We hear it all the time.

“Just enjoy the moment. You have so much to be thankful for.”

Yup I do.

I know this.

So why am I always looking to something else? Something more. Something different.

For me it is moving to a more “exotic” location.

Maybe it is my Saggitatarian nature. I don’t know.

What I do know is that I am driving my girlfriend bananas with all this talk of leaving and moving to Ecuador(or where ever).

I am constantly accused of being “unsettled”. And I guess it is true.

I just want to be able to enjoy life and certainly I have moments of enjoyment here. There are just not enough of them.

I mean last weekend was incredible. A long weekend from work with four days of sun. I went to the beach every day.

Sigh.

I just want that every day.

Springlike weather. Lower cost of living.

I hate being told that this is unrealistic or unachievable.

I don’t think I have enough time left here to save enough to have a decent retirement here in Nova Scotia. I am trying. I really am.

I put 400.00$ in investments every two weeks on payday. Plus some other money comes off my paycheck and goes somewhere at work.

But the cost of living here in out of control.

I have no intention of trying to stay at Michelin until I am 60 or older.

I want to live now.

Of course life is what we make it. I know, I know!

So even though I consider myself to have a simple life(I am simple all right), I want it to be even more simple. More minimalist.

I am a dreamer. The grass is always greener and all that.

Maybe some of it comes from the fact that I have made some bad decisions over the years and still have regret and guilt over these decisions.

So in that regard maybe I am trying to escape my past.

Trying to get a fresh start perhaps.

Is any of this making sense? Please help!!

Or am I completely out to lunch? Well I know the answer to that question!

I have that dream to be location independent and I want realize that dream. I want to actually do something worthwhile with my life.

Just sitting around sort of barely existing isn’t really doing it for me these days.

So is there a solution?

What advice do the wise people out there have for me?

Please share your thoughts in the comments and please share this post.

Thanks.

“Live Simply”

38 thoughts on “Is It Hard To Enjoy The Moment?

  1. Sagitarians are creative visionaries. Do you have a personal vision and mission statement? Mine are: Vision: igniting the power and passion in others. Mission: to relate with, promote and build community wherever I am. These are good to have because they can be practised anywhere I am. I too, have a dream of tropical beaches. I want to buy a drinking hole for tourists and locals in the Dominican. I would hire locals, pay fair wages, create a vibrant community by empowering others to roll up their sleeves and make a difference!

  2. When I as young (20), i got a job and traveled the USA doing that job..it was fun and I got the opportunity to go places I never would have gone without the JOB..One drawback, we were only in one city for a few days and then it was on to another …I did get to spend a week in New York City, that was something I had wanted to do..and I traveled to 20 different states..
    Keep in mind if you decide to look for such a job..it’s expensive to stay in hotels..and traveling costs money, so you want the job to pay your expenses and pay you and if possible give you a food allowance..I don’t know how old you are, but if you are ready to run from your job, then make the plans and decide where it is that you want to run to and talk to people who live there and get some feedback..facebook makes that part easy..
    Enjoy your adventure..

  3. If I had an answer for you, I would be doing it myself. You are not alone. But I think you are right – live in the present and try to cut back on things that you don’t really need. Live simply so that others may simply live, right? Thanks for making me feel like I am not the only one…

  4. Change of culture / country / lifestyle is a huge step but not an impossible one. There is an argument for ‘grass is not greener on the other side and that we create our own happiness’, but there is also the fact that some types of lifestyle and ‘ways of being’ suit certain personalities types better than others. When faced with these kinds of decisions I take a good strong look at how much time I have left on The Planet, best case scenario….and match that with, “you can’t take it with you”. This generally results in the answer I need.

  5. Your sagitarrius energy probably has a lot to do with that (my dad is one and I see his adventurous and dreaming nature at play every day!) I’m an aries and definitely feel a strong need to hone in all my energy to the proper areas! Keep dreaming and taking small steps toward your goals. I had “Be Here Now” tattooed on my wrist at a time when I felt I needed to feel more anchored… what I joke to my family/friends is my anti-anxiety reminder. All we have is now. Good luck with all your plans and exploring… seek balance and stay rooted in now and all you have come through thus far.

