Why do people hold onto the past like a drowning person clutching at straws?

I can’t help but feel that if you are looking back over your shoulder it is hard to see where you are going.

Oh yes we all have things from our past that we regret. And yes, lessons should be learned from these events. But why rehash old events?

This seems especially true of couples who have split up. What is the point of going over the same old stuff from x number of years ago?

Is it that we are expecting some sort of redemption?

My minimalist lifestyle forces me to look at today. This moment. Do I always do this? Nope.

But I am getting better at it. My ex, with whom I have a pretty good relationship, went off the rails the other night. Mentioning stuff from years ago. I just hung up the phone. What is the point of it?

I have neither the time nor energy to dwell on mistakes that were made.

I have put those issues behind me.

Live in the moment.

Turn off the TV, the computer and the cell phone.

Just sit and watch the birds outside your window. Or the snow falling. And just be.

All you have is this moment right now.

And remember.

Some memories are just not worth rehashing.

“Live Simply”

5 thoughts on “Let It Go

  1. this is so true and there are some parts of my past I wish I could leave behind. But I keep getting nightmares about them with the horrid individual that I want to erase from my memory always in it….help!

  2. Hi bookjunkie. I’m sorry you’re suffering from so much unhappiness and regret. Sometimes making new, good memories can “overwrite” the old ones. I have found that really focusing on what is good today (a new friend or relationship, spring blooms or refreshing rain, an inspiring book or a good song on the radio) can fill my mind so much that I don’t think about the past so much. Before you sleep, fill your mind with thoughts about what is going right for you now, and maybe your dreams will be better. Take care.

  3. Such a true post. Thanks for writing this. I would add that it is easy to go in the other direction as well and worry about the future and what MIGHT happen and miss out on the present moment as well. It’s like being in the middle of a see saw. Just balancing in the middle like when I was a kid. Cheers, Wendy

Share your thoughts!

