Yes I sometimes watch American Pickers. I think Mike and Frank are funny.

And I rather enjoy the trips they are on and the people they meet and yes even some of the stuff they find.

If you have seen the show you know that they usually end up at someones place where there is a ton of stuff.

These people started out as “collectors” and it just kept going and going and going. Some of the places they go to are barns or warehouses full to the rafters with stuff.

What the hell are these people going to do with it all?

What is also interesting is that despite have all of these items, folks are a little reluctant to part with some of it. They are being offered cold hard cash but they would rather hang onto the items.

I certainly understand having an attachment to some things. I have two antique steamer trunks that my great-grandparents used in their travels. And they probably pre-date them. It makes me feel tied to my past and I like that.

But these folks have this stuff laying around in a barn or out building or warehouse and still won’t part with it.

So on the show that I watched today the gentleman said,

“The point is not to have the most toys. The point is to actually have stuff you enjoy using and that get to play with”

If you like something and it is beautiful, then by all means have it.

If you actually use an item, then of course you should have it on hand for when you need it.

But just having stuff that is packed away for the sake of holding onto it does not make a lot of sense to me. That’s just me.

I am not perfect. I have some clutter hanging around that needs to get gone.

I have too much in the way of clothing. I am a simple jeans and t-shirt kind of guy. So why in the hell do I have 20 button up shirts?? I am sure three or four would be enough.

Sorry, I digress.

Here are some benefits of being clutter free and getting rid of some of your stuff.

  • Life feels better when you live in uncluttered space.
  • Having fewer possessions means easier cleaning and less maintenance, which means more free time.
  • If you sell your possessions, you can make some extra money.
  • If you donate or give away your possessions, you give them life with someone who needs them.
  • You create space to breathe, to create, to contemplate, to read, to relax.
  • Eventually you could move to a smaller space, saving you tons of money.

My senior citizen neighbors hold regular yard sales. Just last Saturday he told me they made over 200.00$! Not too shabby.

Living a minimalist lifestyle is whatever you need or want it to be for you. I happen to enjoy clutter free living and having minimal possessions. I like the open space.

You may choose a different form of minimalist living and that is okay.

But I think we can all see that less is indeed more when it comes to possessions.

So do you have items you know you should part with but can’t seem to?

What room in your place needs a serious decluttering?

Please share this post and please share your thoughts and tips in the comments.

Thanks and have an awesome day. I know I am!

“Live Simply”

13 thoughts on “Minimalist Living Lessons Learned From American Pickers

  1. My house looks pretty uncluttered, but there is still clutter lurking behind closed doors. I keep whittling away at things, but there are still things I have but never use, like old video game systems, toys, and books. Oh and there is the walk up attic that still has a decent amount of my stuff in it. It’s easy to say I might as well keep it “just in case” since I have the out-of-the-way space.

  2. @Candi.

    I have the same problem, a big container of old video game systems and another filled with wires and power adapters of all sorts. I’m about to get rid of it all. This has taken a few months. You start with three piles. Keep, toss or donate, and unsure. I have donated clothes and other things the best I can. Some stuff unfortunately hit the land fill. I keep going back to the unsure box and letting things go one at a time. The other recommendation I like is if you haven’t found a use for an item in six months, it may be time to rid it from your life. You can always replace an item cheaply in the future if needed.

  3. I agree with you about not keeping things that are not needed….My house is full of junk..and every time I tell my mom to throw out or sell something, she comes up with a reason not to 😛 I try to keep my room as less cluttery as possible, and its a great feeling…Its like suddenly you have more air to breathe 😛

  4. After my fiancee moved in, most of my items moved into the new “man cave.” It’s too cluttered a space, but I honestly can’t think of too much I want to part with! I have my hunting and beer-brewing supplies, books, desk and computer. Maybe it’s the clothes. I have a lot of clothes, somehow. Having a cluttered man cave doesn’t stress me out, but I completely see the peace of mind that comes with having fewer things to organize, clean, and worry about. http://www.mindfulstew.wordpress.com.

  5. I seriously decluttered my bedroom. I donated everything I haven’t touched in the last few months. It sounds strange…but I REALLY can breath easier in that room now and feel more calm.

  6. My latest major decluttering was getting rid of unfinished art projects and the supplies that went with them. I donated them to a theater that will find ways to use them. Finally there is room in my space to breathe, and to work on current projects without ghosts of the past taking up space and my energy. I have also had a wonderful time donating and selling all the work clothes that I don’t need any more. I have room in closets and drawers, and I still have all the clothes I think I’ll ever need until the end of time. My goal is to be conscious of all my possessions. If I cannot remember that I have it I doubt that I need it.

  7. Like everyone else, I like collecting certain stuff. To me, it’s clothing and books. In my quest to live simply, I cope with my urge to collecting by doing two things: (1) Setting up a thrift store at a section of my business outlet that sells most of the stuff I do not use that others can make use of at a very affordable price. and (2) I have a Pinterest account where I can just hoard all the beautiful things I want. It doesn’t take up space and it doesn’t break the bank!

    “If you like something and it is beautiful, then by all means have it.

    If you actually use an item, then of course you should have it on hand for when you need it.”

    I like this. It’s real. Thank you for sharing.

Share your thoughts!

