A New Opportunity for a Minimalist Lifestyle

So I have been living the Life of Riley for the past few years. Living on my own, doing what I want, when I want, for as long as I want.

Living on my own has made it pretty easy to live a minimalist lifestyle.

But now my teenage son is with me. He needed a change o scenery.

First of all this means we are upgrading our living arrangements. I have a great minimalist apartment. Wonderful for one person but not for two. I have finally found a suitable 2 bedroom apartment with some utilities included and it is very close to his school. The landlord is very easy going, so this is another bonus. It is the upper level of an older house. Hardwood floors and a bit of character. A minimalist interior design project waiting to happen perhaps.

Of course one of the best parts about this is the chance to move. This will force me to declutter and purge some items that have no use. I keep telling myself that I don’t have much stuff but when I look around and think about moving, I shudder. I still have my fair share of useless stuff.

So this will force me to walk the walk in regards to living a minimalist lifestyle. I am also going to have to be more organized both for myself and my son.

A place for everything and everything in its place.

I know I have too many clothing items. Hell I tend to wear the same basic pieces over and over so why do I have so much? I can’t answer this. The one thing I know is that it has to change. It is okay to have nice stuff within minimalist living but all items must have a purpose.

I will be examining every article of clothing, every piece of paper, every damn item I currently have.

If anyone has any tips for a single dad on how to effectively live a minimalist lifestyle with a teenage son please, please comment. Thanks very much.

“Live Simply”

2 thoughts on “Things Are About To Change. For The Better

  1. The most challenging aspects of living a downsized or minimalist life are the people you live with. If they are not into minimalizing, it’s a real uphill battle. As they wisely say, we can’t change anyone else, we can only change ourselves. So I work on minimalizing my own things and that’s all I can do. Good luck with having your son live with you, it will be a great joy but also a big change and challenge for you.

Share your thoughts!

