Healthy Shopping List On A Budget

I know that I am not alone in that I sometimes struggle with making completely healthy food choices. I am not a fan of grocery shopping and making meals for two people, one of one is a 16 year old boy, can be a royal pain in the ass.

When I go to the grocery store I look at what other people are buying. It would appear to me that I am not the only one who sometimes struggles. There is a lot of potato chips, soda, cookies and processed meals being purchased out there.

Hell, what percentage of the “food” in a grocery store is even healthy? 15%? 10%? If the definition of healthy is “one ingredient”, then that does not leave much to choose from. It takes serious discipline to only purchase actual healthy foods. I struggle with it every week.

So coming up with a healthy shopping list on a budget can be a tricky task. First of all we have to figure out what do we mean by “healthy”? A lot of people seem to have an opinion on this. I am not a nutritionist so this is just my opinion on various reading I have done over the years.

As mentioned above, if something you want to eat has an ingredient list, maybe it isn’t healthy. If there are unpronounceable ingredients is it even really a food anymore or is it a chemical creation?

Again these are just my thoughts and opinions.

It would appear that the current Standard American Diet(SAD) isn’t working for a lot of people. Obesity rates continue to climb, diabetes rates are soaring and people are just not that healthy.

I am a fan of the Paleo lifestyle.

When I eat this way I feel so much better physically and mentally.

Check out these Paleo Diet success stories

So in coming up with a healthy shopping list on a budget I am basing it on following a Paleo Diet.

The way I look at it, if you cut out the spending on processed foods and junk food and fast food you really should be able to justify spending money on quality, nutrient dense food that is going to make you feel better and greatly impact your health.

Healthy Shopping List On A Budget pdf

I think that the other thing that will help with stretching our food buying dollars is to take advantage of using a slow cooker or crock pot.

Doing this will save time and you can a big batch of food and have leftovers. Not only will this be a time-saver, you will find that they can be useful year-round, use much less energy and offer easy clean up.

I would love to know what you think of the healthy shopping list.

What tips do you you have for staying healthy on a budget?

Please share this post with the world. Thanks.

“Live Simply”

7 thoughts on “Healthy Shopping List On A Budget

  1. I’ve just stumbled across your blog. Disappointed to see you are a fan of the Paleo diet. It couldn’t be more unhealthy. May I suggest you research (YouTube is a great help) Dr John McDougall, Dr Caldwell Esselstyn Jnr, Dr Neal Barnard, Dr Michael Klaper, nutritionfacts.org, Dr Michael Greger, Jeff Novick, Dr Pam Popper, the DVDs Forks Over Knives and Processed People.

    1. Well I certainly appreciate your comment. I do disagree. I have never felt better than when eating Paleo. As soon as I eat any grains I get sick. I will be sure to check out the people you suggest.
      Thank you very much.

  2. Interesting. I never heard of the paleo diet before. Thanks for the edu-macation. 🙂 I would say this: Our paleolithic ancestors’ diet was probably heavy on vegetables and light on meat….meat being a hard to come by treat. Don’t you think? Not unlike modern monkeys: vegetarians most of the time, but not opposed to snacking on bird, lizard or a rival now and then.

  3. I have a cousin in Australia who was diagnosed with numerous ailments and basically was house ridden. She started on a Paleo diet and a short time later was surfing, into roller derby and distance running. She and her husband opened a paleo cafe. She got my aunt involved and at 60 years of age is doing distance running and looks far younger. I think I might have to seriously give this a try as I am feeling sluggish and worn out. Are there good places on the south shore to access many of the good foods that you mention. Thanks for the boost.

Share your thoughts!

