Is Anybody Out There?

For those of us that blog I am sure we wonder if what we are rambling on about is resonating with anyone.

Is anyone reading our blog and “getting” what we are saying?

Oh sure we can look at the blog stats and see how many people have read it today and we can see how many page views we have.

I get a charge out of the fact that anyone at all even reads this little blog.

I have fun writing and ranting about stuff. It is an outlet. Sometimes creative, sometimes not.

I have gotten some wonderful and amazing feedback and blog comments in regards to certain posts. And I thank you all for that.

So just when I am wondering if this is getting through to anyone, here is what was waiting for me in the comments on my About Me
page.

Hello Mark!

I’m a 18 year old boy who’s struggling to find, what I would call, “the way to live my life for a life filled with peace and happiness”. I’m currently living in Sweden with my family and I’ve always felt that something is missing, all the time. I’ve tried to fill it with stuff, stuff, stuff and if that haven’t worked, I’ve tried to fill it with more stuff. Until one day when I came across an article about a guy whom lived with one backpack of belongings and traveled the world. I started to read more and more about the “minimalistic lifestyle” and it all started to make sense to me. A lots of people around me started to get confused when I started to get rid of stuff that I don’t need, nor wanted anymore.
“You’re going to regret this”, “Are you out of your mind?”, “Are you stupid?” There where a storm of comments from friends, family and my (now ex) girlfriend. All thought I didn’t really care. I continued until I found the balance for the right amount of stuff for me and now I’ve much more time to do things that I love to do, things that I have to do (for school, work, cleaning etc.) and there’s like this weight lifted of my shoulders.
I’ve also been inspired to travel the world, as soon as I’m done with school and get vacation from my work this summer I’ll go do the transsiberian railway travel and I’ve also decided to do a parachute jump. Mostly because I really need to overcome my fear of height and what better way than doing this? ha ha

Anyway the reason I share this with you is because your blog has been an major part of this change in my life. I love reading it and I find it very inspirational and I just needed to let you know this. So please, whatever you do Mark, continue to write the way you do. Do know that there’s one young boy in Sweden reading your blog and appreciating it.

Thank you!

With love,

K

How amazing and wonderful is that?

So for this of you that like to blog, keep blogging!! You just never know when a post or something that you have to say will resonate with someone and actually impact their life.

Please share this.

“Live Simply”

16 thoughts on “Why Blog?

  1. That’s awesome that you’ve been able to impact others’ lives in such a positive way.

    I think that too many minimalist bloggers are in it for the wrong reasons (which is particularly ironic given that we’re writing about living life with less, yet they’re trying for MORE). Minhus did a hilarious and scathing discussion of this a few weeks back: http://minhus.blogspot.com/2012/03/im-right-youre-wrong-minimalism.html

    The minute I see ads on a minimalist site, I leave. I’m so happy I don’t see them on yours. Thanks for that.

    1. I’ll be sure to check out the link you posted. I guess some minimalist bloggers do still need to make a dollar or two hence the ads or e-books.

      I certainly get where you are coming from. They are telling people to spend less etc etc. and then they want you to by their ebook.

      Interesting.

      Thanks so much for commenting.

  2. That’s great. I’m a regular reader too, though I do so through Google Reader.

    Oh and in spite of my rant mentioned earlier (thanks Joanna!), I don’t blame/begrudge minimalist bloggers from earning money via their blogs or e-books. It’s just those who do it in a particular way that irks me.

  3. Truly incredible – and I do think that most of us blog in the hopes of creating something positive and connecting with just ONE person out there. All you need is that one affirmation that, yes, what you say and feel matter and, yes, there are others like you out there who value the same things.

    Great blog, looking forward to keeping up with you!

  4. truly inspiring indeed! i’m new to the blogging world and most times i feel just like how you described in your ‘why do we blog’ post. i’m glad to have discovered your blog, thank you.

  5. *head explodes* Wow. That is pretty awesome. I haven’t had that happen yet, but I’m thankful for every follower I get, every “like” someone besides to bestow on something I’ve written. When I started I didn’t think anyone would care what I wrote, and now I have followers and likes coming at me most every day, its a blessing and I’m thankful for every little bit of it.

Share your thoughts!

