How To Learn Beginner Yoga

I am going to try and learn beginner yoga. And yes I am a former fat bastard. Okay that may be a little bit harsh but hopefully you get the idea of what I am trying to say. I am not sure how this will all work out.

The Backstory

For the past 4 months I have been following a ketogenic diet plan and have had some serious success with finally losing some fat(45 pounds lost in 4 months). It was something that was long overdue in my life.

how to learn beginner yoga
Pin This!

I have always been smart enough to have been pretty active but it was always my poor eating that did me in and lead to the weight gain. I have always worked out and also enjoyed walking and hiking.

I Want to Start a Home Yoga Practice

I have tried how to learn beginner yoga in the past. Now when I say “try”, this mean 10 minutes of following along with a Youtube video, trying to watch the instructor whilst bending into somewhat uncomfortable positions, probably falling over, getting frustrated as hell and giving up. Being 50+ pound overweight didn’t help.

But now that I am feeling a bit better about my weight and fitness I do want to incorporate a daily yoga practice in my life.

Why a Home Yoga Practice?

First of all it just fits with my overall minimalist lifestyle. I live a simple life. I enjoy each moment, actually practice gratitude, and I know the benefits of mindful meditation(I need more of this too). It seems to me that yoga is all of those things and more. So actually staying with how to learn beginner yoga is a must. Yes there are benefits to taking a yoga class. But not yet. Starting a home yoga practice can  save time, energy, and money.

Yoga can get expensive. Individual yoga classes can run anywhere from $12-$20 at most commercial yoga studios. To benefit the most from yoga training you need to do it regularly, and this can become expensive if you have to go to a yoga studio every time you want to take a class.

Twenty minutes of yoga at home is often more beneficial than driving, parking, and paying to practice for an hour at a studio. Maybe in a few months I will take an actual yoga class.

Other Benefits of Yoga

Here are just a few more benefits of yoga that I am hoping to experience:

beginner yoga
Pin this!
  • Strength, Agility and Flexibility are all Increased
  • Enhanced Memory & Cognitive Functioning
  • Body Weight Normalizes
  • Yoga Naturally Reduces Pain
  • Respiratory Efficiency Increases
  • Blood Pressure is Normalized
  • Stress Relief
  • Improved Sleep

Yes please to all of that! I am not saying that leaning how to do yoga is going to be easy but I am certainly going to give it a serious try. No really. I am!

How To Start Doing Beginner Yoga

It might be good to start by doing a basic daily home yoga practice. This makes sense because it will allow you to take your time and ease yourself into it. If you can only do 5 or 10 minutes, so be it. If you fall and hurt yourself there is no one to laugh at you. Here are some other tips to help get started.

  • Start with quiet. Just sit quietly and focus on your breathing
  • Pick one routine and stay with it. No sense trying to do a bunch of complicated poses. Too easy to get discouraged. And hurt.
  • Set an intention. Is it stress reduction? Mindfulness? Increased flexibility? Just pick one area to focus on to see the most benefit.
  • Choose yoga poses you love to do. This means you will have to learn a few but that’s okay. Get good at doing a few of the main yoga poses.
  • Set out a space to practice. This helps set intentionality and makes it become a habit.

Learning How To Do Beginner Yoga Just Makes Sense Right Now

As I mentioned above the past few months I have seen an improvement in my overall health and fitness. I want to incorporate learning beginner yoga to help with my anxiety and stress levels. Plus all of the other benefits of yoga mentioned above.

When you think about it, yoga could be the perfect minimalist fitness plan. It ties in so wonderfully with mindfulness and living simply. And you may only need a few things to do it. A yoga mat, suitable clothing and maybe some yoga blocks to help with certain poses.

You don’t need anything but yourself if you want to learn beginner yoga. It doesn’t matter how skinny or fat you are, how tall, or how old you are. Anyone can do yoga, and you only need a mat.

I am going to do some yoga poses right now. Are you going to join me?

Pin This!

How to Learn Beginner Yoga
Pin This!

Did you enjoy this post? Please share it on social media. Pinning to Pinterest is especially appreciated! Thank you.

“Change The Code. Change Your Life.”

8 thoughts on “How To Learn Beginner Yoga by a Former Fat Bastard

  1. OK I’m in – another timely post, was thinking I need to work on my flexibility, loved yoga years ago, sadly out of it now. I so agree some time every day is better than one hour in a class once a week. I’m starting today! Thanks!

  2. First of all, I love the name of this post! It makes yoga seem approachable to all of us. Secondly, congrats on your weight loss. I eat a ketogenic diet as well and love cooking and eating low-carb so much that I have a food blog with all low-carb recipes. I love the idea of doing yoga at home. It seems so much more approachable–There’s no drive to a class, you can dress as you like, and you can just focus on yourself and your personal progress. Keep up the good work!

    1. Hi Annissa, Thanks very much! Yes to all of that. And I actually have done some basic beginner yoga moves the last 2 nights. Only a few minutes but it is a start. I will be sure to check your blog! Thanks so much for commenting.

  3. I am in my middle 50’s and bought a beginner yoga instructions. Yep that didn’t work out beginner my butt. Sent it to my daughter. This is perfect and what I have been looking for. I live to far out in the country to attend classes and this is perfect. Plus love the title.

    1. lol Thanks 🙂 Yeah exactly. I had a fitness set and one of the videos was a yoga dvd. Good grief it was 90 minutes long! So for me 5-10-15 minutes here at home is perfect. Yes someday I would like to take a yoga class. Just not now. Thanks so much for commenting!

  4. I’ve had a home yoga practice for three years. I follow online videos. There are some great teachers online but it can take some time to find the right one. Yoga changed my life. Wishing you the best.

Share your thoughts!

