Today’s sign that the Apocalypse is upon us:

I just saw a commercial for the Clapper Plus. It is a light switch.

No really. If you are too lazy to go and turn on the real light switch you mount this on the wall so you can turn it on instead.

Huh.

And just when I was shaking my head over Cyber Monday.

Anything that marketers and Big Business can do to get us to part with our hard earned money.

And people do it. “Oh my god it is Cyber Monday! I have to buy something!”

If anything it should make us run screaming to the hills.

What does anything to do with shopping have to do with the spirit of the Christmas season? Dos it harken back to the Three Wise Men bringing gifts to baby Jesus?

December 25th is not even the actual birthday of Christ. It is a made up day that I’m sure has ties to pagan rituals.

Anyway I just feel that we have lost our way.

However you celebrate the holiday season I feel it should be about relaxing and spending time with those that are important in your life.

Time. When I am at the end of my life it will what I want more of.

Not more stuff.

C’mon do you really need more stuff? I doubt it. Think about the thousands of people who go without. No food. No clothing. Not even a roof over their head.

I am so fortunate. I have everything I could possibly need. I want for nothing.

Why do people want so much? Look around. Don’t you have enough? What void in your life are you trying to fill?

Were you not hugged enough as a child?

Stuff cannot love you back. You certainly may get some level of enjoyment out of your material possessions. I enjoy my MP3 player. I use it almost every day.

But saying “I LOVE my big screen TV” is kind of sad really.

I am not saying you have to adopt a minimalist lifestyle. Just slow down with the needless spending. Why not give to a charity this year? Think about how good you would feel.

Sponsor a child in a foreign country.

I don’t know.

Some people will figure it out. Some won’t. Such is the way of the world.

Please share this post and Like it on Facebook. Thanks.

“Live Simply”

8 thoughts on “More Ridiculousness

  1. Hi Mark –

    I started purging earlier this year…even though I’m not that cluttered. Who needs 25 necklaces, 20 purses, etc. etc. I’m preparing for something larger in my life…trying to listen closely!

    1. Hi Sherry,

      It is an ongoing pursuit for a lot of us, that’s for sure.

      I am not sure you should be lying to your readers by the way. There is no way you are fifty-ish! WOW! You are inspiration for a lot of us.

      Your blog is incredible. The photos are amazing. I suffer from wanderlust but have not been able to travel for a couple of years now. I am afraid if I hit the road I will just keep going.

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting.

  2. THANK YOU FOR ENTERING MY LIFE. I’M 20 YRS. OLD. THESE ARE THE GUIDELINES I WANT TO LIVE BY AND WOULDN’T/DON’T WANT TO EVER LIVE W/O.

  3. The idea that someone “LOVES” a physical object, especially a TV of all things makes me want to hurl. So very sad.

Share your thoughts!

