I got dealt a setback this week.

It has to do with my ex, my former business and the federal government.

Oh dear. Could it get any worse?

Hell yes!

I don’t want to go into the details for personal reasons, but suffice it to say it is indeed a setback.

Or is it?

Maybe it is a blessing in disguise.

Maybe we should look at these situations as learning experiences that force us to grow.

So how does a person manage to keep moving forward in the face of adversity?

How can you possibly go on?

By putting one foot in front of the other.

By telling yourself that this too shall pass.

Not easy at times I know. There are times when you feel like curling up in a little ball and pulling the covers over your head.

And while that may feel good for a bit, it does nothing to solve the problem.

What I am now forced to deal with is an issue for sure. But I am not panicked. It will be dealt with. It forces my ex to own up to mistakes that she made and make good.

I buried my head in the sand and just wanted her to deal with it.

That does not work very well.

A lot of men(not all) are like this. We expect our partners to “mother us”. And then we are not sure how to fend for ourselves. So to any moms out there, please force your sons to deal with their own issues. Don’t do it for them.

The other part of this is that it could always be worse. There are people in the world that are dealing with much more stressful situations than what I am dealing with right now.

My situation is small potatoes.

So when faced with a situation that seems insurmountable realize that it forces you to deal with it. And that is a good thing.

You have to stay calm and sit down and look at options for dealing with the situation.

Stomping your feet and screaming and ranting and raving and freaking out solves nothing. The situation is still there waiting for your little tirade to be done.

Ask yourself, “What can I do to remedy this?” Come up with a plan.

The fact is I still have a great life. That has not changed. Thank goodness for my minimalist lifestyle. I am used to living frugally. But I am not deprived, nor will I be as I move forward.

How you deal with adversity and the different situations that are bound to happen is what defines you as a person.

This particular situation should never have happened. It could have been and should have been avoided. But the fact is it has happened.

And it is being dealt with. There is no other option.

By putting one foot in front of the other and remembering that this too shall pass.

What problems have you had to deal with that seemed insurmountable at the time?

Would love to hear your thoughts in the comments.

“Live Simply”

2 thoughts on “How To Keep Moving Forward When Things Go Awry

  1. There is always someone who has bigger problems than you. That thought got me through my child hood, which I will not puke up here. Lets just say that to this day most people can’t grasp the concepts of what I have went through and my old psychologist has never heard such gory details. However, knowing the situation could be worse got me through. Every day, one food in front of another. Sadly that was not the worse that I have gone through just different. (different mentality, different situations just overall different. Not worse, just different.
    As an adult knowing someone has bigger problems than me does not always help. We know people have bigger problems but it does not solve our issues at hand. My grandma reminds me frequently that “yesterday is history, tomorrow’s a mystery and today is a gift.” It helped and I thought she was so wise, but later learned she had been watching kung fu panda. Either way a great saying.
    Your on the right path and whatever it is will pass. One foot in front of the other. You have a positive attitude and that is a very important thing to have in any struggle. Best of luck to you.

  2. Here’s my favorite quote from Winston Churchill: “If you are going through hell, keep going.” It really does boil down to the whole put one foot in front of the other and deal with it, whatever the hell one is going through. Or as my harp teacher says, “Breathe and move forward.”

Share your thoughts!