  6. To have a more minimalist lifestyle, it seems as if it’d be easier to acheive in a country outside of the US and Canada, where it can be difficult to escape consumerism and higher costs of living. Maybe you’re on to something.
    I can’t imagine moving so far away from friends and family to acheive a “simpler” life myself, however.

  7. Oh my goodness! What a fabulous video! I once lived on the east coast and now live in mid America. You soooo make me homesick for the ocean! I am 84 and unable to travel, but if I was younger, I’d love to do just what you dream of doing. When we were younger, my husband and I moved several times in the U.S. and I don’t regret it. It was good to experience different cultures and learn to live in those cultures. Made us stronger and more enriched. I can’t tell you what to do. If you can afford it, and nothing but uncertainty is stopping you, then listen to your heart. And whatever you decide, I wish you happiness and contentment.

  8. I’m facing a siimilar dilemma – I too, dream of a different life-style, maybe in a new location, with the people I love so I can spend more time with them because that’s what is important to me. It’s possible, but daunting. Being a bit of a control freak – I like carefully laid plans. If I can plan it, I can do it. What would you need to do to make the move possible? Is there a magic number in terms of money? Can you support yourself in your ideal location? Do you speak the language, have special skills, have a support network there? Can you leave behind what you currently have? Friends? Job? Family? It’s great to dream, but it can get frustrating if you’re having the same dream and not seeing it get any closer. I would develop a plan and a timeline…I’m working on my own, now! Good Luck!

  9. I think that it’s really easy for us to get stuck living somewhere and think that that’s our only option. What I’m noticing in my life is that I have tremendous freedom in terms of time and what I choose to do with my life. But this life of mine isn’t for everyone. I live very simply in South America on $200 a month. Maybe it’s a matter of discovering our own personal formula of what makes us tick and thrive, and then working our way into that reality. I’m confident you’ll discover what works for you.

    1. This would appear to be what I am seeking. The opportunity to live simply with lower expenses. 200.00 dollars a month sounds pretty darn good to me!
      Where in South America is this possible??

      1. I live La Paz, Bolivia. The $200 could actually be lower. Last year I went back home and brought back a 3K debt (yeah, instead of savings). So $60 of that $200 goes to the debt payment (bleack). Bolivia is unique in that they have something here called anticreditico (anticredit). You can give an owner of a house or apartment or room say $6,000 up to $20,000 or more and you live in the space without paying anything else but your utilities. When you’re done living there, i.e. your contract is up, they give you back the money. All of it. No lie. It’s like you’re letting them use a bulk of money for you to live rent-free. ….Now the down side of living here… Paperwork is hell and can get drawn out and complicated. Also, the adaptation of moving to a new planet can be rough, especially if there are strong emotional ties to one’s country of origin. Some people adapt quickly. Some, like me, can take quite a few years to feel contented and planted… Great stuff about Bolivia: the food is amazing. You can shop in markets and never have to go to a grocery store. You don’t need a car. Public transportation here is wonderful and economical. You can often walk to get where you want to go. There is always something going on. English teachers and tutors are in pretty steady demand here. I think it’s best, though, if income comes from another source, like working online…. Ahh, and it helps a lot to be able to speak and understand Spanish, at least basically. So, that’s my take on this little corner of the world. Final note: simplicity for me isn’t a fancy. It’s what I do for sanity and contentment and happiness. I find that the less I truly need, including food cravings, the freer I am. I think I equate contentment and happiness with freedom, especially the freedom to discover and know and be and do “who I truly am”.

