The above quote is from the classic Michael Mann movie Heat, with Al Pacino and Robert De Niro.

The character played by De Niro is the one who says the line. He plays the leader of a group of bank robbers who have to be able to just walk away from their lives if the “heat” is on.

It is a fantastic movie.

“Don’t let your happiness depend on something you may lose.” – C.S. Lewis

What does this have to do with minimalist living?

If your house was on fire what would you want to be able to save or salvage? Most of the stuff in your place is just that. Stuff. Most of it(all of it?) can be replaced.

Of course things like photos or family heirlooms would be missed on a much higher level. But as long as everyone is safe and unharmed isn’t that the only thing that really matters?

Now I have never been through a house fire or any other disaster where all of my possessions are wiped out, so I am sure that it is a very traumatic experience and I am sorry for anyone who has had to go through this.

I just wonder if we place too much value of these material possessions. For some their entire being seems wrapped up in how much “stuff” they own. Does own 50 pairs of shoes really make you a better person?

Maybe we should only be spending our hard earned money on things that add value to our lives.

Personally I think I want to get to a point where I can just walk away and not miss anything in my life. I do not want to be owned or tied down by my possessions.

If somethings is not adding value to your life, does this mean that is devaluing your life?

Hell even some marriages end up in this category and people do indeed walk away. Not easy to do, I know. When this happened to me, it almost killed me.

I have too many possessions. I need to do some purging, there is no doubt about that.

I am on the right path.

If you could just pick up and walk away from your current life and start over, what would you want to do and why?

Please share your thoughts in the comments.

“Live Simply”

2 thoughts on ““Allow Nothing In Your Life That You Cannot Walk Out On In 30 Seconds Flat.”

  1. I have picked up and walked away when I left NZ for Ireland in 2003 with 3 teenagers. We had 8 suitcases between us. 3 months later I received my shipment of personal items – 20 small boxes, less than a car load. It was fun to set up home again. But I also learned its not the physical baggage that weighs you down, its the mental. I still have fantasies of walking away from everything, but I’m going to have a go at creating the bohemian life I want while I’ve still got a home and a job, because at 55 I’m not ready to start again.

Share your thoughts!

