I hate Facebook.

I find it useless, intrusive and increasingly unethical.

I know there may be some value for various people or businesses that want to promote certain causes or to promote their business.

But I just cannot handle reading about what someone had for breakfast or that they just woke up from a nap.

Who cares?

Just this morning someone posted that they were bored and wanted someone to talk to. This is a married woman who is pretty active.

Here it is Saturday morning and they are “bored” and on Facebook.

Kind of sad really.

People are so addicted to the soul sucking entity that is Facebook that will log in to tell people they are bored.

Life is for living. Not for spending countless hours on the computer.

Go for a walk.
Have sex.
Read.
Paint.
Dance.
Organize your place.
Do your taxes.
Do a workout.
Play with your kids.
Go for a drive.
Interact with nature.
Volunteer.

The internet is a valuable tool. Great for getting information and doing research. Maybe even for inspiration.

But it is not for living.

People are now living their lives through the internet and through Facebook.

And Facebook privacy policies keep changing. They force you to incorporate new features and to give more information.

They know more about you, where you shop, the stuff you search, your banking information and more. And YOU give it to them.

And they “own” all that data.

They want to be able to market to you. You’ve seen the ads that run on the website. They are “targeted” for you based on the info that Facebook has gathered on you.

Privacy means nothing to Facebook. They have changed their privacy policy a number of times as this timeline shows.

It baffles me that more people are not aware of this.

So after thinking about it for a few weeks I have decided to delete Facebook. Well, try to delete Facebook.

They do not make it easy to actually delete your account.

You have to jump through hoops to find the right page to delete your account. And even then they are going to wait 14 days before it gets “permanently deleted”.

Anyway I just think that there is more to life that being constantly connected and living life through Facebook.

I know that 99.9% of people will not delete Facebook.

But I guess if only one person does after reading this than maybe this article is a success.

Have you ever thought about deleting your Facebook account?

Please share your thoughts in the comments.

“Live Simply”

24 thoughts on “Delete Facebook

  1. I will admit that no, I have not thought about deleting facebook. Now whether or not I should is a totally different question. Am I on it too much? Absolutely. Does it have value? Personally mixed in with the larger percentage of useless information? I will go with yes too. While I will not be the 1 person who deletes their account, I am working on my addiction 😉

  2. I agree. I hate it too, but still manage to have an account. I don’t read it, don’t post on it and don’t care about the constant postings of those that do. I have no idea why I don’t close it down, but I think you might have motivated me to do that.

  3. Socially, Facebook is a complete waste of time. Facebook is, though, very useful for notices of postings on blogs I read; I don’t waste a lot of time clicking on each blog to see if the blog has had a recent post or if the post is of interest to me.

    I am “friends” with a few female family members but only out of politeness; I rarely comment on whatever activity they are reporting. I am also connected to a couple of co-workers but, again, it is out of politeness.

    1. To get notices of blogs you follow it would be far more effective to use an RSS reader. I use Reeder for Mac which uses your google reader account but there are loads of different services out there.

  4. Hi! Personally I find FB quite useful for people like me: I live 500 km away from the place where my family and many friends are, and I also have many friends abroad (I lived abroad for a long time). Before Facebook I regularly wrote email to most people telling them my recent news and attaching a few photos, but it took me a lot of time and I was never sure if the photos were of any interest. Now that 90% of the people I know are on FB I can just upload my photos there and everybody can have a look if and when they want. I use FB just once or twice a week to check how everybody is doing and maybe updating my status with a longish phrase, like I did by email. But now it’s much quicker! Plus I am updated about events and blogs. I think the important thing is HOW you use it: I don’t really care about stupid updates like “I just had a nap”, but I’m happy to know that a friend in Japan just had her second baby and see his photos! And I personally don’t care if they know where I shop online.

    1. Hi Sabrina,

      Thanks so much for your insight. Yes there is value in regards to the sharing of info in certain instances. What a lot of people fail to recognize is that Facebook is aiming to become the holder of all of your information. They know so much more about you that you realize. I certainly understand that it makes things “easier” for sharing photos etc.

      If it does indeed add value to a person’s life then by all means continue to use.

      But like you mention, HOW you use it is the key.

      I greatly appreciate the comment.

      Ciao,

      Mark

  5. If FB happened to be my particular addiction, I’d delete it. It isn’t, so I won’t. I live the other side of the world from my family and old friends so FB is great at keeping in touch without the overhead of long letters/emails and trying to keep up with peoples changes of address. I’ve also managed to find at least two people on FB that I thought I’d lost touch with forever. I guess what I’m saying is that FB is not really the problem, the addiction is.

    1. Yes as I mention for some people that are far away from family and friends, Facebook has some value. For me it just does not hold any appeal. I like to go out and see stuff and walk and be active, not just cruise facebook for useless status updates.

      Thanks for your insight.

  6. I haven’t deleted my account, but I’ve worked hard to keep my friend count low – if it gets above 50 I cull people I haven’t talked to in awhile. It’s been helpful for meeting new people since I’m in a few groups there, and it’s less intimidating for an introvert like me to friend someone and have smaller conversations on Facebook and find out what we have in common.

    I’ll admit though that I’m annoyed with the social expectations of it though; there are friends of friends that I’m not particularly interested in hanging out with, but I know they’d be offended if I wasn’t their friend on Facebook. So I hide all of their updates and deal with it, but it’s not enough of a hassle to make me really want to delete my account.

  7. I finally deleted mine and I feel very happy and proud. However, I do have to wait 14 days until it’s completely deleted by FB.

  8. My husband and I deleted our Facebook accounts earlier this month. We grew weary of the cynical and aggressively opinionated political posts, the righteous and judgmental proselytizing posts, and the minute-by-minute posts of those who literally lay their life bare on Facebook. My favorite had to be the paranoia-inducing attention seeking posts that seemed to contain a barb directed at a specific individual – possibly even me – although you couldn’t quite know for certain given the ambiguity. We ultimately decided that Facebook has the capacity to do more harm than good to relationships, and really represents nothing more than a tremendous waste of precious time. So I logged off and went outside. There’s a lot to see and do out there. So rather than hitting the Like button one more time, we’re going to focus more on socializing with our real friends in person.

Share your thoughts!