  10. I love all these responses! Sometimes I feel the same way, that life is short and I need to live it now. I feel “stuck” sometimes: stuck by student loans (mostly) and bills and what other people think of me. It is mostly the student loans right now. I would LOVE to not work 9-5 but have odd jobs, create my own work and live in happiness. IF I didn’t have debt. Are you stuck by something, a bill or otherwise?
    But like inspirationnet said, I am a control freak, too. How careful do your plans need to be set? If you have to set plans, then begin to dream and research.
    Even if you don’t have set plans, do that! It can help you figure out if these things are even possible. I have wild ideas all the time, but when I research, I find out the true answers about if it will work or not.
    And sometimes, if I know my true passion can’t work out in real life (or at least for a few more years), I try to supplement it with like things. I farm on a CSA once a week. I go to festivals with like-minded people. Plan vacations to live in that harmony, or read about it.
    Maybe, if you can’t take a huge risk right now, fill your life with the little things that reminds you of it, until you can have it all.

    1. I love your advice, and completely agree. I find for me it’s all about balance. After teaching for three years, I needed to get away. So I did. I packed up and moved to Italy with a suitcase and a dream. The problem is you’ve got to be stable in some sense to earn a living. After 10 months abroad, I found myself envying the stable life again. It’s really true that the grass is always greener-but you have to cross the fence to know that it’s true and to feel content on either side. Now that I’ve lived a more transitory lifestyle, I can be happy in my choice for a more stable one, knowing how lonely and disconnected I felt when I was moving around so much. When you’re mobile, the trade-off is consistent relationships-even with technology, it’s hard to have them.
      Now I’m fairly stable. I have a job that I love deeply but gets very stressful. In my times I have off, I devote myself to being more creative and letting go of all the logistical planning I have to do on a daily basis. there are certainly days when I feel like taking off again, but now I have those moments of intense loneliness to remember and to remind myself of the reality of constant travel. I’ve realized I can find that sense of adventure in my current life. My biggest realization is how much time we waste. I think it’s more about devoting your free time to productive things moving toward a personal interest rather than just daydreaming and watching t.v. or surfing the net. For example, right now I’d like to learn Turkish. I just spent 3 hours surfing the net and not actually studying it. I would feel more fulfilled if I had actually taken concrete steps instead of daydreaming about it and then getting distracted. Don’t get me wrong- daydreams have their place- but I find that doing something toward making the daydreams happen in a realistic way keeps me more fulfilled. Rather than dreaming about moving to Turkey, it’s about organizing my life so I can take a guilt-free trip there and fully enjoy when I do.
      This was really a ramble but thanks for the post!

    2. Yes maybe I feel a bit stuck or something as well. I am not getting any younger and feel as though time is running out. But I realize that this is just a perspective I have at this point in time.

  11. I am now 45. I left the US–and my marriage–for six years when I was 36 as I could no longer stand what you are feeling. I have to say it was a brilliant decision and I implore you to go for it. I would be there now but the relationship I had there ended (he was an alcoholic) and there was no way of supporting myself since the economy had tanked just before I left him and the work permit system is a pain in the ass. BUT do not let that discourage you. You can find work despite the rules in any country, I’m quite confident. If I had chosen to stay with an alcoholic, I would still be in Ireland. There are FAR BETTER PLACES than North America to live. Anyone who says the grass is always greener has either small horizons OR is bitter that they never attempted to live among the greener grass. Believe me, the greener grass exists. Even though every country has issues, the US irritates me daily and deeply in major ways and I would leave tomorrow if I chose to do that. At this point, I am just trying to figure out what to do next but one of my choices is to get the hell out again and never return. You can always find work or a way to make it work in another country. Worst case scenario is you decide to come back to North America. But life is too short. I, like you, have some regrets in my life. But not moving to another country is happily not one of them since I made the decision to do it. NO OTHER WOMAN I KNOW would leave mid-life, risking the economic situation I had built up with my husband. So I am proud of myself I did it. I just went for my dream, JUST FOLLOWED my gut. I didn’t use the fact that I was starting over economically and in every other way to make me fearful to live my dream. I heartily encourage YOU to live your dream. Most other countries in the world value life over killing yourself at a job. I know Ireland did. You will find amazing joy in living in such a culture. Good luck in making your decision. If your significant other wants to accompany you, that’s great. If not, go yourself. My husband told me that as much as he didn’t want to lose me, he did not want to keep me here. That is true love: not treating a person as a freaking possession. We were separated for the years I was gone–both allowed to date others–but then decided to get back together. The separation was a very positive thing. So go for your goals!!!!!

