The brain is an amazing thing. It processes millions and billions bits of information every second.

Your brain and the way the think about your life is what makes your life what it is.

You are a product of your thoughts and of course your thoughts are a result of all you have experienced in your life.

So how is minimalist living or living at least a more simple life the answer to the problems you may be experiencing right now?

Well a lot of us go through ups and downs during our lives. But it amazes it how generally unhappy a lot of us seem to be. We have so much. so much to be thankful for. But we forget this don’t we?

We tend to focus on what we don’t have. We think we don’t have enough money, enough good looks, enough of a house, enough success. We don’t have a good enough job or the a good relationship.

I would bet that most of us have more than enough. We have so much stuff. More than we could ever need or use.

But the more we strive to achieve “success” the more we come away feeling unfulfilled, insecure and unhappy.

How can that be?

Well there is more to life than just having stuff, a high paying job, cars, boats, vacations. You have to have an actual purpose. You have to have meaning. A reason for existing.

So if it seems to be true than financial success and the acquiring of stuff tends to leave us unfulfilled and generally unhappy, then the opposite must also be true: Living a more minimalist lifestyle will help to put things in perspective.

So many people who give up the big house, the big salary, the boats and cars in exchange for living a simple life find that they are actually happier.

Minimalist living is the solution to the problems you are experiencing. Slow down. Take a breath. Meditate. Sit quietly and read a book. Get rid of stuff you no longer need. Take stock of your job, your life, your relationships.

Is there an area of your life you are not quite satisfied with? Trust me you are not alone.

Mass consumerism as happiness maker is one of the greatest lies we have ever been told of course.

Slow down and take a look at it. You have the power to change it. Your brain believes whatever you tell it to believe. Or maybe you believe whatever your brain tells you.

There is so much opportunity out there to take advantage of. There ARE good people out there. You have so much much to be thankful for.

I would love for you to share this post with everyone you know. And I love hearing what you have to say so please comment.

Thanks.

“Live Simply”

19 thoughts on “No Matter The Problem, Minimalist Living Is The Solution

  1. Excellent post. A reminder to those of us who know, and a heads-up to those that haven’t yet realized that the vicious circle of consumerism is much like a dog chasingits own tail. Of course the dog eventually gets tired and gives up – some people will continue to chase their tails right into the (often early) grave.

  2. My clutter is one of the biggest burdens of my life. I hate myself for it, but I haven’t yet conquered it. Every so often, I clean out some stuff, but never enough. And you are right, all this stuff doesn’t bring me happiness. Thank you for your post.

  3. My clutter is one of the biggest burdens of my life. I hate myself for it, but I haven\’t yet conquered it. Every so often, I clean out some stuff, but never enough. And you are right, all this stuff doesn’t bring me happiness. Thank you for your post.

  4. I enjoy reading your blog and the advice you offer. Question. Are you sharing your personal views or are you a trained psychologist?

  5. Hi, Mark – I really enjoy your site. I am nominating your blog for the One Lovely Blog peer award!
    Here are the Rules of Acceptance:
    • Thank the person/people who nominated you and link back to them in your post.
    • Share seven possibly unknown things about yourself.
    • Nominate 15 or so bloggers you admire.
    • Contact the chosen bloggers to let them know you have nominated them and link back to them.

  6. very true, I’m happy with little in life. I admit I would like a way to have a earn money, either by writing or enough so I could concentrate on writing, but I don’t wish for a lot.

  7. I get confused about the occasional thing that seems to push me away from minimalism, like the fact that my husband and I both have multiple food allergies. There’s no way to get around owning two of every kitchen gadget so we don’t kill each other accidentally (and literally). Sure, he could give up eating sorbet so that we could own just one ice cream maker instead of two, one dairy and one non-dairy. But it would make him pretty unhappy and then I’d be unhappy because he’s unhappy. Same goes for most of the things in our married life where we prefer different items and end up having two things that perform the same function, but differently for each person. It’s the one place where I can’t seem to fit minimalism into my life.

    But you’re right — for the most part, living with less is *so* much of an improvement over our previously overstuffed life.

  8. I have had plenty of opportunities to listen to the stories of those who grew up during the Great Depression. Sure things were hard and a modern kitchen were years off then, but they had each other and found ways of enjoying life. I realize now that I have gotten rid of most everything I owned how they found happiness. What a great post to remind us of how much we do have, where ever we are at this moment.

  9. If I can perform a task the old way/manual labour way I will every time. I use a hand saw, I use an old hand egg beater, I walk and bike instead of driving the car…. I understand how many hours of my life I would have to exchange for money to own and operate the latest and greatest and remind myself it isnt worth it. I am satisfied with the beauty of what I have already. Now if I could just simplify what goes on in my head things would be golden, still working at that. 🙂

  10. I could not agree with you more. It is such a simple concept and yet so many do not get it . I hope we start to see this shift in people’s thinking and I’m starting with instilling this very idea in my teenage son.

Share your thoughts!

