how to feel alive

What do rock concerts, making love, travel, and following your passions all have in common?

They have a tendency to make us feel more alive.

I don’t do enough to feel alive. There I said it. I sit around way too much. Now there is something to be said for doing nothing but I do nothing way too often.

And the thing is I often complain about how there is nothing to do. Can you believe that?? Sad I know.

Life is actually quite short. Hell something crazy could happen and I could be gone tomorrow.

So what are some things that can be done to feel more alive?

Rock concerts are just one of those things that make you feel alive. Most concerts we get here in Nova Scotia or close by are rather pricey, but it is usually worth it. I quite like the energy of the crowd, the loudness and of course the music.

I suppose it does not have to be a full blown concert. Even a night out of dancing will do it for me. I certainly gets my juices flowing and makes me feel good.

That’s what rock concerts have in common with having sex and getting exercise. They make us feel alive, and they make us wonder why we don’t do them more often.

Those three things aren’t the only simple ways to feel alive, either. Here are 10 things you can do to feel a rush of life . It’s the simple things in life, you know?

What would be on your list? Let me know in the comments!

  • Get close to nature
    Hiking, camping(going camping this weekend even though I am not a HUGE fan of camping) and anything else that gets you out of the concrete jungle for a while is a fantastic way to clear your head and remember you’re part of a living planet. For bonus points, go backpacking and spend the night without any electricity or modern conveniences.
  • Start a workout routine
    It doesn’t take long to start to feel the high from a regular workout routine. It doesn’t have to be anything specific (jogging, weights, spin or yoga are all good candidates), just work out regularly. And you don’t need to spring for a gym membership! I just got done doing some push ups and step ups on a BOSU for 20 minutes. I was dripping at the end of the session and I felt great. For free.
  • Get it on

    Make love, have sex, do it, whatever you want to call it. You will feel great and feel closer to your partner. If you have one that is.

  • Spend a day at the beach
    I am so fortunate to live where I do. Awesome white sand beaches are just minutes away. The sun, the surf, the sand and the sound of waves crashing always stimulate my senses and get the blood flowing. Sit and relax or play some volleyball or frisbee, go for a jog or do some surfing while you’re there. Sigh.
  • Get your groove on
    I love music. It moves me. I love dancing. My son thinks I am fool. A 41 year old just dancing around our place. But it makes me feel good so screw it. Dance like no one is watching.
  • Travel somewhere new and “dangerous”
    I love to travel and I realize that it will probably cost some money to do it but we only go around once. I personally want to see as much of the earth as possible before my time is up.
  • Go skiing or snowboarding
    Okay so I am not a big fan of the colder months but there probably is something about that cold air and the rush of going at a high speed that gets people going so I get it. I may need to step outside my comfort zone and actually do this one and see if it works for me. I have done some cliff jumping in Jamaica and it was a rush.
  • Attend a rock concert
    The crowd, the energy, the music. And maybe sex! Hey we can combine more than one thing you know!
  • Go for a swim
    I prefer swimming in the ocean. There’s something about giving in to the sheer power of water that puts everything in perspective.
  • Play an organized sport
    It doesn’t matter what just get out and try something. Flag football, ultimate Frisbee, an organized Dodgeball league, whatever the sport, doing something organized with a team is a life-affirming experience.

    What makes you feel alive? Please share your ideas!

    “Live Simply”

13 thoughts on “10 Ways To Feel More Alive

  1. Play some music, if you can or learn to play an instrument. Also, watching airplanes land and take off somewhere near an airport. Photography too; just going out to take some snaps with no particular plan. And a little gardening, even if it’s just planted a flower in a pot, or pulling some weeds does the trick for me, and I’m not much of a gardener. And yes, I concur that concerts are special. I’ll be going to see Yes this summer. . .

  2. Concerts, sex, travel and dancing- definitely amazing! Now if I can go to a concert in another country and dance while. .. well, you get the picture. LOL

  3. When I’ve been depressed I’ve found that the prospect of organising something like going for a swim appears to be too challenging for me to deal with. Personally I’ve found that even simpler things, that can be done with even less preparatory effort, are worth bearing in mind, such as a bout of tickling with my favourite tickle partner.

  4. Dancing – definitely don’t do enough of that. Live music – doesn’t have to be a rock concert – fortunately there are some free music venues near us. Nature – birdwatching – never know what those critters are going to do or what you’re going to see. Fortunately, I get to be outside as often as the weather permits. Animals – miss horseback riding as I don’t get to ride as often as I used to, but I sure enjoy the unconditional love of my little dog.

  5. Great post & great advice. Love going to music shows, especially hard-rock & metal. My family is currently on a quest to see as many waterfalls as possible in our area of the Appalachian mountains. The kids love it and we get to spend quality time together getting exercise and enjoying nature.

  6. Running makes me feel alive, especially when running with friends. I love working in my garden also. Nothing like the smell of the soil and making something grow. Love all the other stuff on your list also, but don’t get to enjoy them as often.

Share your thoughts!

