cluttered house

The More Stuff You Get Rid Of The More Free You Will Feel

How much stuff do you have? If you are like most people in North America you have about 300000 items floating around your place. That is a lot of stuff to look after, find a place for and clean.

Why do we have so much stuff? Well marketers do a very good job of convincing us that we always need something. Just bought the latest phone? Too bad. There is a new version that you should really check out. And so on. Plus we have this thing where we seem to feel the need to keep up with our neighbors. Competition maybe?

It is time that you Change The Code.

At times clutter has gotten the best of me as well.

So you have considered the benefits of owning fewer possessions: less to clean, less to organize, less stress, less debt, more money and energy for your greatest passions. You are ready to declutter but you get tripped up by the very next question… where in the world do I begin?

Also ReadTips To Declutter and Clean Out Your Closet

The point is you have a lot of stuff and chances are it is getting to you. No one likes a messy, cluttered space. It weighs you down and stresses you out. some estimates have people spending 30 hours a week cleaning and trying to organize their possessions. Almost a full time job.

Why not take some time this weekend to get rid of your possessions and actually get organized?

How To Get Rid Of Your Stuff

get rid of clutter

There is no real sense in trying to organize all of your stuff. It is a myth to think it can be done. Decrapifying is the only way to go. You need a plan to purge all of the stuff you do not need.

Start in one room and go through every single item. If you have not used it in the last year it needs to go. If it does not bring you joy it needs to go. In order to be kept, a material possession has to satisfy one question: is it a necessity for your well being and happiness?

Also seeThe Life Changing Magic of Tidying Up

This is going to take time and yes it can be exhausting but you must go through this process if you are going to ever have a clutter free home. I bet at least 50% of the stuff you have could be gotten rid of. Hell, maybe more.

You may find that you end up having a serious exploration of your relationship with the stuff you own. Why are you keeping certain things? Why are there empty boxes cluttering up your closets? Why on earth are there so many articles of clothing?

Also seeHow to Change Your Life in 30 Days(with PDF checklist)

Psychology Today recommends using your imagination to help declutter objects that may seem difficult to remove. Try asking yourself unique questions like, “If I was just buying this now, how much would I pay?” These creative techniques may prove to be very helpful for some with difficulties removing unneeded clutter. Also be sure to check out the post 4 Ways Decluttering Makes You a Better Person for more insight.

Must read18 Different Five Minute Decluttering Tips

One of the best things I did a few years ago was I literally took everything out of my apartment and put it all out on the back lawn. Jesus it was a lot of stuff for a small one bedroom apartment!

I went through it all. I sold a lot and I gave a lot away. Only the stuff that I really needed came back in. I find that trying to go through things when in a space to be frustrating. It just gets moved around from one place to another and nothing really gets purged.

Organize the stuff that is left

get organized

So hopefully you have made a dent in the items that were taking up space in your house or apartment. Now what? Well you need to find a place for everything. The point is to be able to find something when you need it.

  • Car keys go on a hook by the door.
  • Jackets get placed on a hook or in a closet.
  • Clothes are actually put away after they are washed.

If you cannot find a place for something then maybe it should have been purged. Put it aside for now and deal with it tomorrow.

You might likeOff-Grid Tiny Solar House is Gorgeous

Do you have places where clutter seems to creep in? For me it is the top of the fridge and the kitchen counter when I first walk into my apartment. A few papers and some bills. So I need a better plan to deal with this area. It is about creating better habits for not even placing stuff in these areas in the first place.

Keeping Your Place Clean

So you have made progress in purging your unwanted and no longer needed items. Yay! You have found a place for what is left and are feeling pretty damn good about it all. Now comes the fun part: keeping it this way.

Also seeHow to Change Your Life in 30 Days(with PDF checklist)

No new stuff comes through the door. You need to avoid the temptation to go shopping. You have everything you need. Tell yourself this everyday if necessary. You are not going to succumb to the marketing hype!

Come up with a cleaning and organizing routine. Maybe 15 minutes a day spent on tidying is the way to go. After 15 minutes you stop. You will be amazed at how efficient you become during that short time frame! You will also love these 18 different 5-minute decluttering tips.

Every time you leave a room take one item that does not belong there with you and deal with it. Dishes, papers, etc. Don’t let clutter creep back into your life. A few minutes a day will do wonders for keeping your space organized and clutter free.

Suggested – life changing magic of tidying up
The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up: The Japanese Art of Decluttering and Organizing This #1 New York Times best-selling guide to decluttering your home from Japanese cleaning consultant Marie Kondo takes readers step-by-step through her revolutionary KonMari Method for simplifying, organizing, and storing.

Like what you have read? Please comment and share this post on social media. Thank you.

Change The Code. Change Your Life

24 thoughts on “How To Get Your House Decluttered This Weekend

  1. This is a great post I’m getting rid of all our crap as I write this we are going camping for 6 months we are donating everything including fridge, washing machine, clothes dehydrator (it’s excalibur 9 tray breaks my heart & my vitamix) that I don’t wear/need any more and toys. My son said I can give all his toys away if I buy him a paddle board and a bike. It was mostly his idea part mine of course. He is so excited. We both are. It’s actually really freeing to give away my crap ( l love this expression that you wrote get rid of your crap). We are so into TV and Ipad games and we love to be at the beach and outside so why not do it. Just go. There’s a great family wrote a book ‘the art of free travel’ they took a year to ride push bikes from Dalesford Victoria to Hopevale North Queensland Australia on push bikes with their 2 year old and their 12 year old. (For accountability I don’t know them or work for them at all I just love their story. It’s unusual for families to luve this way that why i love it. Very little is written about travel in country with kids) So inspirational. As I give everything away to those who need it I’m amazed at how I could have saved and how not important it is. I can feel my heart soul and child becoming more free and more secure in our own selves emotionally as we give it all away.

    1. This is such a powerful comment and very inspiring to read. I so wish more people would sit down and evaluate their relationship with the stuff they have. I am so excited for you to do your camping trip! Why not is exactly the right question! I will try to hunt down the book that you have mentioned. Are you keeping a journal or blog of your purging and your plans for camping??

      1. Hey yes I am going to journal and blog about it. I’m not good at blogging I have to get my technology sorted. I like blogs I like to read others stories about their lives but I don’t like the brand/commercial-ness of blogs I’m happy people make money out of it but becoming about the money I’m not so sure.

  2. I didn’t realize how much crap I had until I moved last year. I went through everything and brought so much to charity shops; thinking back to it, I don’t even remember what I gave away – what does that tell you?

    In November this “Minimalist Challenge” came about, and I basically did the same thing again. For every day in November you got rid of that much stuff: Nov 1st you’d get rid of one item; Nov 2nd you’d get rid of two, and so on and so on. This, again, put my “stuff” into perspective, and though I had rid myself of a lot, there was still more I didn’t use.

    I also don’t realize how well I’m doing with not accumulating more stuff until I visit others’ houses and see just how much stuff they have. I listened to a report last summer on the radio about how much stuff North Americans have, also going into the idea of storage units. I just thought… if you are in need of a storage unit for your stuff just to sit around…. then you have too much of it!

    Great post!

    1. Yes the storage industry is the fastest growing sector in real estate I believe. I too have too much and I consider myself to be a minimalist of course. I went to a Superbowl part at a friends place and was in shock with how much stuff there was. Makes me realize how good I am doing as well, although I could be doing better. Like the challenge you mention. Guess I should grab a bag and fill it right now and take it away! Thanks so much for commenting.

Share your thoughts!

