How To Delete Your Facebook Account

If you are like me, maybe you have grown weary of the useless status updates by various people on Facebook.

I just do not care anymore about the goings on of the folks on Facebook.

You can read more about this here.

So let’s say you want to actually delete Facebook. And I mean get rid of it for good.

Not disable. Delete.

If you just disable it your account is still there just waiting for you to come back like that old boyfriend or girlfriend you just couldn’t stand anymore.

We want to kill Facebook and never return.

But how do I delete my Facebook account you ask??

Go to this link: Delete Facebook

At the end of the third paragraph on that page you will see a link to submit your request. This is where you want to go.

You will have to login and submit your password a few times.

At the end of this process, you will be told that your account will still remain active for 14 days just in case you change your mind and decide that you cannot live without Facebook.

During this 14 day period you must not, indeed you will not login, as this will cancel the deletion process.

At the end of the 14 day waiting period your Facebook account will be deleted. Hooray!!!

This means you have reclaimed your status as a living, breathing, thinking member of the human race.

You will lose weight, have a better social life, get a better job, find the partner of your dreams when you delete your Facebook account.

So maybe I cannot guarantee that any of this will happen.

I do think your life will improve though.

Remember, life is for living.

Not for checking Facebook a hundred times a day.

Delete your Facebook account NOW.

“Live Simply”

6 thoughts on “How To Delete Your Facebook Account. No Really, It CAN Be Done!

  1. This is such a sore note for me. I hate facebook! I do! Yet, it sucks me in and I find I am really addicted. I have been contemplating deleting the facebook for a few months. I envy those who have done it. I have been trying to work up the nerve to do it. I am held back deleting it for a few reasons. 1) This is how I keep up with friends from other states.
    2) I live in a state new to me with 3 kids and I think I may go crazy without any adult interactions. The thought of deleting my facebook causes me anxiety, yet I know this is something I really want to do within the next 6 months. I am nearly ashamed to admit that most of my “friends” on facebook are people I have met because of the internet. Yes, this one is a tough one to chuck. I check my facebook nearly every hour. I have been trying to pull myself from facebook a little more each day.

    1. Wow. Thanks for sharing. And let’s be honest. You are not alone with having a Facebook “addiction”. It does suck us in. We somehow think we are missing something by not being on it. They have won.

      Maybe their are groups in your area where you could get out and actually meet some people.

      You could try http://www.meetup.com/

      I have friends who have used this site and have actually meet people to do stuff with.

      You could also try to not use Facebook for just one day and see how it goes. Baby steps.

      Thanks so much for sharing.

    2. Wow. Thanks for sharing. And let’s be honest. You are not alone with having a Facebook “addiction”. It does suck us in. We somehow think we are missing something by not being on it. They have won.

      Maybe their are groups in your area where you could get out and actually meet some people.

      You could try http://www.meetup.com/

      I have friends who have used this site and have actually meet people to do stuff with.

      You could also try to not use Facebook for just one day and see how it goes. Baby steps.

      Thanks so much for sharing.

      1. I sound like a loner…LOL I actually have several good friends down here now that we have lived her for well over a year. I think we live in such a society we want instant gratification. We are able to jump on when we want to interact, rather than feel committed or stuck. It’s not right, but I know for me that is part of the call. I made the first step today simply by deleeting anyone I don’t talk to, or am not close to. Loved your post, even though the thought scares me some.

  2. I joined the “meetup group” – great suggestion btw…. and it has been a real bonus to my “social life”. I can pick and chose activities based around my work, interests and lifestyle. Really enjoying getting out there with like-minded people.

Share your thoughts!

