The price of anything is the amount of life you exchange for it.” —Henry Thoreau

I want to sell everything. Well, all of my material possessions. I don’t think too many people would buy my files of various paperwork.

So the questions I have about wanting to sell everything I own are:

  • Why do I feel this way?
  • What do I think it will accomplish?
  • Does anyone else feel this way?

 

If I Was To Sell Everything in My Apartment…

Life would be perfect. That is kind of what I think which I realize is not true. And yet I am a bit obsessed with the thought of getting rid of all my stuff. It is weighing me down. But I am also wondering if it is tied to my anxiety and the depression I am slipping into.

“When I let go of what I am, I become what I might be.” ― Lao Tzu

None of this stuff makes me happy. I suppose some of it is useful and gives me joy(thinking of the window A/C on these hot and humid summer days!). But overall I don’t have anything that I care about too deeply.

I Claim To Be A Minimalist But…

For years I have identified as a minimalist but I have a lot of useless crap. It seems to be human nature to fill our spaces with stuff. The average North American home has 300000 items in it.  Wow. It is a never ending cycle of buy stuff , get rid of it, buy some more.

What is the point of all that?

I Want To See What It Would Be Like To Sell Everything

I want to see what if i could do it. I want to see what emotions I would go through in parting with my stuff. I have spent money on this crap. Would I be able to actually sell it for a fraction of what I paid for it? How would it feel to have 80% less stuff in my apartment?

I want to do this as a learning experiment.

But maybe there is something more…

Is It Tied To How I Feel About Life?

Could it be that this feeling of wanting to sell everything I own is tied to how I feel about life? I am feeling a bit down lately. Not sure exactly why that is. On the surface my life is great. I have lots of work. I am saving 80% of my income. My health is great. I am down 80 pounds in weight over the past year. I have another epic solo travel adventure planned for February and March 2018. And yet I am just feeling a bit…down.

Selling all your stuff and starting over sounds so romantic. It is so appealing.

Maybe I feel like a failure and this would be my way of starting over. Hitting the reset button.

Would anything change?

I Need To Stop Comparing My Life

This would mean no social media which may be a good thing of course. I need to practice gratitude and mindful meditation. I know how important these things are for my mental well being.

And yet I am still drawn to selling everything I own. This stuff around here seems to be some sort of reminder that I cannot get myself sorted out. Grrr. I don’t know how to explain it! It is just a nagging feeling I have.

Maybe it is a way to exert some control over my life. I would be a way to actually see real change. As opposed to just moving crap from one place to another. Which some people call “getting organized”. I call bullshit on that. I would rather de-own stuff instead of just decluttering, which does not tend to get me very far.

So I am dealing with this slightly-more-than-mild obsession of selling everything.

Does anyone else out there feel the same way?

Please let me know in the comments.

“Change The Code. Change Your Life”

One thought on “I Want To Sell Everything I Own. Why Is That?

Share your thoughts!

