Tiny House Living

off grid shipping container house

I wonder sometimes if the world is going to hell. I want to believe that this is not the case but the more I listen to people like David Suzuki the more I feel that we have lost our way.

We need to Change The Code when it comes to how we live our lives.

We want more stuff all the time even when our houses and apartments are filled to the bursting poing with stuff we don’t need.

Shopping has pretty much become the national pastime. People just want to spend themselves into oblivion I guess. It makes me sad.

And when it comes to housing we are led to believe that bigger is better. People without kids are buying huge places just so that they can have them. Somehow people keep wanting bigger and bigger places, mostly because of all the stuff they have.

According to the US Census Bureau the average size of a North American suburban home in 1950 was 800 sq ft, in 1970 it was 1500 sq ft and in 2000 it was 2266 sq ft. The average size of a US home as of 2006 is 2,469 square feet.

Wow.

And with all that house comes a lot of upkeep and maintenance that has to take place.

I feel that there is a better way and it comes in the form of tiny house living.

What is a Tiny House?

tiny house on wheels

Officially a lot of people would think of a tiny house as being under 200 square feet. Most of the tiny homes that people are falling in love with are tiny homes on wheels(THOW).

For me a tiny house would be well under 1000 square feet. Even less than 500 five hundred square feet. That would be a huge adjustment for a lot of folks. But it can be done. Others have made the move to tiny house living. It is about deciding what is important to you. Is it sustainable living and living below your means or struggling to keep your head above water.

“But what would I do with all my stuff?!” That’s the point. You would be getting rid of most of the useless crap you currently have. All that stuff is weighing us down and holding us back. Think of the natural resources that have been used to make all of the material possessions that take up the space in our homes. It seems that I have read that we now need 4 Earths to maintain our dependence on the natural resources we are using. That is messed up.

Find out how many Earths YOU are using with this quiz

The Tiny House Movement has gathered momentum in recent years and I have blogged about my love for tiny houses in the past and I still read about them often.

I am tired with the rampant over-consumerism and the high cost of living that comes with having a traditional house. The cost of utilities is going higher and higher every year. If you feel the same way then maybe tiny house living could be an option for you.

Book suggestion: Tiny Tiny Houses: or How to Get Away From It All

 

tiny house made from recycled material

So the magic question is: How are we going to make this happen?

  • We want a tiny house that we can somehow build ourselves.
  • We want to have a minimum of government intervention with permits etc.
  • We want to be self sustaining, off the grid

Instead of focusing on the house and what always needs to be done the focus would be on nature and living life. We would know that we have done our part to minimize our ecological footprint as much as possible.

tiny house interior
A beautiful tiny house interior

 

 

There are many more tiny house builders and designers out there.

What are your thoughts on tiny house living?

Have you ever thought about Changing the Code on how you live?

Please share your thoughts in the comments.

And if you have any tips for how to actually get it done please let us know.

 

Change The Code

21 thoughts on “The Kick Ass Guide To Tiny Houses

  1. Love it! If I could post “Love It” instead of “Like This” – I would! What an absolutely fabulous blog. THANK YOU! We live in a motorhome. There’s lots of us out here either on the road or in a campground, or just “somewhere,” happily living in less than 500 feet.

  2. Love this! Like you, I’ve had a tiny house fetish for a while now. I’m at the point of starting to save up for one. My family thinks I’m kinda crackers, but who cares!

  3. Wouldn’t it have less environmental impact to buy a pre-existing house? It takes less material to fix up a house than to build one. Also, for just about every house that gets built, more land is chewed up.
    I understand what you are saying but if we just keep building houses on open land I don’t see that we have accomplished much.

    1. This will not be a house that is on a foundation. It will be a tiny home on wheels. Cheaper to buy an existing house? Tiny home kits start at about 15000.00. Plus we want to be off the grid. Not to many existing houses that meet that criteria.

