First of all, a heartfelt thank you to all the people who left comments after my last blog post. Amazing community of people out there.

The past few days have been a bit up and a bit down. Same as most people I am sure.

The question is How does a person battle through times like these?

For me I feel that a starting point has to be getting back to basics in regards to minimalist living.

Identify what adds value to my life and get rid of everything else. This may seem extreme to some, But at the very least I feel that I will be making progress toward simplifying my life.

I also realize that I need to straighten up in other areas of my life. Namely exercise and eating habits. I used to love getting up super early and getting my workout in. I cannot remember the last time I did that. It has been many years to be sure. Heaven forbid I get my carcass out of bed and get on the elliptical that is staring me in the face!

As a person who is much smarter than me has said, “Sometimes, you have to fake it until you make it.”

I still feel a bit down but at least this gives me a framework within which to work. I need to remember why I embraced minimalist living in the first place.

Simple living brings me joy. It truly does.

So this weekend there will be a purge of items. Even if I have to get a dumpster to take some stuff away, so be it. I will give away unwanted items. Stuff has to go.

Everything you bring into your house becomes a responsibility. You have to care for it, find a place for it, clean it, and ultimately, dispose of it. No thanks.

So back to basics it is. Just making a decision, which sometimes can be the hardest part of digging out of a depression, feels good.

What other tips are there for getting back to basics?

11 thoughts on “Back To Basics

  1. I think you are on the right track. Especially the part about working out again. I think it will pump up your body AND spirit. It will help you feel better about the day and will help you exercise your demons so to speak! Glad to hear you have a good plan! I look forward to hearing about what you got rid of in your house! 🙂

  2. I have found with myself that I get the most depressed when I have too much time alone. I get stuck in my head with too many thoughts or, in the alternative, I keep myself so busy that I get burnt out and then I crash. This has been a constant struggle, balance is the key. Take time for yourself doing whatever makes you feel calm and at peace. Then, when you feel at peace go out and be around others. I find volunteering helps fill in the gaps when I need to get out of my head. I remind myself that life is not all about me and how I feel. When I give myself and my time to others I feel better and happier. As you said in your post getting back to an exercise routine is a great way to start!

    Sometimes we all fall down and it hurts for a bit but you just have to remember to get back up and get back at it. Sometimes when I crash I allow myself to spend 2 or 3 days wallowing in it and I allow myself to feel it and then i give myself a pep talk and a bit of an ass kicking and I get back up and start focusing on the positive again.

    Minimalist living is supposed to give us the freedom and time to DO things with our lives. So as you suggested start filling your time with things that make YOU happy and you will find your fulfillment within that.

  3. Yay!!! Glad to see you are getting back into the game. Must be something in the air as I am cleaning out my house today. So tired of all the stuff! I always feel much better when I make my space clutter free. Seems like then I am able to enjoy just being.

      1. I’m sure it will if we just keep doing it. After I wrote my comment on your post, I went upstairs to our attic where our elliptical stands and I did a 30 minute workout. My body was screaming for me to stop, but I didn’t. Sometimes I wasn’t sure if I was making the elliptical move or if it was making me move. I will keep doing it until I don’t feel like I want to stay in bed all day.

Share your thoughts!

