Have you ever read a story about someone who has changed their diet/eating habits and experienced a wonderful transformation?

I certainly have.

What you are about to read is not one of those stories. Yet.

I do find those accounts of how someone has changed their lifestyle and their health very inspirational and quite amazing.

As for myself I have always been on the bigger side of healthy. I was athletic as a kid and teenager. we were always outside biking, swimming, playing ball or street hockey. You know, back in the days when kids know how to PLAY!

I have also always had a love hate relationship with food. I am both an over eater and a sneak eater. Hey if someone does not SEE me eat it, did I really eat it??

My weight at times has fluctuated from the mid 200’s to the low 200’s. I have lived with competitive bodybuilders and have been involved with various forms of resistance training my entire life and at times I have looked okay.

A few years back a friend and I committed to getting our act together with out health. I did P90X and actually probably looked the best I have in years. My own father didn’t recognize me in the before and after photos. But then I didn’t stay with it.

ARRRGGGG!!!

So now I am quite possibly at my lowest point in regards to how I both feel and look. It isn’t even that my weight has gone up that much(although it is quite high). It is that I feel like complete crap. I know the reason for this.

Garbage in. Garbage out. If I eat nothing but cookies and chips and bread etc. of course I am going to feel like crap. I know this. I have always known this. So why do I have a hard time with eating clean?

Just some vegetables, lean protein and health fats. I even like eating this way. But I always go back to the junk. And it is always right before summer when a person might want to go to the beach and be able to take their shirt off with having small children screaming in absolute horror.

The other part of this is the pain I have in my feet and knees. This is for me diet related. I firmly believe that EVERYTHING is diet related.

It never ceases to amaze me how much a person’s health improves when they clean up their eating.

Check out some of these success stories.

Again, I know this but when it comes to putting it into practice for myself I fall short.

Anyone out their having the same problem?

So tomorrow I start with a plan to cut the junk and eat clean, one ingredient meals. I want to feel better. I want more energy. I want to have better sleep and better moods. And yes I want to lose a few pounds.

What you eat reflects in everything you do. Eating well helps you be more creative, productive, and enjoyable to be around. The hard part about eating right is that there’s no plan that’s perfect for everyone. There’s no simple prescription. The only way to find what works for you is to experiment with what you eat and find something sustainable that makes you feel alive.

I am sharing this because I want to be held accountable and I want to hear from others who may have struggled in the past or are struggling now with some of these same issues.

What have you done that has worked for you? What do you feel is holding you back?

Please share your thoughts in the comments.

Thanks.

“Live Simply”

15 thoughts on “This Is Not A Success Story

  1. I’ve never before read a blog post that has resonated so completely with my struggles. It’s as if I was reading my own story, minus subtle differences. I too, grew up highly athletic as a competitive short course swimmer, and as a hockey and rugby player. I grew up with healthy food, and above all, right or wrong I feel my legal given name is something I have to live up to (Thor).

    However, since I retired from swimming I’ve been in a constant struggle with weight, and my love of food. Being diagnosed as a Celiac shortly after my mum’s death only magnified this (mum died of complications due to un diagnosed Celiac, and since her passing all 3 of her kids have received their diagnosis of this annoying life handcuff). I feel grateful that I have the support of a wonderful wife, and kids who need a healthy dad. Neither of my parents are around anymore, and I desperately want to avoid that tradition from continuing.

    I do eat much better out of necessity to be a successful parent, but also because I changed my mindset that food is for sustenance, not enjoyment. It’s a massive change in mindset, however I also find that it has many parallels with the joy and simplicity that is minimalism. Yes, we still go out for dinner occasionally, however we spend our dollars at quality establishments that offer nutritious food that is made with care and quality.

    You will have days when the bag of chips is too alluring, and you’ll endulge. But when you wake up the following morning, you’ll put your pants on (yes, they’ll still fit) and you’ll carry on with life.

    Now if I’d only believe my own words; as I said, everyday is a struggle.

    1. Great comment. Eating clean/healthy does tie in with minimalist living in that if we just allow ourselves to “be” we would know what is healthy and what is not. The other big thing is food advertising!! The will say and print ANYTHING to get us to buy their processed garbage!
      Keep up with the healthy eating and living. All the best to you and yours. Thanks for sharing your story.