    1. Good grief. How amazing is this!!

      I am so honored that you(and everyone else) has commented.

      A lot of days I do want to just go. What is the worst that could happen?

      North America in general irritates me.

      I want to like it here and I want to like my job but it is increasingly difficult to do so.

      Thanks so much for sharing your thoughts.

  12. Yes, I have some of those same kind of ideas. I call it fast forward thinking. And it can be a great attibute or a dismal challenge. I spent a number of years studying spirituality, reading and discussing many avenues of thought. Previously I was a buy the book kind of person. All kinds of rules and schedules to live by. But totally miserable stuck in my little box. Then this new way of thinking came upon me. “Do what makes you happy!” Because that’s what Providence wants for us. However, It must be balanced with consequenses. I have worked the corporate world until I fell in illness. I have bartered a living until I was tired of being poor. Then, back to corporate America. Now, I’ve started a business that is failing miserably. But mostly I am happy. I tried it! And it has given me an experience to look back on fondly. Next, I must eagarly and quickly find a job. All my experiences in life come together to make me the person I seek to be. One with no reqrets. Just make sure your dream is valid and you identify what it is you are really looking for. Usually it’s happiness. And I will promise you a change in venue will not create it. You will find it within.

  13. I read a lot of blogs. I’ve found yours a few weeks ago and read every post with high attention. But I’ll tell you, this post and commenter’s stirs me deeply. I’ve read and re-read it several times since yesterday. It has come to mind often. It’s changing me, bringing me back to who I am and what’s important to me. Can’t thank you enough for this honest, daring, thought-provoking post and blog.

    “Never be afraid to touch your dreams.” That was the advice I was given just before I sold most everything I owned and just left it all to do something I really wanted to, go somewhere I really wanted to go. I learned great things about myself and life. I had extraordinary adventures along with some very challenging problems to resolve. What I did, did have consequences that were very difficult to live through, but if I hadn’t tried it I’d died never knowing (lyric from an England, Dan and John Ford Coley song). It was worth it all. I’d do it all again. I have little regret.

    In fact, I have a feeling that is why your post is stirring me so deeply. I might just need to repeat that scenario of the early 90’s and just bolt….again. Thinking….

  14. I know what you mean about the cost of living getting out of control – I’m just over a few provinces in Saskatchewan and it was really not that long ago that houses were under $100k for a decent house and now they are easily over $350k for the same house! Things are massively out of control here, and it’s not just the houses, it’s everything. With that being said there are a lot of good things about living in Canada too so before you jump to leaving make sure you are making a well informed decision. I know many people from other countries who have moved here and just love it, and others who have moved here thinking it would be better and then moved back home because it wasn’t what they expected – I am sure it would be no different for us moving to another country. I guess it’s important to consider do you really want to move to a given country or do you really want to move to an idealized version of a country? A place can look great from the outside but living there can be quite another thing. We get irritated with North America because we already know all of the negative aspects but a foreign country won’t always offer it’s negative features to an outsider, but other than that if you’ve done your research and know for sure it’s what you want, work towards it!

    1. I guess with me I am tired of living in a so called “have not ” province. We have the highest taxes in Canada and there have been lots of cuts lately.

      My girlfriend made the exact same arguments that you are making in regards to an idealized version of a location.

      Thanks so much for your perspective and comments.

      Greatly appreciated

      Mark

  15. Pingback: Minimalist Living
  16. Recently a frien d reminded me that, where satisfaction is concerned, there appears to be two dominant toes of personalities: those who have the ability to find joy in every experienced moment and those who always feel unsettled, expect more. The former remind us to appreciate it all. The latter help us change and get things done.

Share your thoughts!

