I think I may have hit rock bottom with my level of fatness.

And I am ashamed.

I know better.

I have the knowledge to not allow myself to get to this level.

For twenty plus years I have read articles and blogs about fitness and nutrition. I even took an entry level personal trainer course.

A couple of years ago a good friend and I challenged ourselves to workout everyday and take daily photos and keep track of our progress.

We both had excellent results in a relatively short amount of time. In 8 weeks we both were a lot more fit than at the start. In 10 weeks I was amazed at what I had achieved.

And then we fell behind in our workouts. And then we stopped altogether.

Why the hell did we stop?

I really don’t know. Just like implementing healthy habits can actually be easy, resorting back to the unhealthy habits is all too easy as well.

You can make all the excuses in the world but they are just that. Excuses.

So now I am back to being a fat bastard. I am uncomfortable and I do not enjoy going to social events.

I overeat. A lot.

This has been a problem for most of my life. And I am a “sneak” eater.

I was like this as a kid and I do it still as a 41 year old man!

And I am a major sugar addict.

I know what to do. Most of us know don’t we?

Eat less and move more. Kind of simple isn’t it?

Veggies and some lean protein. Drink lots of water.

Don’t over think it too much.

So I am going to post some photos of me as of today. I have no shirt on and I warn you it is a sad and scary sight.

Consider yourself warned!

Don’t say you were not warned!!

Pretty sad I know. And yes I am sucking my gut in a bit. So the photos could be a lot worse. But I am afraid that WordPress would ban me if I let it all hang out.

But I have to do this for public accountability. It isn’t easy making photos of ones fat self available for all to see.

So today I am starting. Again.

  • 30 minute walk
  • 15 minutes Beachbody Insanity
  • 15 minutes P90X Chest and Back
  • 10 minutes Insanity
  • 10 minutes P90X Chest and Back

Later I will go for another walk. I got an awesome workout/nutrition log for Christmas and actually have been using it but not consistently.

Hopefully the weather will cooperate and I will be able to start walking or biking to work.

Please join in if you’d like to post some photos and share any ideas you have about losing a few pounds and getting healthier.

“Live Simply”

16 thoughts on “A Very Hard Thing To Do

  1. Congrats for taking your health back! I lost over 80 lbs this last year. I blogged about it, but since I lost that weight I have noticed just before my 90lb loss I am gaining again. I have not gained 10lbs but it is freaking me out! I am back on my health train to make sure I don’t end up back where I was. I have an aversion to exercising.
    I lost weight by cutting portions. That was simple. I switched to a smaller plate. I love to walk so I would do little things like take the kid to a walk or play with them at a park. We love nature walks. We would park as far from doors as we could when we were shopping. Except when it was raining or storming. 3 small kids- not cool. I would challenge myself how quickly I could get the grocery shopping done.
    I was doing little things like this and it fell off. I also drank more water. Lots more water. I honestly hate to exercise but I knew without life changes the weight would never drop off. I am back on the train again and I wish you lots of luck!

    1. Wow. Amazing job on losing the weight. It really isn’t hard but it isn’t easy either. I know that may not make sense but we really just need to eat a bit less, eat clean, move more and drink water.

      I enjoy being active and working out but I love to eat. The “see-food” diet. I see food and I eat it. All of it.

      Thanks for the support and good luck to you on getting back on track as well. We’ll keep each other accountable.

      Anyone else want to join us????

  2. Thank you so much for your honesty and sharing! Not an easy thing to do…although I would strongly disagree with “fat bastard”! 😉

    I have been trying to fill my stomach with more nutrients and less emply calories, like in Dr. Fuhrman’s book, Eat to Live. I found that when I eat a salad it doesn’t fill me up, but when I add black beans I’m stuffed. I have been eating this way for a few months and I actually do not crave sugar. I had to have desert every day after dinner, now I don’t care to have any.

    Good luck with your journey!
    Christine

    1. Hi Christine,

      Thanks so much for your comment and suggestion about the black beans. I enjoys healthy food. I just also enjoy ALL food. And too much of it.

      So yes I need to be open and honest about it all. Maybe then I will follow through with my exercise and healthy eating.

      I’ll be sure to try the black beans with salad.

