more-to-life

Hello.

It has been a very long time since I have posted. I am not exactly sure why that is exactly. Maybe I lost my way.

I have been somewhat busy I guess with work. And for the past few months I have been feeling very empty. That is the only way I can describe it. Not sad. Not depressed really. Just empty.

The title about sums things up. This is what has been on my mind lately.

Let me be clear. I have a very good life. I work as a substitute teacher during the school year AND I have my own little lawn care business which allows me to be outside getting exercise AND making money. How awesome is that? I have great friends and my parents are still alive and well. My son did just move out to his own place but he is doing well. I am healthy although my eating could be better but for the past week I have been on track with that.

Hell I even have a trip planned for February and March to visit Portugal. I am indeed a fortunate and grateful person.

So what’s the problem?? That’s the thing. I don’t really know. I just feel empty. Like something is missing.

I get along with people fine but sometimes I have a hard time connecting. I feel that the vast majority of people just buy into all the crap that is fed to them everyday and I tend to think on a different level.

I am a bit tired of all the bullshit that is rammed down our throats by mass media. Maybe some of you feel the same way. The messages that tell us to think a certain way, to buy stuff, to eat this, and on and on. I am just tired of it all. I want to to just say screw it and go be a hermit.

There has got to be more to life than this. More than just going through the motions of what is expected.

The are millions of blog posts dedicated to helping a person find meaningfulness or purpose or passion and I have read quite a few of them but they don’t seem to resonate.

What am I missing? Is there more to life?

 

If anyone happens upon this post I would love to hear your thoughts or comments.

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “There Has To Be More To Life Than This

  1. Hello dear, I know what you are talking about because i have been there before. If i may ask you this question. What is your value system, Do you believe in a higher power that is greater than yourself ?

      1. Good Evening mark, i hope you had a blissful day today. The weather was beautiful.
        In your post you talked about all that you had in your life and the friends and family you have in your life and that you have gratitude for those things.
        I find that when i feel out of sort with my self, i serve someone else, it give me a deeper sense of gratitude and accomplishment and i find myself feeling happy about giving of my time and resources in anyway i can because i am giving to someone else who is going through something worst off than i am.
        Please tell me that you think about this.

Share your thoughts!

