Well my son and I are moving to a new apartment. Moving sucks. I don’t care who you are, it sucks.

So we are packing up our meager possessions and I have come to the realization that I have way too much CRAP!

Garbage. Where did this come from? How did it happen? It goes back to growing accustomed to your surroundings. We end up not even noticing all the stuff.

I have nothing nice really. Nothing of any real value. I love a minimalist interior design aesthetic but I have no idea how to pull it off. So I end up with a mish-mash of stuff and in reality is that it looks terrible.

Why is it so hard to achieve the minimalist living design style that I desire? Simple, clean, clutter free.

Not too much to ask for.

So when we get settled I will be going through the junk and getting rid of a lot of stuff.

Has anyone from the real world created a minimalist interior design style that they are pleased with?

I would love your advice, design and decorating tips. Help me!!!

5 thoughts on “Where Did All This CRAP Come From?!

  1. Are you going to get rid of all your furniture and start brand new or are you going to work with what you have? If you are getting new, you may want to stick with clean lines & simple design. No fancy decorative features, knobs, pattens & such. Ikea is the store for you. Cheap stuff, clean lines, geometric. Use two main colors (one dominant) which will contrast–blacks & whites, browns and reds, grays & purples. No fruff or fluff. You can make your own simple, nonobjective artwork (big), or enlarge your favorite simple photos (on canvas, so no frames). Plenty of drawers to put things in so nothing is out but the necessities. Paint a contrasting wall in each room. No fancy draperies at all, just simple decorative shades or blinds. There are many simple window-decorating schemes on the market these days. No knick-knacks or very few. Either rotate them or just don’t own them at all. Plants are good–natural and disposable when tired of them.

Share your thoughts!

