For the past little while, I will say maybe a year, I have been wondering what is the meaning of life?

I have always been a bit of a thinker. Wondering about my existence, why am I here, what is the point of life, etc.

But last year one of my mom’s brothers was diagnosed with cancer and given less than a year to live. Turns out they were right as he passed away this past spring.

Here was a guy that lived a good life. He was a very devout Christian, he volunteered, he and my aunt rented out rooms to university students and actually looked out for them and remained close with many of them after they had graduated.

He was just a good man.

And in the end none of that mattered.

So what is the meaning of life?

I do not consider myself to be a good man. I have done bad things in my life. I have lied. I have stolen. I have cheated. I have made self destructive decisions. Some of these things have ruined really good relationships.

I cannot answer why I made these decisions. Anything I say would be an excuse really.

I have often thought to myself that I would not be able to make a good decision if my life depended on it.

And maybe that became a self fulfilling prophecy.

I have kind of used it as an excuse for making bad decisions.

Now that is messed up.

What Lies Are We Sold?

I have always wondered if what we are “sold” by the powers that be is something of a lie. You know, go to school, get good grades, go to more school, get a job, buy a house, buy a car, buy a bunch of stuff, try to pay for it all and oh yeah save millions for your retirement. I wonder how many people are actually happy with that particular plan.

Is THAT the meaning of life? Work, struggle to get by, then die. If it is, just tell me.

There is this awesome show that I LOVE. It is a documentary about space and the cosmos and our beginnings and the universe.

Cosmos: A Spacetime Odyssey

It is nothing short of incredible.

The host is a real astro-physicist. Neil deGrasse Tyson is amazing. He speaks so calmly and explains things so well. I could listen to him all day.

Why do I bring this up? We share a lot of our DNA with EVERYTHING on the planet. Everything. We are all connected.

But it also seems that us being here, human life or life in general, is a fluke.

In a few years we will all be gone. I mean dead. I am not saying this to be morbid. It is just a fact. I will cease to exist. I will no longer be a person. It is a bit weird to think about. I am okay with it, but it is still strange. At least it is to me.

Am I the only one who wonders about this stuff?

So what is the point of this existence?

Yes, life is a journey. But maybe I do not know what my journey is even about.

I work in a factory processing wire that goes into tires. Sure it pays “okay”. Just enough for me to pay the bills.

Is that my meaning? My purpose? If I got hit by a bus tomorrow, would the factory shut down because I am not there?

Nope. They wouldn’t even stop for a minute. All about progress and production.

(No, I am not going to jump in front of a bus!)

There has got to be more.

Now because of some of the bad shit that I have done over the years, I am not sure that there is enough time left for me to have redemption.

Maybe, but I am not really sure.

If anyone that I have wronged happens to come across this post, please understand that I do have regret for the things that I have done.

I think about those decisions daily.

Some of you will wonder if I am happy. Do I have any joy? I don’t know.

I work. I sleep. I do try to remain active in so far as I get out for walks, and the beach and some biking and hiking. But I don’t do anything with anyone else. I have no circle of people that I hang out with. 43 year old single men who are somewhat introverted do not just go out and start socializing. That is a bit creepy.

This is my normal. And I am okay with this aspect of my life. What choice do I have?

Look, this post is the ramblings of a dim witted, stocky, bald man. I had to get this out.

What is the meaning of life?

You tell me.

4 thoughts on “What Is The Meaning Of Life?

  1. Just curious what led you to believe that in the end, the beliefs and actions of your mom’s brother didn’t matter at all? If he truly was a devout Christian then I think that he would argue that his beliefs mattered a lot, and still matter even after his death. They would have implications not only during his life on earth, but also his eternal life, or what happened after he died.
    And even aside from any Christian beliefs, the impact that he had on others, for example the university students, could have had a far greater impact on their lives than even he realized. So in the end does it all really not matter? Or does everything matter in one way or another?

    1. I am not sure that I meant that his actions did not matter. Please realize that sometimes when I write, the headspace that I am in dictates the thoughts and thus the writing. What I meant was that in the end he died. And it just does not seem…fair, or just.

      Young grandkids and a family that really loved him.
      And yet other people who do some pretty terrible things live on.

      That is where I was going with that.

      Thanks so much for your comment.

  2. You have some really great questions!
    I’ll use a quote from Solomon who had that same question…what is the meaning of life, if any?

    “I have seen all things under the sun, and behold, all is vanity and striving after wind.” Eccl 1:14

    See, Solomon looked for the meaning of life in scientific discovery, wisdom and philosophy, materialism, luxury, alcohol, etc. but in the end came to the conclusion that without God there is no truth or meaning in life.

    In my opinion there is a plan and a reason for everything. Man has free will and can choose one way or the other; To believe or not to believe and to do harm or to do good. God, coming to our rescue and out of great love, sent His Son to be crucified for us, so that our sin wouldn’t be in between us and Him. Once a person repents and accepts Christ, they are set free and can now really live. Live in such a way to be happy in the midst of trouble or in the midst of loosing everything, because there is no joy without God. Everything else is vanity.

    In the end Solomon said,
    “Having heard everything, I have reached this conclusion: Fear God and keep his commandments, because this is the whole duty of man.” Eccl 12:13

    The only thing God wants is our faith. It’s the only thing we can give back to God and why the proof of God will never happen in the scientific community.

    Thanks for your posts. I really enjoy them!

  3. Like you I too have always thought about the philosophical aspects of life, and trust me when I say this – it leads you nowhere. It just pulls you deep into the quagmire of existentialism. The happiest people I have seen in my family, and those around me, are the ones who just enjoy life with what it offers, leaving the philosophical aspects to worked out by someone else.

    The problem with the people who keep on thinking too much (like you, me and many others) is that we miss the present moment analyzing instead of enjoying it. Yes, many times we garner some grand epiphany from our musings which really changes our life and puts us on a different path. But honestly, most of the time it leads us nowhere but into melancholy. And there is an element of truth in the way these so called “happy” people approach life. So the best solution is to just take life as it comes, give your constant thinking a rest for a month and see if it changes anything.

Share your thoughts!

