Do you have your Christmas shopping done?

Have you started Christmas shopping yet?

How much money do you plan to spend on Christmas gifts this year?

I am not a fan of Christmas. It is to damn commercial never mind the fact that I am not a religious person.

Even if I was a believer, I would not be out spending money hand over fist on stuff that is probably going to be forgotten about in a few days time.

And it isn’t like kids have to wait for the holiday season to get gifts. Every time I turn around it is a “holiday” of some sort and the marketers have done a wonderful job of getting us to believe that we have to spend money on gifts all year round.

The holiday season should be about family and spending time with loved ones.

It should be about helping those in need.

Just think about the billions of dollars that will be spent on useless stuff just so that we can say we got something for someone.

Of course tens of thousands of people will use their credit cards to make purchases and then have that wonderful after Christmas shock of trying to pay off the credit card debt. Is this what the holiday season is supposed to be about?

Think of the gas used to rush around from store to store and the stress that people will be feeling. It sickens me. I wonder if people actually become more rude and obnoxious during the holidays?

Hell even if you choose online shopping there is still a ton of money being spent to get that product to you.

So are there minimalist living Christmas gift ideas?

  • You can try making your own gifts. Or maybe you can re-gift something that you already have that you no longer need.
  • You can also make your own holiday cards. Kids especially love being crafty.
  • use newspaper as wrapping paper
  • Give gift cards. People can then shop for stuff that they may actually use.

If you are hellbent on buying a gift check out Amazon.com. They do have amazing deals and daily discounts and specials.

You would be hard pressed to find better prices elsewhere. Not the worst choice for Christmas gift ideas.

That being said I think you will enjoy your holiday season more if you plan ahead and try to make things more minimalist this year.

Just slow down and enjoy your time with loved ones.

What tips and ideas do you have to help make this Christmas more minimalist.

13 thoughts on “It’s Beginning to Look A Lot Like Christmas

  1. My family isn’t always very fond of receiving homemade presents, so I usually try to take our traditional presents and make a nicer handmade version. I’ve had the most success with lotion, kahlua liquor, socks, well made gloves, framed drawn or painted portraits, and pure vanilla extract (bonus if you include vanilla beans so they can make more themselves).

  2. I tried to convince my parents to give my daughter something like “a night out for dinner or movies” instead of useless stuff. The response was “she ned something under the tree.” I threw up my hands.

  3. I will be baking foods that my grandmother used to bake for my children, to put in a gift basket for each of my sons and their families. I took the grand children out to collect rocks that we will decorate when we are stuck indoors to give as presents to the adult family members and I have a partially completed panda bear (crochet) that a neighbor didn’t want to finish, when my eldest grand daughter saw it she thought it should go to the youngest grand daughter. So she will help me assemble it and then can give a gift to the little one that she made.

    I haven’t decided what I will be giving to the grand children yet this year, but I put a limit of $40 on each child (I have 3 to buy for). Although I have one, which is a print from etsy for my grandson that he wants for his room.

  4. We have stopped giving presents within the family several years ago. No more gift buying rushing in crowded stores – it is wonderful. The children still get some gifts – their mother buyes them and we give the money.

    I can’t tell you how much we enjoy christmas now

  5. I do not buy gifts and I do not recieve gifts over the holidays. If someone really feels they must gift me with something they must wait until after the holidays. Kinda like buying puppies and kittens for the holidays….I find commercialized gifts are a bad idea and rarely thought through. That said, when I do recieve gifts the useful ones are my absolute favourite. Homemade preserves, a bottle of wine, a handmade scarf or sweater. And despite my declaration of no gifts I arrive on every persons door over the holidays with a tin full of home made cookies. πŸ™‚

  6. Christmas made me super angry last year – I spent a lot of time and put a lot of thought into getting my family gifts that I thought they would like and then I was really frustrated because I couldn’t get the gifts to them until well into late spring. It was unnecessary stress – and why? This year one of my sisters is in Finland so I already know I have to mail her something (preferably consumables like food and iTunes cards so she doesn’t have to carry anything/much back) and I know I am going to get to see my other sister and parents at Christmas either so I can go into it with that knowledge and plan ahead appropriately this time… and maybe avoid the stores because I hate the mentality in them starting around oh.. say.. October until January. And no I haven’t started, I didn’t even want to think about it – I still have to finish paying tuition for this semester πŸ˜‰ I am not super fond of the commercial aspect of Christmas, I do like the getting together aspect, which I will be doing with my bf’s family and we always have a great time – and I am really looking forward to THAT part of Christmas already – and never mind that, we are going to see my family for Thanksgiving which is coming up even sooner, hooray!

    Oh further to your newspaper thing – I love that idea, I have a friend who always does that. One thing I started doing last year and will continue to do this year is saving those sturdy bags you get from stores that have the nice handles that look like gift bags, then I just cut a picture out from a magazine or color newspaper and glue it over the store’s logo and tada, free gift bag. My friends who got them last year adored them – I am going to use them again this year πŸ™‚

  7. We are pregnant this year, with our 2nd baby due at Thanksgiving. We have a LOT of kids in our extended families (24…26 if we count our son & his soon to be brother), and we chose a while back to just buy for the kids, thankfully. The past few years have been really difficult for me, trying to figure out what to buy for the kids while still keeping the budget down. This year, out of necessity and convenience, all the kids are getting cash in their parents’ Christmas cards. I figure for the little ones, the parents can take the cash and buy them gifts, and the bigger ones will love the cash. It is so much less stressful this year than it has been in the recent past…so I think cash might become our tradition. We will still get gifts for our parents and for our kids (we won’t give them cash under the tree…though as our older son grows, he might appreciate cash) πŸ™‚

Share your thoughts!

