pursuit of happiness

The Pursuit of Happiness

Are you happy?

I mean true, authentic happiness?

I hope that you are. But I have a feeling that a lot of people are searching for happiness.

Here we are living in this amazing time in history. We have all this stuff at our disposal and yet more and more people report feeling of unhappiness.

What is Happiness?

Happiness is defined as:

a mental or emotional state of well-being defined by positive or pleasant emotions ranging from contentment to intense joy

It obviously means different things to different people but I think we all get the general idea of what happiness is.

For me it is also ties to contentment. Just being okay with what is.

I have come to the understanding that I don’t need more things. I do not need to go out and spend money on material things in the hope that it will somehow make me happier.

In my old life I had a successful business, big house, new cars.

And I was not happy. I was stressed, grumpy, angry, tired.

So I gave it all up.

Now on any given day I may feel a bit down or frustrated(I do have an 18 year old son remember!) etc.

But I am incredibly happy with where my life is.

Read The Happiness Project

How To Find Happiness TODAY

happiness quotes

1. Understand that authentic happiness is not going to be found in material possessions. You may get enjoyment and some level of satisfaction from these items but don’t confuse that for happiness.

You have to choose to be happy each and every day.

Be grateful for each and every thing in your life. Even the challenges that you face. It takes practice to do this. I have to work at too, don’t worry!

2. Find the joy in the little things. Listening to music, the cup of tea or coffee you are enjoying right now, the sun coming in through the window.

It is all to easy to get overwhelmed by the grind of life. Take a breath, smile.

3. Practice mindfulness. Find time alone in solitude. As our world increases in speed and noise, the ability to withdraw becomes even more essential. Studies confirm the importance and life-giving benefits of meditation.

most-folks-are-about-as-happy-as-they-make-up-their-minds-to-be

Life is a journey and we are all on our own path.

Choose to be happy today.

Also check out this amazing how to be happy infographic!

What does happiness look like for you? I invite you to join the conversation and share below! sometimes it just takes someone else sharing the small moments they take pleasure in to inspire you to reflect on your own.

Please share this post

“Live Simply”

4 thoughts on “In Search of Authentic Happiness

Share your thoughts!

