If a 41 year old man who works in a Michelin tire factory can make a DIY homemade salt and sugar scrub then anyone can make it.

I am becoming increasingly concerned about the chemicals that are used in commercial over the counter personal care products.

All of these chemicals just cannot be good for the human body.

I want to be healthy.

And of course I also want to be true to my minimalist lifestyle and am trying to be frugal too.

So I decided to make my own body scrub.

Here is what I did.

I got a small jar and put in two tablespoons of sugar and two table spoons of salt. I added three tablespoons of organic coconut oil and three tablespoons of extra virgin olive oil.

I wanted some kind of a fruit in there as well so I mashed up a banana and threw that in too! Hell why not? I then stored my homemade body scrub in the fridge.

It was amazing!

I cannot believe how wonderful my skin felt after my next shower. So soft and smooth.

I get filthy at work and the sugar and salt in the scrub definitely did the trick in getting me clean. The coconut and olive oils are obviously what added the smoothness and softness.

Well worth the ten minutes I spent to make my own body scrub.

My next DIY homemade body scrub will be a brown sugar, honey and olive oil scrub. I can’t wait to try it out.

What do you think?

Have you ever made your own personal care products?

What are your favorite ingredients to use in your DIY body scrubs?

Please share this post and be sure to share your thoughts in the comments.

Thanks and have an awesome day.

“Live simply”

16 thoughts on “DIY Homemade Body Scrub

  1. I actually make a few homemade body products. The sugar scrub, a foot soak, honey & yogurt masks, toothpaste, the options are endless. I have an herb garden which I add to my body products. Once you start doing it and realizing how much money you save, it’s fun and you can make it just for you or your family.

  2. I’m a Registered Aromatherapist who works in hospice and routinely blends salts, cremes, sprays, etc. for our patients. You can also add a few drops of essential oils for any number of things you’d like to address and they will also make your product smell amazing while the oils are working through your system. You can blend something to de-stress or if starting your day, something to help wake you up. Well done on your first try!

  3. Brilliant. I usually make my own scrub when I can. A mixture of honey or salt mixed with olive oil and some lemon juice. Also for smooth skin, after you use your shower gel, scrub some peanut butter (with nuts, for exfoliation) all over your skin and then rinse. You will come out with silky smooth skin (that smells wonderful) and no need to moisturise after 🙂

  4. Ooh you’ve inspired me to make a facemask using strawberries (going beyond their nicest in the fridge) and yogurt (I bought the wrong one). Instead of wasting them I will use them on my face, thank you! And the scrub sounds divine, when my shop-bought one has run out I will definitely be trying my own.

  5. I love making my own lotion. The stuff bought at the store smells great, but always leaves me feeling greasy. Stuff made from home is thick, creamy, and feels luxurious – and only needs water, a certain kind of wax, and oil. Love it!

Share your thoughts!

