So, what is interesting about Ecuador?

How about everything!

For many years I have explored different living abroad options.

Now any destination would have to offer a low cost of living and a moderate climate. Think North American spring or summer like weather.

Ecuador fits the bill almost perfectly.

I know that there is no perfect location.

Where Is Ecuador?

cuenca-ecuador

Ecuador is located on the west coast of South America. It is bordered by Colombia on the north, Peru on the east and south, and by the Pacific Ocean to the west. It is one of only two countries in South America, along with Chile, that do not have a border with Brazil. The country also includes the Galápagos Islands in the Pacific, about 1,000 kilometres (620 mi) west of the mainland.

Why Ecuador?

I want a more simple life. Perhaps semi-retired. I do not buy into the conventional thinking of working until 60 or older and then trying to live. Here in Canada(yes, a great country!) the taxes are SOOO high. The cost of living is just almost too much to bear.

What is the cost of living in Ecuador you ask?

Dena Haines, a Canadian living in Ecuador with her husband and young daughter writes,

The cost of living is significantly lower than in the U.S. or Canada. Your grocery bill will be about a third of what you pay back home. A new three-bedroom, two bath apartment (with an amazing view of the surrounding mountains) costs $150- $180 a month.

The electric bill is around $20 per month, and the water bill is $1.80 per month. The hot water, kitchen stove, and clothes dryer run on propane—$2 per tank.

For 25 cents the bus system gets you anywhere you want to go. If you need a taxi, you’ll pay $1.50 for a short trip or up to $5 for a ride clear across the city.

The latest movies—$3. You can treat a friend to a coffee and snack for less than $3. A typical 3-course lunch costs between $2 and $4.

The price of gas is nationally set at $1.85 per gallon.

There are world class beaches, and the mountains. Bird watching is some of the best in the world.

Cities, such as Cuenca, have an old world European feel. This is the city I am exploring moving to. It is very spring like year round.

I love to wander and explore.

What would I do there? Who knows. Re-invent myself. Start a business. Hike. Learn Spanish.

Live simply. That’s what I would do.

Please share this and feel free to comment.

Thanks.

“Live Simply”

7 thoughts on “What Is Interesting About Ecuador…

  1. The cost of living may be much less, but I am guessing that the salaries are much less too. Unless you have saved up a great deal of money, I assume you will have to work. One other thought: does your extended family live in Canada? How much will it cost yearly to travel back and forth to visit them? For me, no amount of cheap living in the world is worth losing my family and friends.

    1. of course the salaries are less. And yes I have saved more than enough to retire. Thanks to my minimalist lifestyle:)

      For me it is just about living a slower paced life. Hey I’m a dreamer. What can I say?

      And my family can visit me too!

  2. Have you been there yet? Sounds lovely. Be interesting to see the flip side – there are always two sides. Yet maybe for what you are looking for the good definately outweighs the rest. In my life I am learning very slowly that we choose how we live exactly where we are now. That’s not to say that if you have found a way to make your money last – keeping up the minimal lifestyle – that a change of scenery is not a bad idea. I’d really like to know whether you have been there yet?

      1. Looking forward to the post all about your visit. And so true – you never never know if you never never go – that is a slogan for the tourist industry over here in Australia. Cheers, Wendy

  3. Mark,

    Blaine here from Regina. Check out the book “Hungry Planet” if you haven’t done so already. It is a photo essay of what a family eats in one week, placed on their kitchen table. Not only did people in the Andes (In this case Bolivia) eat more natural foods, and healthier, they also owned less, and lived simpler. It was the same people who wrote “Material World” were people put all their goods on display in front of the home. Sadly, moving here I racked up some debt, but I’m at the point of paying it off again.

    Like the change to your site!

    Blaine

Share your thoughts!

