Here is a comment I received recently

A good friend of mine started “The Summer of 1000 Things” about three years ago. She challenges us all to get rid of 1000 things each summer. It sounds like a lot but when you can hit that number just clearing out an old desk or dresser once you start thinking dried up pens and markers, bottles of paint or nail polish, mismatched socks, etc. It really is amazing what we keep for no good reason whatsoever. My whole basement is full of “just in case I need it” items. I’m trying. It’s amazing how emotional it is to let go of things. Thanks for the inspiration! I’ll be following you!

How cool is this idea?!

So instead of focusing on having just a certain number of items, maybe we can focus on getting rid of the stuff we just no longer need or have a use for.

Here is how I am doing this:

I simply have a giant storage container and anything I come across that no longer has any use goes into the container. It is an ongoing process.

That’s it. So simple.

So what do you think about this idea for helping to declutter and get rid of unwanted items?

Are you in for the Challenge?

Let me know what you think in the comments.

Please share this post and while you’re at it do what all the smart kids are doing and Like it too!

Thanks and have an awesome day.

Live simply

52 thoughts on “The Summer of 1000 Things Challenge

  1. I like this idea. Despite getting so rid of so much stuff this past year in preparation for moving onto my boat, now that we’re finally aboard I realise we still have way too much stuff for the small amount of storage space we have. We’ve found a buyer for our car, and we’re getting rid of it in about two week’s time. So here’s what I’m going to do. I’m going to further declutter my boat, transfer what I no longer need to my car, and when I’m driving the car to its new owner I’ll drop all that unnecessary stuff off at a charity shop. I probably won’t hit 1000, but I might surprise myself!
    Martina

  2. I guess it depends how you count the 1000 things. Does one chopstick count, or the set of two? I stopped counting my books as part of my 365 item decluttering challenge because I realized that I would end up just declutting 365 books and nothing else! good challenge though. The idea is to push ourselves to get rid of stuff. Even if we can’t hit 1000…or 365.

    1. I say count them by whatever method suits you best. If I tried to get rid of 1,000 things, I would quickly run out. If I counted a pair of shoes as two shoes and two shoelaces, I might be able to meet such a goal. 😉

  3. I have never counted the number of things I own or got rid of. I don’t drive so rely on charities collecting so usually a bag load or four goes out every month

  4. I have never done things by numbers, but I think I may have already gone throught more than 1000 items. . . it certainly has been a lot of bag loads

  5. I have just moved for the third time is five years. Each time I move, I move the same unopened boxes from my childhood. Boxes, boxes and boxes….. I should throw them out and not even open them!

  6. I will definitely try it! I already purged my half of the closet last week and got rid of 26 items!! Probably more but these are all the items I remember.

    Crazy how once we get rid of it, we don’t really miss it, and almost forget about it.

    1. So true. I have an old snow blower that i have not used in two years that will hopefully be sold this weekend. I will take fifty bucks for it. I won’t miss it and fifty dollars is fifty dollars.

  7. Reblogged this on Little Yellow Cottage and commented:
    1000 things sounds like a lot, but it is exciting at the same time wondering if I would be able to reach this number, if I were to embark on this project.
    What do you think?

  8. I love this idea because I love giving or throwing things away. Trouble is, sometimes I look for things later I didn’t know I would need. The other problem is, “things” keep coming in unbidden. Like a friend just sent me every letter I had ever written to her since 1978! There are probably 1,000 there.

  9. Reblogged this on The Reality of White Picket Fences and commented:
    This sounds like a good idea… especially for me! ( I tend to hold on to things) I might give this a go… along with my “Use a Bike as Transportation for the Entire Summer” goal.

  10. My 2011 resolution was to “get rid of or use up one-third of my worldly goods.” It was amazing how much freedom came with the space it all occupied! I also started a habit of keeping a “Goodwill bag” in an easily accessible place, and throughout the course of the day I find things to put in it. I drop a bag off three or four times a month. It has made such a difference in my home. 🙂

  11. I’ve been working at this for a while now too. I’m moving out of my house and will be traveling for a month. Next week I’ll begin the challenge of “What do I really need to take with me?” Wish me luck.

  12. Giving away is an ongoing process. The challenge for me is to decide what to keep that might come in useful later as I believe that part of a minimalist lifestyle is to avoid buying stuff over and over again. But the problem is that often the stuff that I have kept to use is stuck so deep in the bottom of a box that when it comes time to use it, I cant find it and end up buying more of the same….again….What to do?????

  13. I’ll have to make mine a Winter of 1000 Things Challenge but I like the sound of this. I’ve been aiming for 50 things a week since reading an earlier post or comment on your blog. I haven’t done it religiously but it has made me think about ‘stuff’ as I walk past things or reach into drawers to grab something else. I often see something and think “yep, I could get rid of that” and I do.

