Why Do We Make Life So Complicated?

Is it just me or do some of us tend to make our lives a bit more complicated than they need to be?

I know I have at times and I still do. Not a very good thing for a guy than preaches minimalist living.

But it is true and here is an example. I live an apartment. It is okay but I am constantly thinking that it could be more stylish. I see photos and design shows that have these well put together places and I want that for myself. Why not just be happy with what I have?

Now this is a minor thing I suppose compared to the complexity and drama that some people bring into their lives.

Life is complex. There is work, family, friends, partners, money issues, and so much more to that we do have to deal with at times.

But here is some questions:

  • Are you creating some of your own problems?
  • Are you a drama queen or king?
  • Do you actually go looking for drama?
  • Do you gossip about the drama in other peoples lives?

I think a lot of us subconsciously help drama along. We actually thrive on it, although we may never admit that out loud.

We make certain decisions and react certain ways to events and more often than not we react the same way over and over again. But then we think we expect a different result but of course this does not happen and we do not learn from this.

What Can We Do To Keep Our Lives Simple?

Maybe we should understand that we are very adaptable. You are not just a this way or that way type of person. Try a different approach to events or the way things may be in your life.

You cannot control everything. We have to learn to go with the flow. Not easy at times, I know. But just breathe and relax and look for alternative solutions to shit that happens.

Try to just live your life and do not get too wrapped up in the lives of others. Now if a close friend needs some advice or help of course you are going to help them out but only if they need it. And try to coach them through it so that they make a good decision on their own.

Learn to love simplicity. Yesterday was an amazing day. We checked out a new hiking trail here in Halifax and just enjoyed to quiet. We say by a babbling brook for 20 minutes and had quiet time. It was perfect. We all have to learn to savor these opportunities. Life does get hectic at times and we do not need to help it along.

I have read that kids smile and laugh dozens of times per day. Adults are usually in the single digits. We have to laugh more.

Exercise more. Just go for a walk. It doesn’t have to be some crazy new fangled workout. Your health is your life.

Eat simple, one ingredient foods. If a box says Healthy this or Lean that, guess what? It isn’t. Companies spend more on packaging than they do on the product. Keep your eating simple.

Be an early riser so you do not have to rush around trying to get ready. Plan ahead the night before. Get your stuff ready. Keys, files, lunch etc.

Realize that life can and will through some curve balls at you. Don’t go off half-cocked and over react. Sit down and deal with it calmly.

Pay your bills on time.

Keep your gas tank more than half full so you never get close to running out of fuel. This only happens when you really need to be somewhere in a bit of a hurry.

So that means you should leave thirty minutes earlier for all meetings and appointments. Being late is a habit like every other behavior.

Single-task. I know there are people who claim to be great multi-taskers. Bull shit. They get less done than anyone I know. Concentrate on one thing until it is completed.

Cut back on coffee. I love coffee but it does make me more anxious. Drink more water.

Get rid of stuff that you not need or use. Streamline your living space. It will feel as though a weight has been lifted from your shoulders.

Stand up taller and flex your abs. Breathe more deeply.

There are so many more things we can do do make life less complicated and more simple.

What tips for simple living do you have?

Please share your thoughts and comments with the class.

Live Simply

9 thoughts on “Do We Make Our Lives More Complicated Than Necessary??

  1. Reblogged this on theliftblog and commented:
    Great tips on how to get more out of life! Question: Have we decided we “need” more than we really do? What types of things would you say we have taught ourselves to need?

  2. Very nice post. 🙂 I’ve been wondering the same thing about my apartment, whether it’ll be as infuriatingly stylish as some of the ones I see in decorating magazines. I’ve found streamlining it certainly helped though. Cheers my friend! 🙂

  3. Okay teacher, here goes my view. My only wants lately have been similar to yours I have downsized and changed my entire life, now I want to change some of the things I have (ie: art work on my walls) in my apartment to reflect the newer me. I talk myself out of most, then happen to find something out for free that I love eventually and pick it up. The apartment is a work in progress as I keep putting off spending the money on things I see.

    As for food, I head to the farmer’s market and see how many meals I can create from what is available each week. I’ve even lost a few pounds this summer eating like this.

    You have a lot of good tips here, good post.

  4. Letting go of things that really don’t affect you and taking time to realize what those things are – I used to get so upset about other people’s actions and sometimes I’ll still catch myself doing it and then I’ll have to take a moment to stop and say hey does it really matter if that person is doing this or that? In the grand scheme of things does impact me? If the answer is no, then I should let it go.

    You also touched on the food thing – eating more whole foods and aiming away from packaged and processed foods results in less packaging, and more healthy choices, and I just find I feel better when I’m eating REAL food. Also I don’t find myself reaching for snacks if everything in the house has to be prepared whereas if you stock ready made processed snack foods it’s too easy to grab some nibbles that lead to easy over eating.

  5. One thing I learned when my children were small is that a tired or overwhelmed person needs to move more slowly. Nothing is more exhausting than feeling you need to go faster.

  6. I just got back from Kumoricon, an annual anime and manga convention held in Oregon, and this definitely applies to con going. There’s more at a con than can be done in the three days. Instead of rushing around trying to see everything, you end up having a lot more fun and a better experience going slow, enjoying the sites, and choosing a handful of events you know you want to go to. You won’t see everything, but you’ll have tons of fun.

  7. This has been a huge struggle for me this year! I am exhausted but it is due to my own fault of overbooking myself. I was so busy moving on to the next thing, I wasn’t slowing down to enjoy my girls. I finally had to throw my hands up and say ENOUGH. Life is getting back to normal and I am so thankful that others see my life as boring because it means I am doing what I should be doing.

Share your thoughts!

