by Mark Lowe

reinvent your your

“You’re never too old to set another goal or dream a new dream.” ~C. S. Lewis

Have you ever felt stuck in where you are in your life?

Have you ever felt that your life has not turned out quite the way you thought it would?

I am sure a lot of people have had these feelings from time to time.

We get in a rut AND we get complacent and comfortable.

We get to a certain age and start to analyze where we are in life and think that life has passed us by. We also sometimes feel that the best days are behind us.

I am not immune to these feelings at times.

About a year ago I was fired from my job. It was a decent paying job with benefits and a pension. But here is the thing. I was not really happy there.

So certain events transpired to lead me to getting canned. It hurt. I was angry.

Looking back it was the best thing that happened. It forced me to look in the mirror and ask, “okay, what now?”.

It was stressful for a time. I got back into substitute teaching and I started a small lawn care business which has really taken off over the past few months. I absolutely love it. I make my own schedule. I am outside, getting fresh air, sweating my butt off, listening to music and I am providing a service that people need. I have lost 15 or 20 pounds and I am just HAPPY.

So what does this mean for you?

I would say that if I can manage to turn things around then you can too.

I do not expect you to leave your job. But if you want to do that then go for it. Start your own little business doing something that you are both good at, and passionate about.

Make no mistake, there are moments where I slip into some negative thinking patterns in regards to certain things. But I always works towards remembering that we have to take control of who we will become or risk never reaching our full potential. It is up to me to do the work.

Here is the other thing: We have a tendency to dwell on the past.

Coulda, woulda, shoulda.

In doing this we do not create any type of vision of what we may even want our future to be like.

get out of your comfort zone

Close your eyes and imagine what your reinvention will look like. Who is with you? What are you doing? What do you look like? Where are you?

Got a bit of a vision going on? Good. I bet it made you smile just thinking about it.

Now you should write it down. Put it point form it you want or draw some silly little pictures. Cut an image out of a magazine to help with your visualization. If you cannot see it, how can you expect it to become your new reality?

I have a goal to someday work with orphaned elephants. I am going to get a picture and a jar and I am going to start putting my change in there to help realize my goal. I have to do the work to make that happen.

So now I ask you, when is this going to happen? I love creating a date in the future and then working backwards from that date, creating actual actionable steps that will keep me on track towards reinventing yourself.

Here is an example. A few people will decide they need to lose weight. First of all it would be better to have a simple goal weight in mind. By the 20th of next month I want to weigh 230 pounds. I have four weeks to lose 5 pounds(of fat I hope). About 1 pound per week. What do I actually need to do EACH DAY to accomplish this?

I need to work out every day. I need to drink 4 liters or more of water ever day. I need to eat 1 ingredient foods every day. I need to meditate every day.

I could be a bit more specific, but you get the idea.

Every morning or evening, close your eyes and see yourself walking into the rising sun, toward your dreams, and reconnect with why you’re moving toward this new possibility.

Reinvention is neither easy nor always smooth. Often, we encounter resistance. We don’t want to let go, even of things that cause us pain or that are obviously already out of our grasp. We often struggle with limiting beliefs or stories about ourselves that hold us back from trying new things.

But there is one way to keep your compass pointed to this new life, even in the midst of any resistance or struggles you may encounter on your path.

Each time you find yourself slipping into old habits—isolating yourself, making excuses not to look for work, procrastinating on a task that might help you advance in your career—don’t bother wondering why you’re doing it or beating yourself up.

Just ask yourself this: “What can I do in this moment to keep moving forward?”

This post is for The Family. You know who you are. I love you.

“Live Simply”

If you like this post please share it via social media. Thanks.

4 thoughts on “How To Reinvent Yourself

Share your thoughts!