  14. Yes, I was so desperate to simplify and declutter that I opened a shop so I can sell it. And really I don’t care about the money. It was a very emotional thing. My house was just jammed, packed with all this stuff that was my Mother’s and Grandmother’s. (God rest their souls.) I couldn’t let go of it. (them?) I would place a few items in the donate box every month but it just wasn’t enough. My friend’s say I’m good at decluttering but in this case it just wasn’t happening. Now, I’m like a little ant carrying an armload of stuff from the house to the shop every day. And whatever doesn’t sell will be donated. It will NOT come back to the house! *smile*

    Thank you for the encouragement! It is so necessary. All the stuff we have creates an emotional bondage that prevents our lives from being free. Keep it up! I need all the help I can get!!!

  15. I’m going to try this as I pack up my belongings for a move this week… there can’t be a better time to purge a bit then when I’m getting everything out to shuffle it to a new place. Thanks! Live light and prosper 🙂

  16. We moved into a smaller abode about 6 months ago… we still have boxes that haven’t been unpacked (partly because we don’t have the space for the stuff, partly because we ran out of energy for the unpacking). I’d say the majority of the stuff in the boxes we don’t need to keep anymore (we haven’t used it for 6 months, and to be honest I’m not even sure of what is in some of them!), the occasional thing may be kept for sentimentality, but otherwise, it needs to go. This post has given me a bit of a rev up to stop ignoring the boxes and deal with the contents, one way or the other.

  17. This is a fantastic idea! I’m up for the challenge! I’ve been trying to calculate just how much stuff my husband and I have accumulated and the number just astounds me. Now that I have to actually be accountable for it, it’ll make my life change much easier. Thank you!

  18. I am in the process of decluttering at the moment. It is ongoing as I have a five year old who has not got a concept of minimalist living herself. In fact, she is the ultimate consumer/materialist. So, I often do it by stealth. However, she does routinely go through her own stuff and assign things to our charity box, once she decides she is now to old for them. Then of course I have to remember to move the contents of the box to the charity. What fun!

    1. When my kids where a little younger and still believed in Santa, I would encourage them to gather a sack of goods from their rooms to give to charity before christmas each year. My argument was that when Santa sees all the stuff that they have he would no doubt fly right by. No toys needed there.! It was a great was to redistribute to those in need and clear out at the same time. It also helped plant seeds of giving into their little hearts. Now they do it willingly each year as a routine, Santa or not.

  19. I am new to minimalism but committed after being suffocated for years by all of our crap. Round One of the purging process we’ll hit over 1,000 items (they are currently stacking up in our living room waiting to be picked up and hauled off for a local battered women’s shelter). I think the big challenge for us will be in Round Two when we get to the nitty gritty and go through every single drawer and shelf. But, I’ll play. I’m not going to count every item that we get rid of in Round One (it would take forever). Round Two I’ll start counting, but that will likely not start until July (I’m having major surgery June 4th). Love the blog, by the way.

  20. I don’t think that I can get rid of 1000 items this summer, no matter how you count them. I’m a big believer of the, doing something is better than doing nothing and if I do something, overtime and can do it better or more of it. I’ve done this with running over the past 9 years.
    Maybe I can rid of 100 items? I’m working on my shed right now. Lots of old plant pots and broken stuff that can go into the recycle bin.
    It’s a start. And in my book the first step is the most important one.

      1. One can only hope! It’s really sad when I drive by those self-storage places. I know most of the stuff in them is just junk that no one will ever use again. And on top of that, the storage facility is often built on previously unused land.

  21. I read your blog and have challenged my husband to 1000 things each. We’ve formed teams with our children so it’s girls versus boys, though we do have to change the season as we’re in a different hemisphere, so we’ve got 1000 things of winter. I’m sure the girls are going to get there first!

    1. What an awesome idea! You have taken the Challenge to a whole new level. This comment should help to inspire others and give them some great ideas for getting started with decluttering and getting rid of unwanted items.

      Where are you?

      1. We’re in Sydney, Australia, and just waiting for the 1st of June (the official start of winter) to start the competition. I’m just writing a blog post about it now. My little girl is starting to stockpile stuff ready for the competition to start!

  22. I started this challenge on June 1st and will have a post up fairly soon about my progress. It’s a fantastic idea and I’ll make sure to link back to your blog for it!! Cheers 🙂

  23. I hate clutter, and find a cluttered house does, in fact, make a cluttered mind. Why then, is my house one big “clutter”? I am so overwhelmed with it that I don’t know where to begin. Think I may have to set myself a challenge……

  24. I would, but I’m not sure I OWN more than 1000 items. However I do purge pretty routinely. One in two out is one of my personal mantras. 🙂

  25. I have been clearing out my home of unwanted things for almost two years now. I moved to a different country, which really helped me cut back on my material possessions (I moved with just one suitcase of things!). Now, I sort out my clothes every spring and autumn, and only buy things for the house that I need. It’s such a relief to be living with just the essentials!

Share your thoughts!

