Do you have clutter?

Or is all your stuff wonderfully organized?

You know, a place for everything and everything in its place.

As a person who is into minimalist living I don’t have a whole lot but I will admit that I have let clutter creep back into my life.

I try to stay on top of it but I struggle a bit. I love watching home design shows but when it comes to having my own space look neat, organized and stylish I fall short.

My apartment certainly has some potential, and at times I try a stylish minimalist interior design approach but just can’t seem to pull it off. I just don’t have vision I guess.

When I see an interior design I like I certainly am able to recognize it as such. But when it comes to making my own space look good it just doesn’t happen.

I need to start following the “advice” I so freely give my girlfriend.

Get rid of the clutter. If it isn’t beautiful and I don’t love it, it has to go.

Spring is pretty much here and I need a clean slate.

I have a few books that I am finished with so they are on the list to be donated.

Same with magazines. My wardrobe needs to be pared down a bit as well.

I may have only a few hundred items total in my apartment but that is too much for my version of minimalist living.

I am blown away by how much stuff some people have. The stuff that serves no purpose and just takes up space collecting dust.

Again, if it is beautiful and you love it, by all means keep it.

But a lot of us keep stuff that does not fall into this category.

It is amazing how much better we feel after decluttering and getting organized.

The extra space seems freeing. There seems to be more light. It’s as if the actual weight of the clutter has been lifted from your very shoulders.

That’s the stress of thinking about it going away.

We all complain that we don’t have enough space, but often the real culprit is our junk. The U.S. Department of Energy ran studies that revealed that 25% of us with two-car garages have them packed so full of stuff that we cannot even park one car inside.

And when we declutter and organize our space we may find things that we can sell or find things that have been missing for a while. People spend an average of 30-40 minutes a day looking for misplaced items.

The other thing I think about is dust and allergens. I can’t believe people have carpets and all the clutter is just more surface area for dust. Clear out your closets and get rid of excess stuff and your health will probably improve as well.

A place for everything and everything in its place.

A motto to live by.

“Live Simply”

7 thoughts on “Clutter, Clutter Everywhere

  1. Your point about the allergies really hits home for me. When we decided to go minimalist, we first aimed for the stuff under the bed. Once we got all of the boxes out we were picking up handfulls of dust bunnies and we’d only lived in the place for a year. Now we can run the roomba under the bed, and I’m off my allergy meds. And I don’t miss the stuff under the bed either!

  2. Too true! Everyone tells me I own very little but I still feel overwelmed by my ‘stuff’ sometimes. I’m beginning a HUGE downsizing and decluttering effort though because I want to build and live in a cube eventually. Have you heard of 12cubed? It’s here: http://www.twelve3.ca
    Good luck on your efforts!

  3. “We all complain that we don’t have enough space, but often the real culprit is our junk. The U.S. Department of Energy ran studies that revealed that 25% of us with two-car garages have them packed so full of stuff that we cannot even park one car inside.”

    Very true. My little 740sq ft. house feels much more spacious now that I’ve decluttered a time or two. In reality, I still have some clutter hidden away, but my space feels comfortable and organized so I’m happy. I might sometimes want more space, but I don’t need it at all.

Share your thoughts!

