“Life Is 10% What Happens To You And 90% How You Respond To It”

Let me set the table for you on this entire scenario.

I am 43, almost 44 years old. I have a Bachelors of Education degree and over the years have had various term teaching positions and have been a substitute teacher.

From 1995-2007 I worked for and then owned/operated a nationally franchised defensive driving school. Young Drivers of Canada.

Teaching people how to drive defensively. That was a rewarding career at the time. My ex wife continues to thrive with that business.

In 2009 I had had enough of the education system here in Nova Scotia. I enjoy teaching. I love working with youth. But when students can tell a teacher to “F off” and there are no real repercussions…well I had had enough.

In 2011 I applied for and got a job at a local manufacturing plant. In this small town of 8 thousand, it employs about 1000 people. It has been here for 40 years. My dad worked there for 30 years. These are considered to be “good paying jobs with a pension(employee contributed) and decent benefits”.

Get this. I liked it. I was a production worker in a manufacturing facility job. Hot as hell and even dirtier. And it was shift work which I didn’t even mind.

I had a great supervisor who was firm but fair. I did not dread going to work. I worked with mostly good people.

Less than 2 years into it I was asked if I might be interested in being a relief Shift Process Leader. This person is the go to person for most issues in the plant. Hell yes! Big bump in pay, more responsibility, and you are not actually running machines when you are in this role.

Life was good.

But. There is nothing but conflict. Hourly paid workers do nothing but bitch and complain about each other and the decisions that management make.

High level management seems unable and unwilling to make the actual changes that would result in some level of employee job satisfaction. Machinery that keeps breaking down and is “cobbled together” to get it running. Over and over and over again. More and more duties piled on the workers for the same pay.

All the shop cleaning that used to contracted out is now the responsibility of the workers. And more.

Graphs to color in to track data that is supposed “drive progress”. In the almost 4 years I was there I saw nothing change from any data that was gathered. Nothing improved.

So over the past 8 months or so my patience with how things were being done was growing thin. I was working directly with a fellow crew member who is the poster child for workplace bullying. I brought this up with my new supervisor. It was swept away of course. Another example of management not wanting to deal with a real issue. Yes this is documented.

So now over the last month I have been accused of having quality problems with the product I was responsible for producing. I am not denying the fact that I may have make some mistakes. I was stressed to the breaking point. Requests to change crews fell on deaf ears.

And now all of a sudden I am out of a job. Just like that.

And I could not be more relieved. A weight has been lifted.

Here’s the thing. You cannot continue to sell your soul for a paycheck.

It eats away at you. It wears you down.

I actually do want to make a difference in the world. I want to help children, people and the planet. I do not want my legacy to be that I was a robot for a company that does not give a shit for its employees.

In my opinion it is a volatile workplace. Gone are the days where a supervisor and coworkers have your back and are supportive and helpful. Now it is every man for himself. Backstabbing and conflict is commonplace.

Companies want workers who are just smart enough to run the machines and do the paperwork. Heaven forbid you are a critical thinker and question what management is doing. Management does not like that. Maybe that is why they wanted me to be a relief SPL. I then had to spew out the company rhetoric. Which I had a hard time doing. I didn’t believe in it myself. I call bullshit when I see it.

I think I created a self fulfilling prophecy. I was looking for something else and here I am now, REALLY looking for something else.

It is an interesting place to be. I do have 17 year old who lives with me full time. So that is a concern. But how many times have you heard of someone losing or leaving a job that they absolutely were not happy with only to reinvent themselves and come back better for the experience.

I know that this is what was meant to happen.

Everything happens for a reason. So true.

I know that I will come back better, stronger, faster, smarter and more successful than ever.

And you can too. If anyone out there is dealing with a job loss you will bounce back. Screw the economy. That is an excuse we use to not get out there and be successful. You will reinvent yourself. You will be a better person as a result of this happening. This will not define us. I was not my job. It was always seen as a means to an end. In July 2016 I was going to be reevaluating things anyway.

This will be the best thing to happen to me. I know things and I know this.

I did a search for dealing with a job loss and this site is proving to be very helpful.

helpguide.org

Great tips and lots of links.

Please share this post and share your thoughts in the comments.

“Live Simply”

 

 

Donate Button with Credit Cards

One thought on “Why Losing My Job Will Be The Best Thing To Happen To Me

Share your thoughts!