      Thanks a lot,

      Mark

  3. Hi Mark, I just found your blog whilst poking around looking at green/minimalist living. I have 50 lbs to lose and was doing great walking 3 miles per day and following the Eat Right For Your Bloodtype diet…..then I visited my Mom and her chocolate pie was my downfall. After a piece of that it was 2 days of lazy bingeing. **sigh** But I’m going to pick myself up and start over! I’ll definately be back to see your progress and you’ve motivated me to keep on going even after my oops moment.

    1. Hi Rita,

      Thanks for reading. Those “oops” moments are soooo easy to have it seems. But we have to have a short memory I guess and just let it go. Stay the course. I’ll keep posting pics so keep checking back.

      thanks for commenting,

      Mark

  4. Hi Loosing weight is really difficult matter, I am overeating when I have some stress,
    So at this time I express my stress hold my baby, or my kids or mom or husband anybody,
    then I feel ok . You can check your stress is where it is come from , In my case it is lack of
    warm feeling .
    And I think you are nice as it is .:))

  5. See food diet. Lol. I have to run from that diet! I enjoy that diet WAY too much! To lose the weight, I have found that you have to make lifestyle changes, not just diet. I had to change how I viewed food. When I hit 400 pounds, I realized I had to change. Lots more movement, and more education about what is IN the food. Just those changes, and I dropped 140 pounds. Then 2 health crisises back to back and 50 pounds crept back on. And REFUSES to leave. The more educated you are about what ingredients are in the food you are eating and what they do to help your body, or NOT help, the easier it is to lean towards being healthy. Some of what I learned scared the bejesus outa me, that I put those things in my body! And copycatmom is so right, it is the little things that do add up. YOU CAN DO IT.

    1. Yes you are so right. I mean really we should be eating all natural, one ingredient foods. If it comes in a box, can, or package, don’t eat it. I know this. So why is it so hard to follow this simple rule. There are ingredients in our food that are not allowed in pet food.

      You can do it too.

      Thanks for your comment.

  6. Its hard because it taste sooooo good! (and because some of those ingredients are put in there to be addicting). I know how you feel….oreos, so bad, yet taste sooooo damn good! My motivator is my son. I want him to learn to eat health as a lifestyle and make good choices, so he never has to battle weight the way I have. I keep motivating pictures on the doors where food lurks. LOL. Hey, it makes me think twice! I keep my real fat pics by my mirror as a reminder also. You will find your stride in what works as you go along. So dont give up!

  7. Good for you for taking the first step. It’s true about addictive ingredients, also…when you constantly eat junk your body is constantly hungry because it is not getting any real nutrients. Rule of thumb, if it doesn’t come out of the ground do not eat. Also always more protein than carb. For an immediate notice of weight loss, cut out all white bread, (I eat Rudis spelt bread, it’s very good) processed sugar, dairy and alcohol as well as meat consumption to a minimum. ALL DAIRY by the way is a huge culprit!!! EAT NOTHING “DIET or LOW FAT”. Good fats are good olive oil, walnuts, avocados, they actually help you lose weight. Make sure you are getting plenty of supplements. Fish oil and vitamin D are good for malnutrition bodies and make sure your colon is clean. Get regular yogi tea is a good gentle way to start clearing. I too am a sugar addict, replace with other sweets, there are a lot of sweet substitutes (healthy ones like agave, not saccharin). After a couple of weeks without sugar your body WILL stop craving it. One more thing…in spite of what you have heard, please try yoga. It WILL change your attitude toward food and your life! Look for a level 1/2 vinyasa flow class with fun music and give it a commitment of three months at least twice a week before giving it up. A great website of a professional who really knows what excellent nutrition is http://www.elissagoodman.com/
    I promise if you stick to these things your life will change…in a good way :))
    Good luck!

    p.s. my intention is to help not lecture if that’s how it’s coming off.

    1. Spectacular comment and great advice. I will be sure to check out the link.

      I love Yoga! I am a fan of all fitness and activity so no problem there.

      Yup I am a sugar addict as well.

      So if anyone has any other advice or resources for beating a sugar addiction PLEASE LET ME KNOW.

      Thanks so much for sharing your advice. I really appreciate it.

  8. I use half agave sugar and half organic demura sugar in my tea. I never noticed the difference. White sugar, its the devil. LOL

Share your thoughts!

