Time is a funny thing. A lot of people claim that they do not have enough time to complete all of the tasks that they have on their plate.

When we are young we think that we have all the time in the world.

As we get older we come to realize that this is certainly not the case.

Our time on this is finite.

So as my 44th year continues on I am wondering what will my legacy be after I am gone? What will people say about me?

How will I be remembered?

At the moment I do not have a “real job” in the sense of a regular gig. I substitute teach and I actually love it.

Does it matter that I so not have some big, high paying career? I do think that sometimes. Because of my minimalist lifestyle I do not need a lot of money to get by on. I live frugally and want for nothing.

And yet I still find myself thinking that I should be wearing a suit and working in an office and going to meetings and doing whatever it is that people do.

I heard a bit on CBC radio about an article by David Brooks in the New York Times, The Moral Bucket List. In it, David recounts his own advancements in career success, but the lagging nature of his growth in “generosity of spirit.” He makes the case that “resume building” has come easy to him. “Eulogy building,” on the other hand, has been much more difficult. And yet, it is far more attractive to him.

It is a fascinating and thought provoking article.

I wonder if a lot of people get caught up in what they are going to put on their resume. I think that in this day and age of rampant self promotion and self branding we do get caught up in what I will call “career chasing”. There is nothing wrong with that, but maybe we should be a bit more concerned with who we are as people. Our core values and our virtues.

I want to be at peace with my chosen path and yet I become burdened by the thought that I should have a real job.

Am I a lesser person because I do not have full time job. Let’s be honest. A lot of people, even full time teachers when I sub. tend to look down on a person a bit when they do not have a job. Maybe this is just my own twisted perception.

I want a job/career that is meaningful. One that makes a difference even in some small way. It is not about the money.

So does anyone else out there also have this internal battle between being content with their chosen life and wanting to have a “better” job?

Please share your thoughts with the class.

David Brooks is the author of The Road to Character

2 thoughts on “What Will Be Said About Me When I Die

  1. I find your post inspiring , I can only dream of not having a full time job but responsibilities hold me back. All you talk about is a mirror image of what i actually would like to achieve one day. Great read.

    Gaz.

Share your thoughts!

