minimalism
Minimalism is the intentional promotion of the things we most value and the removal of anything that distracts us from it.

How Can Minimalist Living Help You?

I wonder if we have completely lost our collective minds when it comes to how we live our lives.

Is it just me, or do we tend to make our lives more complicated than they need to be?

This orgy of consumerism and busyness is a bit out of control. We spend ourselves into oblivion and for what really? Does it make us any happier? Most studies would indicate that spending money and having houses full of material possessions does not equate to happiness.

So what is the point of it all? There has to be more to life than working at some job that isn’t overly fulfilling just to go out and spend money on useless crap.

This quick video I posted yesterday does a very good job of summing things up on a few levels.

Where does it end? Is minimalism the answer?

What is Minimalism?

Minimalist living isn’t a thing really. It is a lifestyle. Everyone who chooses to embrace living a minimalist lifestyle has a different view of what it is going to look like and how it may help them in their lives.

For most of us, it is about Freedom. First of all it is Freedom from the consumerist bullshit that is rammed down our throats damn near 24 hours a day. When we choose to unshackle ourselves from these beliefs(whose beliefs are they anyway?) we end up finding Freedom in other areas. Freedom from guilt, Freedom from stress, Freedom from worry, Freedom from greed, Freedom from envy, Freedom from overworking.

Now let’s be clear. I have stuff and I work. I have a TV and a car(gasp!). But I do not feel that these things define me as a person. Too many people place such a high value on obtaining material possessions that they lose their own sense of value a person. No wonder so many people struggle with insecurities, and self esteem and do not like being alone with their own thoughts. On the contrary, we should relish the opportunity to be practice moments of mindfulness meditation.

Minimalism allows you to just be more present in the moment. Yes you will think of the past at times and perhaps think about the future. You are human after all. But really all we have is now and minimalist living helps us to be able to focus on what is truly important in our lives; Our family, our health, our mind, our friends.

I know for me becoming minimalist has allowed me the Freedom to just not have to think about money as much. Yes I have to work. But now I can substitute teach a few days a week(or more if I choose to), and in the summer I do some basic lawn care. I have my rent, my car payment and a few bills that have to be paid. I keep it simple. This is a choice that I have made. I firmly believe that less is more.

Thanks to minimalism I am now able to follow my dream of leaving and traveling. If I had huge debt this would be much harder to achieve.

The less stuff I want and have, the better off I am. I don’t have to spend countless hours organizing and cleaning stuff. I can go for a hike or to the beach or read a book. I have more time.

How many people say that they don’t have enough time? If this sounds familiar, maybe you should examine how you actually are using your time. Instead of going to Home Depot you could be playing with your kids. Anyway, this is how living a simple life has helped me. More time to do whatever the hell I want.

It just seems that people spend so much of their lives working to buy more stuff and have more debt and then they need to work more to pay for it and then they buy more stuff and have more debt and then they…well, do you where this is going?

We are conditioned as a society to believe that is has to be this way. Go to school, get a job, work hard, spend, spend, spend. Try to save a few dollars, retire, then die.

I say, screw that. Why not choose to live a simple, more minimalist life now? Why not live now? Who the hell came up with the “deferred life plan”?

Minimalism will force you to reevaluate your values. What is truly important in your life? Most people would say family and health. Ha. When you look at how they actually choose to live their lives it doesn’t line up with what they claim.

You can choose what is important in your life. Keep that stuff and get rid of the rest. Just clear it out. So many people who choose minimalism as a way of life report more happiness when they clear stuff out.

Minimalism is not about getting rid of all your possessions and living a monk-like existence(that is okay if you want to do it). It is about what you get back. It is about what you gain and add back into your life.

Freedom, happiness, contentment, time.

Who wouldn’t choose more of this?

Here are some of the best books to help you on your journey to Minimalism.

Please like and share this post.

“Live Simply”

Share your thoughts!

