juicing for health

Does anyone else every notice life seems a bit serendipitous at times?

Just two days ago I clicked on a link for a 5 Day juice cleanse with Joe from the pretty incredible Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead documentary.

It tells his story of how he was morbidly obese and stricken with an autoimmune disease, and how he endeavors to drink only fruit and vegetable juice for 60 days in an effort to lose weight and reclaim his health.

I watched it a couple of years ago and it was very inspiring.

And I did nothing.

Sound familiar?

Let’s go back in time a bit…

The Early Years

I have always been interested in health, nutrition, working out, fitness, etc.

I have also always seemed to have some extra weight on my frame.

Now there have been times through the years that I have been more “in shape” than at other times.

Up and down.

I am a carb/sugar ADDICT. I can eat junky, sugary snacks all the time.

I know this so I do manage to control it. I also manage to stay active with my work and with doing Crossfit and other activities.

So I feel good.

That all being said I could be healthier.

benefits of juicing

I weigh about 240 pounds. I “carry” it well on a larger frame. I certainly lean towards an endomorphic type of body. Endomorphs can pack on muscle fairly easily. The bad news is this body type is prone to excessive accumulation of body fat, especially in the form of a large “spare tire” in the midsection.

Spare tire. Wonderful.

So I know that at about 30% body fat I am carrying about 60 pounds of blubber that is not healthy nor pleasing to the eye.

Along Comes A Juicer

So back to the serendipitous part of the story.

I do not have a juicer and I did not really want to go out and buy one.

This morning on Facebook someone was selling one locally for 40$.

I took it as a sign and I bought it. I am now the proud owner of a Big Boss juicer.

That is a link to the exact same one I now have in my possession.
Reviews are okay. For 40$ I am not expecting too much. If it just gives me some juice I am cool with that.

So no it is not a 300$ Breville but so what.

This is a bit of an experiment for me to see if juicing can help me kick the sugar habit, get healthier and lose some fat.

I know that there is not a “one size fits all” thing when it comes to different eating plans. What works for some may not work for another.

You can just google the benefits of juicing to see thousands of pages that extol how great it is.

Youtube also has some amazing juicing for weight loss success stories.

Here is just one that I thought was pretty cool.

We have to find what we enjoy and what fits with our lifestyle. Something that we can stick with.

I am fortunate in the fact that I do not have a family to try and deal with so this makes things a lot easier when it come to juicing for my health and fat loss.

I am a bit of an extremist anyway when it comes to my own minimalist diet plan. Some healthy fats, some protein and I would normally be good to go.

So I am going to give the juicing for health thing an honest go and I am going to post regularly about the results.

Dare I say it with some photos of the progress.

So stay tuned. Maybe you should follow this blog so you can stay up to date with everything that is going on.

Have any of you done some juicing for health, or had any success with juicing for weight loss etc.? How about some of your favorite juicing recipes. I need all the help and advice I can get!

Please share this post.

“Live Simply”

2 thoughts on “Juicing For Health- Let’s Give It A Go

Share your thoughts!