  2. Mark, Thank you for your posts. I enjoy your frankness and ideas. I hope you are feeling well and good luck with the healthier lifestyle!

    HM

    >

  3. Live with this struggle daily and have often thought about writing about it, but it’s so personal I’ve not been able. Thank you for doing so, and best wishes in your journey.

  4. I read your article and it is indeed very difficult to overcome your appetitive part of the soul opposed to your logistikon (your rational part of the soul). And following Socrates the logistikon should rule in every soul. But that is easier said than done! So I hope you will be in harmony again and you’re the only one who can do that.

    Personally the vegan raw food diet (80/10/10) is the best diet I can imagine. For almost everything. In particular for athletes! But it is difficult to stay raw beacuse of the big change in eating habbits. It’s an continuous journey, but an interesting one.
    I don’t want to advertise on your blog, but If you’re interested I can send some interesting links and video’s. Or you can google it yourself.

    Good luck and don’t give up!

  5. I’m sitting here eating breakfast as I read your post. I’m eating organic raw oats (good fiber), cinnamon (helps control blood sugar), organic coconut (healthy fat), chia seeds (fiber and protein), all topped off with…. chocolate chips. I too have struggle with my weight all my life since I was a teen-ager. Probably never more than 30-35 pounds over-weight, but always a struggle, almost never at the weight I want to be – maybe twice in all those years. For me, it is very emotional. Comfort food. I don’t eat a lot of junk food – except chocolate – but I just eat too much, trying to stuff the emptiness. And I seriously do not eat anywhere near enough fruits and vegetables. Like you wrote, I, too, ideally want to eat the healthy meals that you describe, but at the end of the day, or even the beginning, the emotions are too over-whelming. I do go to the gym, usually twice a day. I started doing that about a year and half ago, so I would stop using my lunch hour to eat an entire box of cookies. Now I weight train during lunch. I am losing weight and feel better about the way I look, but I still don’t eat the way my body needs me to eat.

    I really appreciate your post and your honesty. Good luck with your goal of eating healthier. Like the other person who posted wrote, the way you want to eat would definitely fit in with your minimalist lifestyle.

    Oh, and I’ve tried several times substituting blueberries for the chocolate chips on top of my breakfast. It works very well … until the chocolate addiction kicks in again.

    1. Ah yes the entire box of cookies! Been there plus a liter of ice cream. Not sure if I am an emotional eater or not or if it is usually boredom. Probably both at different times. You are on the right track. Good on you for making healthy choices.

  6. Sorry to read about your struggles with weight and health. You are on the right path with first identifying the source of poor health (diet). If you have not seen Joe Cross’s “Fat, Sick, and Nearly Dead” about his struggle, I would suggest that as a jump start to a healthy diet. Also, as a wife and mother, I find it difficult to stay on a “healthy” diet when my family doesn’t. I’ve tried portion control, extra walking the dog, etc. to keeping weight down. The worst is being the one to do all the cooking but if I don’t, husband suggests dining out which is the worst. Best of success with
    your plans. One day at a time. Plan it out and stick to your plan.

  7. We became vegetarian quite a few years ago for health reasons. We feel much better and try to eat mostly whole foods that we cook ourselves. It is always a battle to keep the weight in check and as we get older the battle gets harder. A certain diet will not make you thin it is still the amount of calories in vs the calories out.
    We recently read a couple of books that put our eating habits as a society in a new light. “Salt Sugar Fat”, “Buyology” and “Brandwashed” talk about the science and psychology of keeping us food addicted. They are written by experts in marketing to tell us how they attract you to certain foods with marketing and then how the science of foods keep you addicted to unhealthy foods.
    One of the problems we face when we diet is that the toxic chemicals in our food are fat soluble and are stored in the excess fat we carry around. Once we start to diet and burn that fat, those same chemicals are released back into our bloodstream and make us feel horrible. We associate this with the diet making us ill, but it is the past excesses that are coming home to roost.
    I have a cousin in Australia who practices a Paleo diet and has had fantastic results with her health concerns. It is not for everyone, and I don’t think it is for me but it may be the difference for some people with celiac as it gets rid of all grains and sugars.
    Keep looking and keep trying. We will follow you and be inspired by your journey.

Share your thoughts!

