Why Being Single Is Better

I would enjoy meeting someone to share fun times with. I have been single for over 3 years now. Being a single 40 year old guy isn’t easy. We certainly don’t have women lining up to hang out.

But I also have to remind myself that there may be benefits to being single. Certain advantages shall we say.

Your money is your own. I save as much as possible. No useless clutter.

All the covers are yours. And I can sleep anywhere in the bed I want.

Every day is your own. I can do(or not do) what I want, for as long as I want.

You can leave your socks anywhere you want. No one will nag you to pick them up. You also won’t have to pick up socks or underwear that isn’t yours!

My stuff is my own. When guys get married or move in they might as well say goodbye to their stuff. Or put it in storage so you can visit it once in a while. Don’t believe me? Watch a home show where a couple is looking for a house. How much say does he have in anything? My point exactly.

The Television is mine.

I can work overtime if I choose to. Extra money and no one is bitching about me working too much.

A much more flexible schedule. I will be the first to admit that I don’t do much. But I rather like it that way. I listen to people who are always on the go. No thanks.

I can eat what I want. I like simple, easy stuff. And I can when I am single.

Go to movies I actually want to see.

Travel to the places I like.

You only have one set of relatives to deal with. No in laws. ‘Nuff said.

No bullshit holidays like Valentines Day.

Again, would I like someone to hang out with at times? Of course. But being single is okay too. You are not defined by your relationship status.

What other benefits of being single are there? Please share.

“Live Simply

14 thoughts on “Someone For Everyone. The Anti Valentine’s Day

  1. There are so many lovely things about solitude and independence. Society is just afraid of alone, but it can actually be quite enthralling. The no in-laws bit is the best one by far!

  2. As a 43 year old single female I loved your post! I can really relate. I especially like not having to clean up someone else messes, or cook them food. I had the best day recently: all day in flannel PJs, take-out Chinese food delivered, and marathon 10 episode Project Runway Korea (with subtitles). That could have never happened if I was still married. Oh and another thing – I like being able to dress how I like (really I rarely wear flannel PJs all day) and wear my hair in the style I want without having someone complaining about it.

  3. I am a 46 year old female and have been single for 3 years and I am going to use what you said in your blog the next time my sister starts in about me needing to be with someone. I am actually happy…and not even dating because that complicates my life, but my sister thinks I should be dating and finding someone. I have been married twice. I love only taking care of myself and picking up after myself when I want. I love watching what I want and not having to be concerned with someone else if I want to take off with my best friends from grade school to go on a vacation. As for Valentines Day…I am allergic to milk now so I don’t miss my favorite chocolates. If I want flowers I can buy them myself and they will actually be my favorite flowers…and they are not roses. And like Kat I can watch a marathon of my favorite shows. I have friends, family, and co-workers to spend time with when I want that human connection. Again, thank you for your blog.

  4. I am a 25 year old single and can relate to it. Peace of mind is what you enjoy most when you’re single. But the point is how long can you stay single. You’ll have to mingle one day or the other because that’s what the nature wants.

  5. My favourite things about being single:
    1. not having to share my bed
    2. cooking the things I like to eat
    3. only having to worry about myself and my feelings
    4. being able to go out whenever I feel like it and not have to “ask permission”
    5. being able to have the remote
    6. not having to watch or listen to sport ALL THE TIME
    7. spending my money on whatever the hell I like, without feeling guilty about it
    8. being able to have male friends, without him worrying that I’m having an affair
    9. sitting around all day just doing nothing without feeling guilty

    This is a good topic. I’m going to have to post this on mine.

    1. There is something to be said for being single. I get it.

      I am madly in love with my girlfriend. We complement on another and I have NEVER laughed so much or so hard with a partner. Always so serious.

      I love you comment. It is wonderful.

      Thanks!

  6. ah but i have to say, i miss sex and for some reason feel guilty when having sex outside a relationship. i have a high libido for 22! its maddening

      1. True. Love the idea of minimalism btw. I’ve been getting rid of stuff left and right.I’ve realized that I didn’t know how much I actually owned our how much I used this stuff. Letting others enjoy what I once liked makes me feel good

Share your thoughts!

