

2 thoughts on “What Is My Life Purpose?

  1. I just found your blog, so I’m coming to this post a little late, but THANK YOU! I have fretted for so much of my life about what my purpose on earth is — I have always thought it had to be something big and important, and that I only had one and I had to find it! (Sort of like finding “the One” person to marry.) What a burden! But you let me know that I don’t have to anxiously chase after my purpose because it will come to me. I just have to pay attention and meet the needs that come to me to the best of my ability. What was my purpose today? To help one of my ESL students with her English. To buy some items for my daughter’s lab experiment at school tomorrow. To drive safely in the pouring rain and high winds, being conscious of and patient with other drivers. To wash and fold a load of clothes, write a thank you note, and wave at a smiling baby in the grocery store.

    1. Thanks so much for your comment. You are so right. Just focusing on the little things. Smiling. Being in the moment. Being a good person. Treating others the way you want to be treated.
      Great comment. I love the “waving at a smiling baby” part!:) Priceless.

      Mark

Share your thoughts!

