How to find happiness

Almost all of my life I have struggled with happiness. I am not sure why this is. I have, by all accounts, had a good life. Parents who loved me, even if they were a bit demanding at times. Great friends. I have a job and I have various material things that I guess are supposed to bring satisfaction.

Is happiness a warm puppy?

And I must mention that I have met an incredible person with whom I am spending more and more time. We have a unique connection that I truly did not believe could exist. Goodness know I am happy when we are spending time together.

Things are good. And it is not that I am UNhappy. I just really feel that I could be happier.

I sometimes feel that life is passing me by. Is this it? Is this all there is? What more do I expect?

What is happiness anyway? Certainly it means different things to different people. I get that.

Am I living the life I want to live? Not really.

I don’t think that happiness is being content. There is a difference. I want joy. I want and need to smile more. I need to laugh more.

What things would bring out my inner joy?

I love goofing around and being silly.

Little kids make me smile and laugh. I like making faces at them in the grocery store. When I was substitute teaching at elementary schools I used to do that all the time with the younger grades. It was fun to just have fun. Life gets all too serious too darn quick.

I really love to dance.

I get pleasure out of blogging.

Travel makes me happy.

Being with my son certainly makes me happy. Same goes for being with my friends.

I get pleasure out of reading.

Really liked stamp collecting as a kid. Hmmm, maybe I should look into that.

Stamp collecting perhaps?

What is happiness?

I need to act the way I want to feel. Put some music on and dance.

Embrace the moment.

I need to be me. I need to let go of who I think I’m supposed to be and just embrace who I really am.

What is happiness to you?

What things make you happy? What gives you joy? What makes you smile?

Please comment and share this on Facebook, Twitter, Digg, etc.

Thanks.

“Live Simply”

One thought on “What Is Happiness?

  1. I keep my ukulele in my car and play it all the time (also play guitar, but there’s something about the uke that makes me happy). I go to ukulele jams and acoustic jams and play my uke and sing whenever I can…even on the beach in Santa Cruz! I also enjoy dancing to cool music whenever possible..and, of course, there’s always writing, which one can do anywhere and any time. It’s important to be able to do that — to find happiness wherever you are, even if you’re at work. 🙂

Share your thoughts!