  4. My house is technically tiny: 624 square feet, but a traditional house. It’s an older home in a small town, built the way they used to build them back in the day: small, with the basics and 2 tiny closets. It sits over a garage which we use as a basement that’s packed wall-to-wall with our crap. That’s how I wandered over here. As miserable as I am in our itty bitty space I know we’re here for awhile. My husband, 2 year old, the dog, and I are constantly tripping into one another and/or knocking things over. I feel like I’m constantly purging but I suffer from the “what if I need it?” syndrome. For example we’re trying to have a 2nd baby. Do I give away all of my baby things? How will I replace them all?

    1. ME2..SORT OF….THE ROAMING AROUND THE COUNTRY PART(yea)…. BUT IN A DREAM TINY HOME 4ME & MY FURANGELS…..LOL…LOL… I’V DECIDED THAT 4THE SAKE OF MY 3TINY FURBABIES GOD BLESSED ME WITH SINCE I’VE BECOME AGORAPHOBIC & NO MORE FAMILY. GOD WILL MAKE A WAY I JUZ KNOW IT…LOL..LOL….UUUGGGHH!!!!!

  5. Living in a tiny house is a strange fantasy I’ve always had…and I thought I was the only one! Think of all the time you’d save in maintenance, tidying up and housework. I love this post.

  6. I saw a documentary on one of these companies just weeks ago. I loved that it made housing affordable for those who lost their homes in the GFC and were not able to get back into the market. They were home owners again with a whole new perspective from their experiences and what these homes could offer

  7. Great post, I think a lot more people are intrigued by living in a small space than will admit it. With winter coming here everyone is running around trying to figure out what else they can do to keep their heating costs down.

    I too am in love with the tiny houses, but couldn’t live in one where I live. I decided to sacrifice home ownership for a small/tiny apartment and moved to a 300 sq foot apartment in a building that used to be a hotel. But I treated this as if I had gotten my dream, and got rid of everything I didn’t need. I know if I were to have a tiny house there are things I’d still have to get rid of but for now this works. I found small, in the exact location I needed/wanted to live. As a result I was even able to get rid of the car!

  8. Hmm, well, here in the UK I can provide a different perspective, as all of our houses are generally much smaller than in the US, due to the country being more densely populated.

    My own house, a fairly typical three-bedroom semi-detached, is somewhere in the region of 700 square feet. I would not classify it as tiny, at all, though obviously not large, either.

    For a couple of months it housed three adults and a ten year old adequately well, though with a bit too much stuff overall.

    I’m not particularly looking for a larger house, but I do find myself wishing that I could have a house with more space outside it – ie not living in the city. I can see that this is an aspiration that not everyone can achieve – due to overall population densities – and so I fall foul of a basic philosophical principle (of desiring something that in order to acquire I must deprive someone else of possessing). This makes me uneasy.

  9. I used to live in a 300 sq ft bachelor suite and I ADORED it, it was so cozy. I miss it terribly but it wasn’t big enough for the bf and I together and it didn’t have a bath tub (shower only) and I was really starting to miss having in suite laundry so we moved into the place are in now which seems palatial to me at 1000 sq ft. :O but a tiny house would be wonderful to me. We can’t afford a house in town, but lots just outside of town are some what in reach – maybe we could throw a tiny on one and ta da? The only draw back to small living is when people come to visit there is no place to put them. Pretty much no one came to visit me when I lived in my small place because they were put off by how tiny it was, or if they did they stayed in a hotel and would only come for a tour of my place and then wanted to leave immediately because they weren’t comfortable hanging out in such a small place – it was weird.

  10. Thanks for the link to the carbon footprint quiz. This was really informative, in that the result is quite graphic: if everyone lived my lifestyle we would need 1.58 earths.
    I think that rooms in the UK are getting smaller (not just in floor space but the ceilings are much lower). At the same time, the amount of stuff in them is growing and growing. Thank goodness at least some of it is cast-offs from relatives and second-hand goods from ebay 🙂

Share your thoughts!

