I have been the master of excuses during my life.

Excuses as to why I can’t do this or that. Excuses that I have used that “hold me back”.

I am not good looking enough. I don’t have a nice smile. I have always been a bigger guy. Blah, blah, blah.

All excuses to be lazy. That is what it boils down to isn’t it?

Maybe you have said some of the same things to yourself. When_____happens, then I will start exercising. If I had this piece of equipment I could get in shape. If I had a few more dollars I would pay that bill off. If I had more time…And on and on it goes. It can be never ending. We convince ourselves that this is the truth. 

I am beginning to think that the vast majority of information out there is bogus. Not much truth to anything really. How much of what we read or hear or see is based on fact or backed up by real research? Not much. 

So where is this all coming from? I am not really sure. I do know that I am tired of hearing myself spew forth excuses as to why I can’t do this or accomplish that.

Here is a question to ponder.

Is is possible that there is someone out there who has overcome bigger obstacles that you?

Of course.

I am not meaning to make light of stuff that you may now be dealing with. Maybe you have serious relationship or financial issues that you are trying to work through. Yes they are serious, but they can be dealt with. You(and I) have to make the choice to stop making excuses and deal with them. 

 

Stop listening to all the bullshit out there and just do it. Hey the hardest part of dealing with any issue or starting any project is to <b>actually commit</b> to getting it done.

Work backward from the end goal. What do you need to accomplish and come up with a list of actionable steps that will get you there. 

It is tempting for us – myself included – to remain in our comfort zones. But that is not where we grow, improve, and make the changes necessary to dramatically move ahead. So my challenge to you is to do the opposite. Look at what you are doing to stay in your comfort zone and think, “What is the opposite action of my instinct? And would this opposite action be the better solution?” 

You have no idea of the bad habits that I have. Mostly in the area of eating. I make excuses and justify it somehow. Tomorrow I will clean up my eating I say. Ha. Tomorrow keeps being tomorrow doesn’t it? It never gets here.

So what is “the truth”? 

I am here.

I am breathing.

I choose my attitude and how I behave.

Hmm, what else? Maybe that’s it. Pretty simple. We make things so much more complicated than they need to be. We over think and worry about stuff that is essentially not that important.

Maybe I will revisit this topic in the coming days. I just wanted to vent a bit and get some thoughts out of my head.

I am also very interested in hearing what some of you have to say in response to this post.

 

5 thoughts on “What Excuses Do You Use?

  1. Wow I know exactly how you feel. If I could make a valid excuse for something that would allow me to be lazy, I did it! I’ve been getting away from that recently and have made myself accountable. Instead of not exercising because I have a bad knee, I signed up, paid for, and am expected at the gym. I’ve gotten there every class and – get this – I feel and look better already. That being said, to be human is to have a vice. Humans aim to enjoy which is as good a desire as any.

  2. If you deliberately plan on being less than you are capable of being, then I warn you that you’ll be unhappy for the rest of your life. ~Abraham Maslow~ It all boils down to choices and we only make choices in the present moment. It no longer matters if we didn’t make it then or even if we plan on making it in the future. It is my trip right now to no longer limit myself but to seek my potential in a direction that is valuable to me and I have found I can only do so in the present moment, one choice at a time.

  3. I’m pretty good at letting myself off the hook 🙂
    It really boils down to: what’s important to you. We choose what is closest to our hearts.

Share your thoughts!

