A Benefit of Minimalist Living

So a benefit of minimalist living is that hopefully you can forgo the hours spent shopping, cleaning and organizing.

You can spend more time doing the things that matter to you.

For me that is spending time in nature.

Here is what minimalist living allowed me to do yesterday.

taylor head hike
taylor head hike
Taylor Head, Nova Scotia
Taylor Head, Nova Scotia

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

No crowds, no traffic, no stress. It cost us about 10.00$ in fuel to get to Taylor Head Provincial Park. That’s it.

So there you have it. Minimalist living at its best.

More info on Taylor Head can be found here.

Please feel free to comment and share this post. Thanks!

5 thoughts on “A Benefit Of Minimalist Living

  1. That is living the dream, and not worrying about “stuff”, something I am finding as I am cutting down to less and less I have far less worries about replacing stuff so I don’t worry as much about going somewhere.

    If the worst were to happen, I could replace my entire physical life on minimum wage or less within a year… I mean pots, pans, clothes, car, etc… when I had FAR more I had so many worries of something happening to it and I spent far more time maintaining all the various things and those two things made “just going” whether it was for a day hike, a music festival, or to go visit the people I care about a REAL BURDEN… I am no where near down to where I wish to be, but I am getting there.

    My dad passed this prior week, he was a hoarder, the family started fighting over the stuff and “his place” immediately, they were shocked that I did not “take my side” and fight for my inheritance, but actually gave his place to his long time companion right off the bat, I did not even go “sort through it”. Many of my family were livid, but I called the real estate agents (and I knew from before) that his place AFTER cleaning it all up, was not worth $10,000… yes, Ten Thousand I did not miss a zero. And it would cost me that to clean it out.

    What I have gotten most from this is a sense of peace I am no longer dealing with it, I am free of it. And second that I am not burdened with EVEN MORE stuff I would need to move, sort, clean, sell, donate, trash, etc. And I got a minimum of a year of my life back INSTANTLY.

    So, glad you enjoyed the hike, I will be going out this evening rather than sorting more boxes. That I say is a good day.

  2. Thanks so much for sharing your own minimalist living story. Very sorry to hear about your dad.

    The same thing happened with my grandmother when she could not live by herself in her house anymore. So much stuff to go through. The time involved and bad feelings because some siblings didn`t help out with clearing out the clutter, etc.

    Life is just so much better without the fixation on material things.

    Thanks so much for commenting.

Share your thoughts!

