Judge a man by his questions rather than his answers-Voltaire

 

I noticed that there is a daily prompt that ties in with my last post, https://minimalistlifestyle.wordpress.com/2013/07/29/tough-questions/.

The prompt is “State of Your Year”. I am twisting it a bit and using it as a “State of Your Life” questionnaire.

These are rather difficult questions that a lot of us are afraid to ask and answer. They certainly will force you to examine and evaluate your life.

 

If today were the last day of your life, what would want to do?

 

Are you holding onto something that you need to let go of?

 

What is the difference between living and existing?

 

Is it out of reach or have you just stopped reaching for it?

 

Is life short? If yes then why do we spend so much time doing stuff we don’t like and like so many things we don’t do?

 

If you have something that you would like to accomplish, what the fuck is holding you back?

 

Do you matter? Why?

 

Based on your current daily routines will your life be better in 5 years?

 

What are 3 changes you know you must make in the next year?

 

What have you given up on?

 

Would people read your life story?

 

How little time left would you have to have to start making changes?

 

How do you talk to yourself? Would you allow others to talk to you that way?

 

What is the one thing you intend to accomplish in the next year?

 

Do you make the same mistakes over and over?

 

What are you procrastinating doing right now?

 

Okay there you go. Some pretty thought provoking question there to assess where you may be with your year or your life.

Please share your thoughts in the comments.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “More Questions To Help Assess Your Life

  1. If today were the last day of your life, what would want to do?

    I would get on my motorcycle and ride, just go.

    Are you holding onto something that you need to let go of?

    Tonnage, I am sorry to say, some that I acquired much that I was given or inherited. Over the last few years I have gotten rid of probably 5,000 lbs of stuff. I know the weight is lighter as I have gone through this process but it is and has been one of the most unpleasant parts of my life. Why do I do it, to free myself.

    What is the difference between living and existing?

    The vast majority of my life was existing, and I think existing is where we are out of sync with our values, religion, and personality. Where pleasing others (or even providing for them! Is all there is). Living is where instead of working to provide you daughter a birthday party, you spend time enjoying her and getting to know her. Where your work is not some form of prison sentence, that you don’t see an end to, or any alternative.

    Is it out of reach or have you just stopped reaching for it?

    “It” was something that I was TRAINED not to reach for, and that training has made my life more hell than heaven. It has only been the last few years I have reached for “It” and actually began to feel alive. I still carry a lot of burden of what was done to me, including the things I did against myself.

    Is life short? If yes then why do we spend so much time doing stuff we don’t like and like so many things we don’t do?

    Yes, life is short. I went from my teens to 50 in no time, and with very little “good things” and tons of misery. And even today I spend most of my time doing things I truly hate but I “feel” responsible for because of past choices (failures?). And having the piles of material possessions makes life harder. IT IS IMPROVING as I shed this stuff! I don’t want to say I don’t see positive change, or that I am not making positive change, because I am making my life better day by day.

    I am really sorry for myself in a way, not realizing much earlier that “possessions” can OWN me. And, for the “stuff” I have inherited, and for all those like me I see it as a tough future if we don’t wake up. I have just started to.

    Life is short and should be about the experiences we create not the material we can accumulate.

    If you have something that you would like to accomplish, what the fuck is holding you back?

    I finally answered that question in the last couple years, and yes it is taking time to free myself from the shackles of the TRAINING I have received. So, the Answer is both FEAR and TRAINING. Daily, having to relearn how to think and the fear of the unknown is why I just don’t go on and start over, and also BEING responsible for cleaning up my own mess and not leaving it for others. I don’t want to leave a legacy of a mess for others to clean up,

    I want to be the one that people can look at and say HE CHANGED AND BECAME A BETTER MAN. When people, if they do, think of me after I am gone I don’t want them to have to think about the crap I left that they had to deal with or weighed them down.

    WE are trained to be consumers, we are trained to keep doing things that allow us to consume. It takes time to relearn how to be happy with just the basic things we need and things that bring happiness and beauty into our lives.

    Do you matter? Why?

    For me that answer is simple. Because I was created by Yahweh and He sent his son to redeem me. And, second because life is a gift… and gifts matter.

    Based on your current daily routines will your life be better in 5 years?

    YES, if I am still alive in 5 years my life will be far different than the first 50 years, I am already seeing the difference (long way to go). I had a massive life changing health event where I spent months in ICU, which was the beginning of my thinking of my legacy. And I did not like what I saw, but now I am starting to see one that I do LIKE!

    What are 3 changes you know you must make in the next year?

    1) I need to get in better health and to get out in nature more
    2) I need to ride more because it makes me happy, and worry less about the consequences.
    3) I need to spend more time with the folks I love and that I enjoy their company rather than on moving DAMM boxes!!! Spend more time talking about experiences rather than stuff.

    What have you given up on?

    Sadly, relationship and marriage (intimate family). I don’t have the skills nor the heart to continue to deal with the pain of the loss of that.

    Would people read your life story?

    Yes, and I really have already done some outlines for several “sections” of my life that would be good stories, I just have not found the voice to write them in.

    How little time left would you have to have to start making changes?
    I only have this moment. And I can say that more than most as I was not supposed to live this long, so I truly understand living on borrowed time. BUT, EVERYONE IS LIVING ON BORROWED TIME whether they know it or not.

    How do you talk to yourself? Would you allow others to talk to you that way?

    This is a hard one, it is part of the “training” I was talking about earlier. I am working to be as kind to myself as I try to be to others. But, it is really really uncomfortable to be kind to “me”. And, that makes me be very hard on myself, very unforgiving. It also affects how I relate to others, I don’t confront someone that is hurting me until it is too late, and I rid my life of people that hurt me. That is something I really am working on, pruning the people I care about to those that also care about me.

    What is the one thing you intend to accomplish in the next year?

    I intend, and am working on, being able to do any daily task without having to move another possession or project out of the way to do so. It sounds like heaven to me.

    Do you make the same mistakes over and over?

    Yes, but I am actually changing that. I still have the bad habits in a lot of areas, BUT I am daily changing them and slowly not making ALL the same mistakes over and over again. I truly think I am making progress.

    What are you procrastinating doing right now?

    Actually there are three things, on today’s list that I am putting off because I really really really hate doing them. First is sorting boxes for Goodwill, I will do two by the end of the day. Second is Listing items I can sell on Craigslist and Ebay and get them out of here, I don’t like selling stuff. And third is dealing with my credit report. Filling this out is my break (procrastination) from doing them.

Share your thoughts!

